Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Academy of Sacred Heart

Private | K-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Bloomfield Hills

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $201,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 8, 2013

this school is very great for your kids. the rules they have inspire all children to grow and learn to love jesus. all of the kids that go to ASH have a great additude and have the BEST manners!


Posted April 10, 2013

This school applies best learning practices and enables each student thrive to his/her best. I love the ethos - very learning oriented through creative methods, develops the love of academics while fostering a supportive and caring vibe among students and teachers. Parents are quite engaged and a good source of support. Research the guiding principles and goals of the school (the whole Sacred Heart network) they are applied in real life there all the time. My kids have a healthy sense of self, care and responsibility to others. I like the small group learning environment the best - as for improvement, would like to see the overall size of grade get larger.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2012

Outstanding education because Sr. Bearss is an outstanding leader. Academics are challenging which prepares the high school student for college. Everyone in this school - whether administration, teacher or staff - is friendly and helpful. The campus is very beautiful which is a plus but the administration and staff are far more impressive. 5+ stars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2011

I feel that Sacred Heart is the best kept secret in the area. Excellent academics, caring teachers and an emphasis on the "whole child". The tuition, albeit expensive; is comparable to other independent schools in the area and is worth every penny. I will do whatever I can do to continue to send my children to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2011

After having a child at St. Hugo (our parish school) we started searching options for our three other children - and Sacred Heart became a definite clear choice. Education is very tailored, with lots of daily teacher attention down to the individual level. As a parent, it is hitting all my key tenets: developing smarts, confidence, empathy, spiritual strength (doesn't have to be religious per se). Teachers pay attention to needs of each child - and communicate quickly and frequently to parents as needed for rapid reinforcement and implementation. My kids are often marveled at the "small things" I know that they did during the day. Often times the parent frustration with any school are related to unaddressed issues or the lack of response from the teachers/administration. This won't happen here. The parents are quite connected to each other too. If you want to be involved at any level - it is very easy to do so here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2009

Many changes with staff reduction and budget cutting tactics yet tuition was increased. Many letters were sent to the parents anticipate cuts for the student/family. Our students are getting the short end.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2009

Small classes and beautiful environment but the academics is very weak. The administration and teachers also do not deal with students being bullied well. For the tuition being paid, the expectation should be much more and it is not delivered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2009

My daughters have attended for years. Good balance of academics, arts, sports, and character building. Great resources, teachers, and small, family feeling where everyone 'knows your name.' Every year I weigh the pro's and con's of tuition and we sign up for another year. One of the other posts seemed unhappy about the sports, but its not about winning or losing. Its good exercise, it teaches my daughter to challenge herself and try something new, even though she's not into athletics. And its mostly after school so there's no requirement to sign up. Its just encouraged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2009

I have seen a remarkable change in my daughter, she now loves going to school and enjoys learning. This school is about the love of learning. This is truly one of the best schools in our area and in the country. It is life changing. The leader of this school is a unbelievable role model and great inspiration to these young minds. It is what all school should strive to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2008

Lower school- poorly run. Strongly feel student are not being challenged. No test, no graded work returned home. Principal and teachers very laid back and take the easy road. Waste of tuition....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

I noticed a dangerous trend toward worksheets in place on interactive, best practice. The school seems to put emphasis on sports if you can believe it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2008

I'm currently a student at the Academy of the Sacred Heart and I can firmly say that this is a great high school. Sacred Heart's average number of students attending the high school per grade is less than 50! I've come to personally know each student in my grade without the distraction of cliques. Although only being here for one year so far, I've come to realize how much Sacred Heart has already changed my life and how it will change my life in the future. I've become more confidant about myself and feel that I can make a difference in the world after high school and college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2006

I was a student at the Academy of the Sacred Heart up until a few years ago. I attended Sacred Heart from elementary school on, and it was and to this day is the best thing that has ever happened to me. I came from a public school where students don't receive much one on one attention from their teachers, and this change alone was enough to mold me into who I am. Sacred Heart is so small that you know everyone on a very personal level. People that you generally wouldn't even acknowledge become your closest friends. I found a family within the school and all the incredible people I met at and through the school and I will do whatever it takes to send my own children there. I not only received an education but I learned how to live life as well.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 19, 2006

Sacred Heart is an amazing place that truly inspires learning and confidence in children. Sister Bearss leads the teachers and student body to embrace differences, achieve at the highest levels and to give back to the community. This truly is a unique educational experience that will prepare your child for life.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sr. Bridget Bearss
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • AMS
  • NCACS
Fax number
  • (248) 646-4143

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1250 Kensington Rd
Bloomfield Hills, MI 48304
Phone: (248) 646-8900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Bravo Montessori Academy
Bloomfield Hills, MI


Cranbrook School
Bloomfield Hills, MI


Harlan Elementary School
Bloomfield Hills, MI


Eastover Elementary School
Bloomfield Hills, MI




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT