Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Birmingham Covington School

Public | 3-8 & ungraded | 651 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 16, 2013

it is a great school. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for an innovative school experience for their child
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2012

I am about to graduate from the University of Michigan and I attribute a great deal of my academic success in high school and college to my experience at Covington. I had six years of exceptional teachers and high-level academic enrichment. In addition to the quality of academic preparation, I've found many of the friendships I formed in my first years at BCS have continued through high school and beyond. Covington is a unique place and I hope others find it as valuable as I did.


Posted March 17, 2012

I have 2 kids at Bcs. They have been very challenged academically. They have lots of opportunities to excel in specific areas. The parents are very involved. The pool and wind mill are great assets too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2011

Well i went to Derby middle school for 6th grade and hated it so i Switch to BCS for 7th and 8th grade. All i can say is that I had the best two years of my life at BCS the teachers care about your success and at least in my grade there weren't really clicks as much as groups of friends and they were all very accepting. The other thing that bothers me is how mothers say i dont want my 3rd grade daughter in the same school as an 8th grade boys because they will hit on her. thats a TOTAL lie there is almost not interaction with the younger kids unless you see your siblings in the halls and the only other interaction is through the teachers. I hope that High school can be as good as BCS because they really prepared me for the Future!


Posted August 15, 2011

Covington is a great school that is great with tecnoligy and is very different in a good way.


Posted November 30, 2010

I went to Covington from third through eighth grade, and it prepared me amazingly well for High School. Currently, because of Covington, I'm taking three Honors classes, and I'm in advanced math and language. Yes, Covington prepared me well for the academic portion of high school. However, it did also prepare me for the social aspect of high school. In my freshman year, I knew significantly less people than everybody else, coming from a smaller school, but kids in the Birmingham high schools (especially at Groves) are especially outgoing, and I was easily accepted into a group of new and old friends. All I had to do was take a step, give a smile, and wriggle out of my shell a bit.


Posted January 31, 2010

I thought this school would be better but it is not what I expected from a private-public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

This school is amazing the opportunities that it offers are so energetic and fun and while still learning. Also the teachers are so welcoming and kind. - Anonymous
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 28, 2008

As for an easier transition to high school, that is simply not true. Several high school teachers have mentioned that their BCS students do have a more difficult time adjusting to the atmosphere. Especially socially.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2008

You have got to find out the truth about BCS. While it does offer an extended day, lots of laptop computers, etc. , it does a very poor job of preparing its students for High school. If you walk into that school, the first thing you see is a big banner announcing that it is a Character Ed. School. Turn the corner and you see kids running, pushing, throwing trash on the ground. Come on. They market themselves well and with a waiting list people think it is an honor to make it. What they really do is rob the neighborhood schools of students. Birmingham is robbing Peter to pay Paul. I would not want my dauaghters in a school with 6-8 grade boys who are going through puberty. Talk about making your daughters targets. BCS-The big lie!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2007

Everytime you enter this school, you are met with such a feeling of welcome. From the teachers to the wonderful principal, you really feel you are in a special place. BCS really utilizes a hands-on, innovative approach to education. The students are fully engaged in all aspects of their education. Whereas our child was bored at his old school, he has such an enthusiasm for his education now. We feel so lucky that our child is able to attend school at Covington, and hope that our younger children will have the opportunity to, as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2007

Teachers spend too much time at meetings and not enough in the classroom. Student to teacher ratio is way too high, with about 26 to 28 kids per class, per teacher. Teachers are by and large very young, and there is a tremendous turnover amongst them from year to year. The math and technology focus comes at a cost in time spent on language arts. Lots of the kids here had problems at their old schools, and the change in buildings does little to change their bad behavior. Keeping your hands to yourself is a problem here, and we just gave up after way too many failed attempts to get it resovled. All that stuff about charactar is a bunch of PR fluff. Show up at dismissal and see how wild the kids are before you ever sign out of your old school. Completely negative experience; regret leaving our old school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2006

Excellent school! The academic program is more difficult than a 'normal' elementary but the children adjust with such ease. There are activities for every child with every interest. The principal and staff are fabulous. The parents are so involved in the school it amazes me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2005

Without a doubt, BCS is a gem. Sound, strong and direct leadership from the Principle down make this a school that puts students and learning first. This school offers every opportunity to excel academically and personally, if you and your student can handle responsiblity and appropriateness of behavior. Students from BCS appear to have an easier transition to High School and are less inclined to be overwhelmed, in general. Parents are intimately involved, but administration assists all to keep it in perspective. The academics are big here. Students grow from being children to being young, well-prepared students. With one child a BCS graduate and others in BCS already or waiting to get in, I believe there isn't another school in the district that warrents as much consideration as BCS. It is my first choice for each of my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2005

Students who attend BCS learn from their peers as well as from the staff. BCS teaches kids to think differently and offers a selection of classes for students that excel in certain areas such as advanced math. Grades are mixed like 3-4, 5-6, and 7-8. This is good because students learn from the older students where the older students act as mentors. The school is small compared to other schools in the Birmingham District. 7th and 8th grade have 200 students, along with 5-6, and 3-4. with a smaller student body, students become more comfortable around each other and express themselves as they would. Knowing everyones first and last name is common among the majoirty of the students by 8th grade. BCS lacks a football & tennis team due to the low number of students. I attended covington for 6 years and it prepared me fully for high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2004

There is a big turnover of teachers at this school. Lots of meetings that take teachers out of the classroom and allow substitutes to teach classes. Chicago Math Program is used in the Birmingham Schools and is a very confusing program for kids. The Principal is very good and is always available . Her communication skills are excellent. I wish we could have teachers there on a daily basis instead of substitutes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2003

Great principal, but inconsistent follow-through from teachers.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 69%
African-American 8% 18%
Asian 6% 3%
Hispanic 2% 6%
Multiracial 1% 2%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 5%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Mark Morawski
Fax number
  • (248) 203-4433

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1525 Covington Rd
Bloomfield Hills, MI 48301
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 203-4425

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Quarton Elementary
Birmingham, MI



Detroit Country Day Jr. School
Bloomfield Hills, MI


Cranbrook School
Bloomfield Hills, MI


Holy Name School
Birmingham, MI


St. Regis Elementary School
Bloomfield Hills, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT