Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Madison Academy Elementary/Middle School

Charter | K-6 & ungraded | 393 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

49 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 31, 2008

My 2 girls attend this school and overall I am VERY happy with it. This is the most welcoming school I have every walked into. The office staff is absolutely awesome! My girls are treated like people, not numbers here. This school is growing every year and offering new things for our students to do. I am not happy at all with one of my girls teachers but that could happen at any school. I think overall this is a wonderful and safe place for our children. I'm glad my girls will have the opportunity to grow right along with the school! I would definately recommend this school to anyone looking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2008

I am a grandmother that has been around for a while and I've been involved in many schools ... I just want to make note how happy that Madison has a very caring principal that truly has the best interest of the students and I love the discipline program they have in place called the Responsible Thinking Program. .it helps the kids


Posted December 21, 2007

This is an excellent school in process of getting bigger and better. The teaching staff is caring and focused on helping each child and family do their best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2007

My child attended Madison last year as a kindergartner and again this year as a 1st grader. I will probably not send him back next year. My child is very active and had some problems getting accustomed to a classroom setting last year. I got the feeling through working with the teacher that her opinion of my child never changed throughout the year. She had classified him as a problem child and he could never quite seem to overcome that. Any trouble in the classroom he seemed to either be blamed for or questioned about. My child also told us numerous times about being bullied and when questioned, the teacher/staff says they never saw anything. This year seems to be a little better but we're just getting started. I think Madison is a great school in some areas, but below the bar in others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2007

My girls are both in Madison now and are doing better then they did in a flint school. Sincerely, Rene Fritzler
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2007

Not every school is a good fit for every student but Madison is the best charter in the genesee county area. They scored a B on the state report card for the 2006-2007 school year and no other charter in the area did. Madison has also committed to becoming a wellness school promoting health and safety as well as working toward their 'fine arts' status. Again, the only ones. Electives are offered to grades 3-8 as well as many after school programs. Every school has bullies and that is why Madison works with these students with the Responsible Thinking program helping the student to own their behavior. They are committed to the student and will not hesitate to advise a family to seek a better fit for their child if they do not follow the rules.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2007

I pulled my child out of this school for several reasons. My child was bullied and threatened. The principal seems to be good, but is to overwhelmed. He does everything himself. The grade teachers and gym teacher seem to be really good. The classes don't have all the supplies that they need. At lunchtime the children only have 5-10 minutes to eat and they get in trouble for talking to loud, they have to sit in their seats and be quiet. I would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2007

My children, grades K, 1st, and 2nd started the 2006-2007 at this school. From the beginning I felt unwelcome by one of my kids teachers. I needed to pick up my kids early and they would never be in the office when I requested them to be. My 1st grader every day said that some kids were picking on him and I just tried to boost him up and tell him I knew he could handle it. I pulled my children from this school in November after he was beaten by another child after lunch. I sent him to school the next day and the same thing happened again. I pulled them out. The schools administration is different, and not in a good way. I felt unwelcome and like an outsider. I would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2007

security is great, building is new, the fine art enrichment classes are great every student gets spanish,art,gym ,music and computers. my daughter is in kindergarten and can read. more parent involvement would be nice esp. at lunch and recess it is a growing school that has a few little things to work out but otherwise a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

32 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

32 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

32 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
28%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

33 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

31 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

32 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
23%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

32 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

34 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
9%

2013

 
 
5%

2011

 
 
7%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

34 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
18%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

33 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
63%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

35 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
6%

2013

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
3%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 69%
African-American 32% 18%
Multiracial 7% 2%
Hispanic 5% 6%
American Indian 0% 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 178%N/A48%
Female 249%N/A48%
Male 251%N/A52%
Source: 1 MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Brigitte Jackson
Fax number
  • (810) 655-2931

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6170 Torrey Rd
Burton, MI 48529
Website: Click here
Phone: (810) 655-2949

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Discovery Montessori
Grand Blanc, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT