Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


28 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Brandon High School 1

Posted November 19, 2014
- a student
I'm currently a student enrolled at Brandon High School and I can honestly say that the students are fake and the staff matches up/stoops down to their level. They claim to be "there for" students, but they aren't. I've seen it first-hand, they put the dress code and sporting events before the actual needs of the students every single time. The staff as a whole is unprofessional and just as petty as the students.

Brandon High School 5

Posted April 23, 2014
- a parent
The STEM program here is awesome. Kids who enjoy science and math getting to push themselves--that's what school should be. I like how the district continues to promote this program.


Brandon High School 5

Posted February 27, 2014
- a parent
The Education Exploration night was great last night. It is nice to see a school bring back its alumni to show kids what's possible. The teachers seemed into it, and the high energy was noticeable. Things really seem to be on the upswing at Brandon High School.

Brandon High School 4

Posted January 17, 2014
- a parent
I'm not exactly sure how the funding for schools works, but every time I see a Michigan listing, Brandon is at the bottom of the list for how much it gets from the state. It seems to me they do a pretty good job with the schools for being at the bottom of funding. I think they offer some pretty good programs.

Brandon High School 5

Posted January 17, 2014
- a teacher
There are going to be issues in any school, and Brandon has issues just like anywhere else. As a teacher, though, I do see efforts to fix problems and make the school better. One of the things the assistant principal has is the Blackhawk Hotline where kids can report problems and he follows up on them. At first glance, it can seem silly, but I know some kids who have used it out of concern for their friends and it has worked. I think things are headed in a decent direction.


Brandon High School 2

Posted November 22, 2013
- a community member
principal is a jerk. 2,no emphasis on real education. No final exams if you do not miss any classes. what a joke. No incentive for good teachers to teach in this school.

Brandon High School 1

Posted August 09, 2013
- a teacher
As a teacher I have seen some petty bad things here. Mr.Tucker is a very bad person. This has to be the Worst school in Michigan!!!!! Please take your kids to a school that cares about them.

Brandon High School 2

Posted June 03, 2013
- a parent
District that has had issues with racism/bullying for the last decade if not more. Little prevention training or steps in place. This issue is more critical as it is a school of choice district. Lack of experience on board, spends thousands on "professional" opinion rather than find solutions within. Buy outs and out sourcing has had a negative impact on community and property. Budget miscalculations have thrown planning to the fire and put district in crisis cut mode. Student proficiency has drastically declined and High School has lost highly sought after state designation. Cut curriculum director and facility maintenance director. Budget error has caused major change of direction for this district Though student numbers decline, teacher/student ratio's increase. Little effort spent on students above proficiency levels below High School levels. Great improvements in art and music programs at elementary levels. Teaches to test results. Strong support for athletics, although declining due to staff changes. Many young and bright new teachers, but also lost many needed "experienced" teachers.
1 person found this helpful


Brandon High School 1

Posted April 28, 2013
- a parent
The emphasis at Brandon High School is rigid adherence to rules. There is a greater concern about sports, dress code, and attendance than actually teaching students. What's worse is that there is a lot of bullying, and the staff turns a blind eye to it. Students get very little feedback to help them improve their learning. There are not enough textbooks for MANY classes, so students do not have the materials needed either. Test scores on the MEAP and ACT are marginal, especially for Oakland County.. The enrollment is dropping and will continue to drop until Brandon High School starts putting learning first.
1 person found this helpful

Brandon High School 5

Posted November 25, 2010
- a student
It is a really good school. This is the school that I am going to right now.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brandon High School
1025 South Ortonville Road, Brandon Township, MI  48462
(248) 627-1820
Last modified Brandon High School is a Public school that serves grades 8-12
Brandon High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top