Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Atherton High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 282 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 2, 2013

Atherton High school is an atmosphere that you'll never forget. Everyone's such a big family. You know everything about everyone and everyone sincerely cares about how you are doing and try to help you in the best way possible. Anyone looking for a school in the burton area, I recommend Atherton for you or your child. Yes there are bigger schools with more money and everything, but Atherton has one thing that those schools don't have. A feeling when you walk in the doors of the High school that you are family. You are another wolverine, whether you just got there or have been there since kindergarten. I am incredibly sad that I have to move schools after attending Atherton since 1st grade(I'm now in 10th) and hope that anyone who gets the opportunity to attend Atherton loves it here just as much as I do. Go wolverines! By the way, I reccomend any band students from previous schools to definitely join band at Atherton. The band director Mr.Cutting is amazing.


Posted October 12, 2010

Atherton High School is a small community school that has a big heart. Our teachers know all the students by name and really care about our kids.


Posted June 8, 2006

I was a student for two years at Atherton, and now that I'm about to leave I am going to miss it. At times (in certain classes only) I don't feel they always challenged us enough and poor grades are just a result from laziness but the teachers are wonderful. Having attended large public schools in the past, it was nice being a part of a big family. For the most part, the teaching is excellent (except for the few classes that I mentioned above) and the teachers are always patient and even dedicate their time after school, sometimes even their lunch. I will greatly miss Atherton.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 7, 2006

I have been going to this school for about 2 yrs now it has a great tight-knit community but lacks the money for needed material. The teachers try hard to work with what they have but overall is behind most other schools and has a very high drop out rate. I am also about to go to a new school and I am behind because atherton does not let freshman take history classes in which my new school requires 4 yrs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 2, 2005

Small schools like Atherton has definite advantages. Students are not a number, and they have a real connection with the teachers and administrators as they move from building to building. I believe the Atherton Staff & Administration along with the Board of Education do a good job in providing as many 'Elective' Classes as possible and extra curricular activies also. My children have benefited from the small school environment and I would gladly recommend the district to all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2005

I am an Atherton teacher. I am one of the few that work with students in grades 4 through 12. I have the unique opportunity to see the school from a vantage point of employee and district resident and voter. Our district is not without it's problems. Most of them stem from the lack of funding from the state and federal goverments. I appreciate the size of our district. This allows for unique and special relationships with parents students and staff. I have great respect for what the teachers are accomplishing and even greater respect for the students who work so hard and keep trying in the face of adversity. We have real winners in all disciplines from fine arts to sports and we can be equally proud of all.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 19, 2005

This school is horrible. I had four kids that went here and I pulled them all out. One of my children had faced a massive bullying problem and went to the princliple and counciler numerous times. They wanted to know what kids were doing this so that they could 'take care of the problem', and during the whole ordeal, they kept saying what a 'valuble asset' my chilren were. They are also begining to face overcrowding issues, and do not have enough supplies for the students (text books). The staff is very un-cooporative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2004

I am a student at Atherton and I love going there. I have been in the district since the second grade and now I'm going to be in 9th grade. I love how they teach things at just the right speed and I love knowing most of the middle and high schoolers. The theachers are very nice and helpful. I have formed close relationships with a lot of students and teachers. I feel like I go to school to see my family. I'd give my school 5 stars easily.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 4, 2004

I love going to Atherton High School I know everyone that goes there and I love knowing that if I ever need something I can go to a teacher or the office staff and they will help!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
12%

2013

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
24%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
14%

2011

 
 
10%

2010

 
 
5%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
29%
Science

The state average for Science was 26% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
12%

2011

 
 
9%

2010

 
 
7%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 38% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
13%

2010

 
 
15%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 50% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
23%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

94%

Average ACT score

18

Graduation rate

76%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 69%
African-American 22% 18%
Hispanic 3% 6%
Multiracial 2% 2%
American Indian 0% 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Jamie Johnston
Fax number
  • (810) 591-9180

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3354 South Genesee Rd
Burton, MI 48519
Website: Click here
Phone: (810) 591-9184

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Grand Blanc Academy
Grand Blanc, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT