Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

St Thomas More Academy

Private | K-12 | 8 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Burton

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $75,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $850.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 28, 2014

We were looking for 'More' when we found this school-More faith, more character, more saints, more Virtue, more prayer, more... Everything Catholic for my children. The culture your kids are surrounded with matters if you want them formed with morals, virtues and the sound principles of our faith. The other parents who attend this school also want the same. You won't be surrounded by lukewarm Catholics or parents who never attend Mass here, or families who think a Catholic school is a mark of prestige. The parents at this school are all serious Catholics, devoted to their faith. At St.Thomas More Academy, scholasticism is parallel with faith, as it was meant to be from the beginning, because both spring from the truth. I thank God this school is here. It's well worth the 35 minute drive. I guess it comes down to how much you would be willing to sacrifice to help your children grow closer to Jesus?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2012

I can not imagine sending my children anywhere else. The curriculum is strong and the faith is taught beautifully. The environment is very wholesome and so are the children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2012

We were truly blessed to find such a wonderful school for our children. I really believe that we would still be homeschooling if STMA did not exist. The academic standards, leadership and strong love of their Catholic faith is evident in both the students and staff, and that is very important to us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2011

We are very pleased with the education our children have received at STMA (academically, spiritually, and socially). All the families are commited Catholics. You don't exerience any of the problems (i.e. drugs, bullying, pre-marital sex, etc..) so prevalent in public and even other privare schools. The tuition cost is also very reasonable. If you want your children to know and love their Catholic faith, St. Thomas More Academy is the school for you. I suggest you give them a call or simply stop by and see for yourself. That's what we did and we've been sending our children there for over 10 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2011

My son attends Kindergarten at St. Thomas More Academy and I know several of the families who send their children there and who teach there. You will not find a group of people more in love with our Lord Jesus Christ, more faithful to his Church or more committed to the education and preparation of our children. There are few places where a father can leave his child and be sure of his safety body, mind and soul. St. Thomas More Academy is one of them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2011

This is a wonderful little school; if I had children, I would send them to STMA. Each day begins with Mass - the perfect foundation. The TRUE counterpoint to a few of the posts I've seen here: 1. STMA students don't study only religion; that is an absurd claim! Students start Spanish in the early elementary and continue through grade 9. They also have math, science, English, lit, sociology, psychology, public speaking, American history, world history, and probably a few more that I have left off. 2. Our kids are not ill-prepared socially. They have prom, bonfires, open gym, sports, fun gatherings, contests, spelling bees, social outreach opportunities - many opportunities exist throughout the year for STMA students to become good, well-rounded, upstanding leaders. Just because we promote a wholesome environment, that certainly does not make us backward socially...it truly makes us forward thinking; I wish all children could have a wholesome environment in which to learn and grow. 3. I doubt the comment about a coach being out of control. Perhaps you mistook our coach for an opposing team's (their coach=bad language, caused a scene, removed from the game). NOT our coach!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 20, 2011

STMA truly sets the bar high...looking for schools for my own daughters I am often reminded of the GIFT St. Thomas More was to me and my siblings. Strong academically, but even more importantly spiritually. I was given such a solid foundation, a real education - humanly, spiritually, intellectually. You couldn't ask for more in a school!


Posted February 9, 2011

Just attended an event at this school. The jr. High and girls basketball coach was totally out of control while in the stands watching the varsity game. He made several inappropriate comments. I was thankful that my children are not in this school.


Posted January 6, 2011

This School leaves its students unprepared academically, but also socially. While religious study is acceptable at a private Catholic establishment, it should not be the sole sole focus of the academics offered.


Posted December 14, 2008

This is a great school. It pushes students to do their best and sets them up for life. Their are really great teachers that will give them all the help they need!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 28, 2008

STMA is a wonderful orthodox Roman Catholic school. It not only encourages high moral standards, self discipline and a respect for self and others, it also gives the students what they will need to survive academically and personally in the post-high school world. STMA teaches children to LIVE THEIR FAITH.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2008

This is such a wonderful traditional Roman Catholic school. My daughter is now in her mid twenties, who attended there, and she is always commenting on how it was such a wonderful experience for her!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2007

Do not send your children to this school. I personally attended this school for 8 years. The people who run it are fundamentalists who force their ideas on the students. I hope people reading this will trust my word and believe that I'm not just some kid with a chip on her shoulder. I'm an adult now with a normal happy life, but my siblings and I will never forget the the years we spent at this school and how awful it was. Believe me, I could tell you some horror stories!


Posted December 6, 2004

STMA is the best school in Genessese County for young catholics. I graduated from STMA in 2002 and I was more prepared for college than most of my classmates.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

10 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

10 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

10 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
18%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 26% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 38% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 50% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 69%
Hispanic 5% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
African-American 0% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Daniel Leblanc
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Fax number
  • (810) 742-4803

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Lansing
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6456 East Bristol Road
Burton, MI 48519
Phone: (810) 742-2411

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Myers Elementary School
Grand Blanc, MI




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT