Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bendle High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 381 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 26, 2010

my children have grown leaps and bounds since they have started this school, and everyone here is so welcoming and helpful, especialy in the tutoring area all the teachers really do care that my children do well as well as all students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2006

If you are looking for a small tight nit community with great teachers, coaches, students, and parents and if you like to be involved in your childrens education and activities then this is the school for you. we have been here for about 15 years and have meet thru sports or whatever events that were held @ bendle the greatest group of parents who have turned into life long friends we would do anything for the kids and parents in this district. so if thats what you are looking for then don't look any further. Bendle is the place to go and if you go anywhere else you can be assured that you will here us say ' uh, ah, should have been a Tiger ' The LaFreniere's
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2005

Bendle High School appears to be a very good school in all areas! The Sports program is very involved and competitive! Alot of homework but not too much either. I'd give this school close to 100% rating!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2004

I come from a family of 9. All 9 were graduates of Bendle Schools. I am now a mother of 2 and am proud to have my children in this school. We have a great staff interested in our childrens education and safety.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2004

I'm happy that the schools didn't combined. If they did there would be fights, bigger class rooms, and only the best athletics out of all the schools would play the sports.So once again I am happy that Bendle is one school. -Kristina DeFreese-
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 5, 2004

Coming from a large public school, such as Grand Blanc High School. I would have to say that I enjoy going to Bendle everyday more than I did enjoy going to Grand Blanc. Schools are taking in more kids than they can handle these days, which is making it rougher on the students. Bendle is far from that, with only 361 students, its not crowded at all. They have provided me so far with a great education, the same I would get if I were still going to Grand Blanc. Bendle Senior High School might be a small school, but they are achieving as much as other public schools are. To me our principle and our teachers are more sociable, interactive than any other school that I have attended. There are tons of schools out there with Principles, that don t even know half their students. Here at least the Principle knows my name, and that makes me feel more comfortable and enjoyable at school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 27, 2004

This school has helped me achieve my acedemic standards, and is currently helping become a person to whom I would like other people to see me as. I would like to thank this school distirict for giving me the best education possible. Thanks!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 4, 2003

This school made a big mistake by not combining with the other districts. Bendle doesnt have enough to offer it's students. The stats show that the students arent performing to even average levels, and this district cant fix the problem on it's own... it keeps going downhill. What a shame.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
13%

2013

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
18%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
6%

2011

 
 
6%

2010

 
 
5%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
34%
Science

The state average for Science was 26% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
8%

2011

 
 
14%

2010

 
 
6%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 38% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
22%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 50% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
24%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

97%

Average ACT score

18

Graduation rate

83%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 69%
Multiracial 5% 2%
African-American 4% 18%
Hispanic 4% 6%
Native Hawaiian 2% 0%
American Indian N/A 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 84%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Scott Williams
Fax number
  • (810) 591-2510

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2283 East Scottwood Ave
Burton, MI 48529
Website: Click here
Phone: (810) 591-5103

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT