Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Buchanan High School

Public | 8-12 & ungraded | 606 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 17, 2011

If the person who posted on Sept 23 is a product of the Buchanan school system, then their comments helped my evaluation immensely. Obviously, spelling and grammar are not taught there.


Posted March 2, 2010

Buchanan High Schools is one of the only schools in the state of Michigan to recieve failing grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2008

this school is the best school iv ever seen. everone keeps saying that the art prgram is bad, well is has its own building behind the school,and the choir class isnt bad at all iether the have 3 big rooms for them. the school is really focased on there academents. Like forinstes they take away your drivers prmint if you have more the 2 d's or 1 F. that inculeds the sports. everyone has to ware there i.d because of safty reasons. They are realy into there football progam ,beacuse they are in a football area. and eveyone there is vary smart. the teachers are nice and smart. The schools just a great place and i would incourage you to let your kids go to the school. Buch Pride!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2006

All four of my children attended and graduated from Buchanan Community Schools. All of them did well in their respective colleges and are successful adults. They use their experiences at Buchanan by which to judge other schools. My daughter has had experience working in elementary schools in Indiana and the one she found most enjoyable and productive was the one she said was most like Buchanan. Yes, it is a small town school and one could perhaps find a more sophisticated setting with a wider range of offerings. However, there would be trade-offs and maybe they would constitute a high price to be paid. We enjoyed having the high quality of teachers who did not hesitate to pick up the phone to call us if something needed discussing. School is what the student makes of it and the bottom line is still the values instilled at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2005

Buchanan high school is a work in progress the sports are strong and the arts department is growing. The school had to tighten their budget for the year and cut back on some things but that happens in a lot of schools. If people want the drama and choir programs to thrive than it is necesary for more students to become involved in them. Now I'm not saying that sports should get chosen over drama or choir all of them are very important to the social balance of the school. But I strongly suggest people don't bad mouth the school unless they are planning to do something major to change it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 4, 2005

As with all things, there is more than one side to every story. Buchanan is a great school. As with all things, they have downfalls, such as cutting choir, which, may I point out, is the only 'ARTS' class that has been cut. Like all small schools, Buchanan Operates off a small budget which forces decisions to be made. For the sake of arts, lets see what Buchanan has to offer: The best Drama Club in Berrien County, A new Art Teacher, who, may I add, has done a teriffic job as of yet, A band who Receives 1 and 2 ratings every year at district festival, etc. Overall, the school has great teachers, many of whom have obtained legendary status. The academics are far above the state average as is the school itself. My son has gone to Buchanan all of his life and would not change schools for anything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2004

Buchanan High School is one of the worst schools I have ever seen. My daughter goes there, she is now a senior. Never has she once said anything good thing about it. I don't blame her, I wouldn't say anything good about it ether. As one of the other reviews stated, this school only cares about sports. The arts program is truly on the back burner, which is why my daughter has given up on taking any art programs through the school. She is now pursuing her dream on her own, with the little money she has. I myself would like to provide money for her but we are a very low income family and that makes it extremely hard. I would never recommend any child go to this school, I should have pulled my daughter out years ago!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2004

This is an aweful school. They no longer have a choir program due to funding cuts, and the arts are on the 'back burner'. Anything that is not sports related is not worth this schools time. I wish i had known that before allowing my childs state aide go this school since pre-school and they he is now a senior. This school has truely been a dissapointment and i would discourage any parent from allowing their child to go to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2004

This is the classic small town school everyone wants their kids to go to. The teachers are mostly young with a mix of older staff as well. The school is big enough to offer a good variety, but small enough to keep things personal.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

133 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

131 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

126 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
26%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
22%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 26% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
25%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 38% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
41%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 50% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

88%

Average ACT score

20

Graduation rate

90%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 69%
African-American 5% 18%
Multiracial 5% 2%
Hispanic 3% 6%
American Indian 0% 1%
Asian N/A 3%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Sharon Steinke
Fax number
  • (269) 695-8414

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

401 West Chicago St
Buchanan, MI 49107
Website: Click here
Phone: (269) 695-8403

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






W-A-Y Niles
Niles, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT