Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


East Hills Middle School 5

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
This school has been amazing for my children! The administration and teachers are caring, welcoming, and supportive. Students are challenged academically and supported when they need the support. I pulled my kids from a private school so they could attend EHMS.

East Hills Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted January 22, 2016
- a community member
I can only speak about Ms. Kiesel. She's AMAZING! She really gets my son & other parents feel similar.


East Hills Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 22, 2016
- a community member
In 5th grade my son does not get homework unless he doesn't finish his schoolwork during the day.

East Hills Middle School 5

Posted January 22, 2016
- a community member
It is our first year here but was worried about 5th graders going to school with 8th graders. It is a non-issue. The school handles it great. 5th graders report to the cafeteria before school so they're not roaming the halls with the older students. My son is not confident socially but has not had any issues. His teacher is AMAZING!

East Hills Middle School 5

Posted September 19, 2014
- a parent
Great school, very involved teachers, parents and students. Forward thinking learning approaches, cutting edge education,


East Hills Middle School 5

Posted April 10, 2012
- a parent
While I agree with the other reviewer on the dismal state of school lunches, I must say that after having two children go through this school it is an excellent school. Middle school is when the kids begin to distinguish themselves if they excel in certain areas, and the school and district provide opportunities for those children. The staff is both dedicated and caring, and I have personally found teacher and administrator communications extremely easy. On the occasations when we had issues, they were addressed immediately and effectively. The counselling staff has been a great resourcs, and everyone from the office staff to the teachers are open, helpful and approachable. This school like many others is challenged with the diverse student population. I see that as a positive, because it reflects real life. My child has benefitted from having peers with learning disabilities, physical challenges, and different ethnic, social, and economic backgrounds.

East Hills Middle School
no rating

Posted March 09, 2010
- a parent
Right now, I have to say that I am not very impressed. Let me start with some trivial issues. Upon escorting my daughter into school, I learned that the students have the option of having freshed baked chocolate chip cookies for breakfast. Chili cheese fries are offered everyday of the week as are icecream bars and soda. At what point does common sense override profit? On a more important note, my fifth grader hardly has homework. There has been no real emphasis on the importance of hard work or studying. Teacher/parent communications, in my particular situation, are at best poor. I would like to know when my kid is having a test, even if it is an open book test (which seems to me opting out of teaching) or notice of a project before the week that its due.

East Hills Middle School 3

Posted June 22, 2009
- a parent
The teachers are wonderful and dedicated however there needs to be some type of charachter devolpment and ethics incorporated into day to day classes,there are a lot inappropiate things going on that no suspension will ever cure.


East Hills Middle School 5

Posted December 30, 2006
- a student
The teachers are so fun to be around. There is a strict time for learning, but it is also fun at times. Mr Jasin totally rocks.

East Hills Middle School 5

Posted August 16, 2004
- a student
This school is great and the teachers make the learning so much fun! And Mr. Wyckhuyse is the best teacher there is!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

East Hills Middle School
2800 Kensington Road, Bloomfield Hills, MI  48304
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (248) 341-6200
Last modified East Hills Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 5-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top