Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Gladys Dillon Elementary School

Public | K-3 | 331 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 24, 2013

Hands down, best school ever! They have an amazing staff! Mrs. Ryan is a very educated woman with many talents when she is not doing all te behind the sence work she is involved in her students everyday actives and Academic performance she make sure all he staff and students have what they need to teacher and learn . I feel like at Dillon my chirldern are not only safe and comfortable but are at a place when they are being taught to achieve greatness!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2014

Check out the test scores, and tell me you would feel comfortable putting your child's future here? Yikes! Far below the state average, which is not something to cheer about to begin with. I removed my child from this school after two months. Zero remediation or attention was given to his learning needs. Empower yourselves, you have a choice. You are your child's only advocate. Say what you want about focusing on test scores, if your child doesn't even test average their trajectory is quite limited.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2014

My daughter has had a wonderful experience with the caring and supportive staff. Mrs. Ryan seems to know all of the students names and greets my daughter each day. Great school, totally recommend it to anyone who cares for their kids school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2013

I like the teachers and staff however, I don't think they know what they are doing when it comes to students with learning disabilities. I do not think Mrs. Ryan is the right person for the job, there really is no leadership there and when I have been there I do not feel the staff works as a team to make sure that the children are striving, I have also heard from other parents that this school is not where any children with learning disabilities/developmental should go. I have found that they (Mrs. Ryan can be very out of line when it comes to things that are not her business and the office staff to be quite nosey as well. I will however say that Mrs. Adams tries very hard and is very down to earth and realistic about where she thinks your child stands.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2013

Not a very good school from what I have seen and heard when picking up my nephew.


Posted August 15, 2013

Fire Mrs. Ryan and the school may have a chance. All Dillon staff are hard workers and care about the needs of each individual student, they need a leader who shares those same principles not a principal with a laxidasical work ethic
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2013

Dillon Elementary has a very nurturing and supportive environment. My kindergartner felt comfortable and immediately welcomed into the school. I had many apprehensions about my daughter's ability to be academically successful and make friends. I found the teachers to be wonderful. My daughter's teacher communicated to parents frequently and my daughter came home each day excited to tell about her day. I found that the overall school environment was very welcoming from the first time I entered the building. The staff is always friendly and helpful. Mrs. Ryan is a great principal who really seems to connect with students and their families. She was available to meet with me on any concern I had, even before my daughter started her first day. Her interactions with parents, students, and teachers set a positive tone for the building. She seems to really enjoy her job and always has a positive attitude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2012

Horrible school, principal is on a power trip!!! Going down hill since my kid started there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2011

This is the first school that seems to not have any BEHAVIOR problems with my 6 year old. On top of that, My special needs 5 year old has for the FIRST TIME in her life been learning!!! She was considered autistic and/ or mentally delayed due to being in school/ school settings/ preschool. for three years and never even learning how to recognize letters, write her name, idenitfy numbers... etc. This year she is able to point to letters and identify them, sound out small words.... write numbers, count, write her name, write out words and even started counting money!! IM VERY IMPRESSED WITH THIS SCHOOL. They take the time to identify the students individual needs and ENCOURAGE A GREAT ATTITUDE . My kids in return are better behaved and have taken that great bucket filling attitude and brought it home. Sadly we will be moving home next year, but this school wont be forgotten~ GREATLY APPRECIATE EVERYTHING YOU GUYS DO
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2010

this school has gone way down hill i hatw that i have 1 grandchild there next year it will be 2 short of lwtting my home go into foreclosure i see no way out of the area mrs.ryan trys very hard but the staff and office help are horrible they know nothing about taking care of any child with special needs the whole system is a joke. i might be checking into charter schools my tax money isnt very well spent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2009

One of the best elementary schools! Caring teachers, warm atmosphere, excellent afer-school activities!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 7, 2008

This is our family's second year at Dillon and we love it here! The staff and teachers are friendly and welcoming. My oldest daughter is ADHD/ODD/Bipolar and I've never seen a school so willing to work with the child and family on the problems that can develop! Awesome after-school programs and Parent Club, too!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 69%
African-American 19% 18%
Multiracial 10% 2%
Hispanic 5% 6%
American Indian 1% 1%
Asian N/A 3%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 84%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Gina Ryan
Fax number
  • (810) 591-3835

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1197 East Schumacher Street
Burton, MI 48529
Website: Click here
Phone: (810) 591-3590

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT