Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Brighton, MI
Students enrolled: 180
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 33 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


34 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Shepherd of the Lakes Lutheran School 4

Posted June 08, 2014
- a community member
No school is perfect. . .and that's why I LOVE Shepherd of the Lakes. At SOTL God's grace is understood and shared. I had the recent experience of observing a class prepare for the end of the day. The students gathered what they needed, packed their bags, and then together the students and teacher sang the song every child at SOTL learns in chapel, "Father bless us as we go, Jesus walk beside us, Holy Spirit guide us." Those students leave, daily, knowing that they have a God who loves them, walks with them, and guides them. That is priceless. Thankful!

Shepherd of the Lakes Lutheran School 5

Posted May 29, 2014
- a parent
Our child has been in of Shepherd of the Lakes School for 7 years! Our child has grown into such a well rounded person in great part because of this school. Every single teacher, including the Specials, and Pastors have been extremely supportive of our child and family. Their doors are always open! The children have a unique bond with each other and at any given moment will pray for one another! We love that our child can ask questions about God and get a well educated Christian response. Our entire family have made lasting friendships through the school too! We could not say enough wonderful things about Shepherd of the Lakes!


Shepherd of the Lakes Lutheran School 5

Posted May 26, 2014
- a parent
Our family is blessed by loving staff, knowledgeable and loving teachers, and a wonderful environment that is Christ centered in their approach to education. My kids learn the necessary facts in school but they also learn about God's love for them.

Shepherd of the Lakes Lutheran School 5

Posted May 17, 2014
- a parent
Great place. My kids have been blessed. My family has been blessed. We are thankful for this school!

Shepherd of the Lakes Lutheran School 5

Posted May 17, 2014
- a parent
My children have attended this school for 3 years and will continue! The school staff and teachers are kind and are supportive not only to the children but the parents as well! There is no doubt that the best interests of the children are always at the forefront of every decision and event. The church staff and congregation is filled with families who are united in one mission to transform homes through God's grace! We are blessed to be a part of this Christ centered environment!


Shepherd of the Lakes Lutheran School 5

Posted May 17, 2014
- a parent
My family has loved being a part of this school. The teachers are wonderfully responsive. My kids achieve at a level consistent with their abilities. There is wonderful support from the church leadership. Many parents volunteer a great deal. It has been fun to watch the school grow so dramatically over the last few years.

Shepherd of the Lakes Lutheran School 5

Posted May 17, 2014
- a parent
This is a great school. The children are cared for amazingly. There is great support from the church. We have been here four years and will continue with all of our kids through eighth grade. The school has doubled in size over the last few years, many new programs have started, we have expanded grades, and the church just decided to expand facilities. We are blessed!

Shepherd of the Lakes Lutheran School 5

Posted May 17, 2014
- a parent
This is our first year at SOTL and each one of our three children are thriving. This school is strong on academics and parental involvement. Our children have enjoyed the extra-curricular activities such as math club, boys and girl scouts, and running club. Small class size allows more attention to students. What stands out most is the encouragement our children receive in their faith in Christ. This runs through every facet of their school experience; the greatest of which is the teachers' modeling of Christ's love. My children range from easy-going to difficult. It does not depend on the child. Students learn this love and have grown to care and pray for one another. We are not Lutheran, but it has never been an issue. Lastly, I want to commend the staff for their patience and care. Mrs. Gaertner, Principal VanDeven and school secretary Mrs. Horst have gladly answered our many new-parent questions and always greet us with a smile. We have re-enrolled and look forward to next year.


Shepherd of the Lakes Lutheran School 5

Posted May 17, 2014
- a parent
I couldn't ask for anything more! My kids have a Christ-centered education. The academics are top notch. The teachers are partners. The church is supportive with their funding. The growth of the school has been fun. The atmosphere is excellent. My family loves everything about SOTL.

Shepherd of the Lakes Lutheran School 5

Posted May 16, 2014
- a parent
Our family appreciates this school. Our kids are lovingly cared for by their teachers. We find the teachers to be responsive to our questions and they earnestly desire the best for our children. The academic environment is strong and respectful of the different learning styles of children. The administration and the teachers work together to create successful learning environments. The Christian environment is expressed in many ways, including room for kids and parents to make mistakes and find forgiveness and reconciliation. Our children have been attending this school for the last five years and they will continue in this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Shepherd of the Lakes Lutheran School
2101 S Hacker Road, Brighton, MI  48114
(810) 227-6473
Last modified Shepherd of the Lakes Lutheran School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Shepherd of the Lakes Lutheran School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. Top