Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Harlan Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 357 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 14, 2014

This is our first real schoolyear at Harlan and so far we regret that we just bought a house in this schooldistrict because of that allegedly great elementary school....its just NOT. It starts with the principal, who is as cold as an iceblock and superficial, just cares about the reputation of the school. In my opinion she does not really care about the kids, what actually should be her first thought. Thats why also most of the teacher are not very warm and just try to function to do their job. As a parent i am really missing the feeling that the teachers at Harlan do their job because its their passion, not just becomes its the way how they earn their money. Harlan puts so so much pressure already on their youngest students (kindergarteners) regarding math and reading, instead of working on their social skills, which are at least as imortant as good grades. Its really sad to see how less they care about that the kids next to learning also can have a good time with their classmates and become strong personalities. I wish they would understand that education is just one of the puzzle pieces to build a successful person. The best part about Harlan is the office staff....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2011

I am a parent who places a very strong emphasis on academics. When I hear parents remark, "oh, it's just kindergarten", it makes me cringe. I moved to the district for the schools, and I was on the verge on sending my child to one of many prestigious private schools in the area. I m glad I changed my mind. My son just completed extended-day kindergarten at Harlan, and I am very pleased with the quality of his teacher, organization, caring for the children, exposure to technology, and strong weight on academics. I believe his teacher prepared the entire class to almost a second grade level! Even more, the principal (Ms. Thompson) is simply wonderful. She is accessible, witty, caring, loves the children, balanced, and fair. The librarian (Ms. Stayer) is also phenomenal. Additionally, although there is little diversity at the school, Harlan is the only elementary school in the district that has its own African-American Family Network subsidiary (from the district-wide organization), so the parents are highly involved, as well as a Diversity Committee. The only concern I have with Harlan is the level of involvement of parents in the PTA. Thus, do yourself a favor and check out Harlan.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2010

Amazing school! We have been in this neighborhood and have children attending Harlan since 1995. The shift of philosophy that occurred in 2005 has brought this school to new heights. Each child is treated with great care. The teachers and each staff member facilitates ongoing communication with parents and one another to be sure each child gains a positive school experience. Yay to Harlan! We love you dearly!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

Fantastic teachers and small class size
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

Harlan is an amazing school with terrific teachers and a huge amount of parent and community support!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2010

Parents and Staff pull together to help all the children!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2010

Not only does Harlan have an outstanding teaching and administrative team, the Harlan community is incredibly warm and supportive. It is an amazing place and blessing for my children to have an opportunity to be part of such an excellent learning environment with caring people!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

The community is warm, educating, safe, and fantatic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

It is a great school with involvement from all stakeholders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

13 years there with three children - awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

The teachers really care about the kids. The parents are very involved in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

Great teachers, great support staff. Parents are dedicated and the kids are the #1 concern.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

They really make an effort to help the students when they need it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

The support from teachers, parents and community form together and make students their #1 priority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

Harlan has great teachers and phenomenal parental support
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

We just moved here and everyone has made the transition for my children and myself so easy!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

lan is a welcomoing homey plkace wheren our kids feel safe and loved by those who teach them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

The best staff and terrific envolvement with the students. My kid loves dchooll
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

Our school is full of wonderful, caring, and extraordinary people- parents, teachers and staff alike- who make up a very supportive and enriching community for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

The teachers and pricnipal always place the kids needs first--before poltics.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
15%

2013

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 69%
African-American 3% 18%
Asian 3% 3%
Hispanic 1% 6%
American Indian N/A 1%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 5%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Embekka Thompson
Fax number
  • (248) 203-3337

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3595 North Adams Road
Bloomfield Hills, MI 48304
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 203-3268

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Academy of Sacred Heart
Bloomfield Hills, MI



Academy Of The Sacred Heart
Bloomfield Hills, MI



Roeper School
Birmingham, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT