Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
209 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Shepherd of the Lakes provides an excellent Christ-centered education for students in preschool-8th grade. Our school has wonderful support from a church community of more than 1000 members. Parents are also involved regularly. Our teachers meet and exceed state standards for educators. Our school has experienced growth in student enrollment and extra-curricular programming over the last five years and is looking forward to continuing to be a great place for parents and their children.
January 25, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
39 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 47 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Shepherd of the Lakes Lutheran School 5

Posted January 24, 2016
- a parent
This is our third year at SOTL and our three children are thriving. One will be graduating this year- we are very secure in her academic preparedness for high school. This school is strong on academics and our children have enjoyed the extra-curricular activities such as math club, running club, Praise Band, middle school band and and sports. Small class continues to be a plus. SOTL is such an encouragement to our children in their Christian faith. We are not Lutheran, but thank you to Pastor Milatz for his acceptance and encouragement. Looking forward, we only hope we can find a high school with as dedicated, loving and wise staff!

Shepherd of the Lakes Lutheran School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted January 24, 2016
- a parent
Thank you to Craid McCall, best AD that SOTL has ever had:-) You have worked incredible hours to get this sports program off the ground and my children are the better for it. Thank you.


Shepherd of the Lakes Lutheran School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted January 24, 2016
- a parent
The SOTL sports programs ( volleyball soccer cheer basketball and cross country) have helped my daughter find her tenacity!

Shepherd of the Lakes Lutheran School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 24, 2016
- a parent
Not only is it part of SOTL school policy to be kind towards one another, but they provide ample opportunities for children to put this in practice.

Shepherd of the Lakes Lutheran School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 24, 2016
- a parent
SOTL teaches, models and encourages students to be honest, fair, and have integrity. Memorizing scripture, ten commandments, religion class that discusses principles like these all are part of their teaching. Teachers and Staff model honesty by being quick to admit if they have made a mistake, allowing children to be honest regarding their own shortcomings.


Shepherd of the Lakes Lutheran School 2

Posted September 18, 2015
- a parent
They like to boast about their small class sizes, but my kid's PE class has 40+ students.

Shepherd of the Lakes Lutheran School 1

Posted September 14, 2015
- a community member
We had a bad experience with the pastor of this church/school. Beware! He was rude and disrespectful. I would not recommend this school.

Shepherd of the Lakes Lutheran School 5

Posted May 31, 2015
- a community member
Love the teachers and the way they interact with students at this school! A truly safe place for our children to thrive both academically and spiritually. SOTL has done a superior job balancing faith and reason. Thank you SOTL!!!!!


Shepherd of the Lakes Lutheran School 1

Posted May 11, 2015
- a parent
The school has lots of cliques among adults (you'll swear you're back in junior high school) and unfortunately it trickles down to the children. I sometimes wonder if it has anything to do with the friends/family hiring policies. Academically, they're average (I compare my child's school work against public school work of the same grade), however, they'll tell you they're superior.

Shepherd of the Lakes Lutheran School 5

Posted March 31, 2015
- a parent
Superior place to assist parents in educating their children. We are very happy with our choice. We cannot say enough about the teachers, principal and staff! A pleasure to visit, learn and thrive!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Shepherd of the Lakes Lutheran School
2101 S Hacker Road, Brighton, MI  48114
(810) 227-6473
Last modified Shepherd of the Lakes Lutheran School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Shepherd of the Lakes Lutheran School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. Top