Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Way Elementary School 5

Posted July 13, 2016
- a community member
Started at K, wonderful teachers and support network. My child was below national and state average at the beginning of the year and far exceeded both by the end of the year. I also have an enthusiastic, happy and polite child. Excellent experience

Way Elementary School 5

Posted May 06, 2015
- a parent
How on earth did greatschools only come up with a score of 7/10 for Way? This school is phenomenal, and has ranked consistently somewhere between #4 and #40 out of 1,500 elementary schools in Michigan (depending on source)! All the schools in the Bloomfield district are very highly rated, and the district itself is rated best in the state. My child absolutely loves this school, and the staff is amazing. Would give 10 stars if I could.


Way Elementary School 5

Posted December 13, 2014
- a parent
My family moved to Michigan from Nevada. Whenever we looked at a home that was zoned for Way Elementary, the "Selling" Realtor would STRESS the selling point that "This house is zoned for Way." There is a culture at this school that is concerned with actually teaching the child through almost a socratic method. "Visible Thinking" is used in every grade and it brings forth interactive conversation about any and every subject that the children are studying. Children discuss things as young adults would in a college setting in an effort for them to really "get it," to understand, appreciate and relate to what they are learning. Every teacher has been thorough, yet extremely caring. Our principal sets the mood of the entire school giving the kids high-fives every day both at drop off and pick up, knowing every child's name and making himself available to parents daily. The PTO and other parents are very welcoming - especially to newcomers. I have only one child and she will have only one elementary school experience. I feel extremely lucky that we found Way Elementary and that she will have not only learned so much, but will have also gained such wonderful memories.

Way Elementary School 5

Posted October 26, 2014
- a parent
This is an outstanding school for a children and parents. They pride themselves on teaching the 'whole' child. This means differentiated teaching to all levels in class, the social aspect of the child and even welcoming parents into the school to participate in activities. The community of parents is welcoming and educational. The principal is an exceptional leader in the school and educational community at large. It's great to see him high fiving kids on the way into school and playing soccer at recess. We are so fortunate to be part of this school! It will be a sad day when our youngest moves on to the middle school (which is just as great, but we'll still miss Way).

Way Elementary School 5

Posted September 22, 2014
- a parent
This is now a K-4 school now. The best part of this school is the Methodology of teaching using Visible Thinking. Teachers are wonderful, extremely dedicated and highly trained. Parents are involved in all areas of the school and even take time to read to children of other grades that are not their own.


Way Elementary School 5

Posted September 22, 2014
- a parent
Way Elementary is an exceptional place for learning and developing thinking skills. The Visible Thinking program helps students understand information in a deeper way and expand creativity. My kids are having the most amazing experience. All of the staff are well trained, passionate, talented professionals who share best practices. I cannot imagine a more happy school where students want to be and teachers love their work! My neighbor told me that "Way is like going to a private school. We hit the lottery with this school. " Obviously, she is a fan as well. I completely agree. Bloomfield Hills School District really supports each school and produces great results. The learning culture here is inclusive and learners are met where they are. From the tech in the classrooms, the student organic garden, to the all-school art show, and learning exhibitions, the children get to be hands on, skilled learners from kindergarten on. We love the school, staff, and the amazing collection of families that attend this school.

Way Elementary School 5

Posted October 07, 2013
- a parent
I must say that after reading these review I agree with most of them. I went to the principle last year with a problem regarding my child and a teacher and it was addressed immediately! In fact the principal has searched me out to make sure that my child is doing well this year and see if more action is required. It is not. I applaud his immediate action and overall administrative style! this is a fabulous school with great staff and involved parents!

Way Elementary School 3

Posted August 19, 2012
- a parent
As with most schools, there are some great teachers and some not-great teachers. The principle is a good public face, but not great with parents or issues wih kids. The parents are very supportive. For a public school, they are probably above average, but there is definite room for improvement. Some classes are below average in my opinion.


Way Elementary School
no rating

Posted January 02, 2009
- a parent
Teachers are incredible. My son loves his teacher. We had trouble with his teacher in Kindergarten at another school. His performance had improved greatly from the first week in first grade. Very culturally sensitive. We are very very satisfied

Way Elementary School 5

Posted October 18, 2008
- a parent
You will not hear any complaints about this great elementary school...it is the best public elementary school in the area for the past 30 years, especially with the Harvard Visual Thinking program that was recently initiated. There are over 80 students who transferred to Way from the other elementary schools in the district for their top notch instruction and leadership in education by the principal and teachers.

Nearby schools

Way Elementary School
765 West Long Lake Road, Bloomfield Hills, MI  48302
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. (248) 341-7800
Last modified Way Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top