Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Caledonia High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1358 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 18, 2014

This school does NOT except new comers....if you are planning on bringing your child to this school DON'T!! the kids bully each other like crazy!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2012

When we found out that we were going to relocate to the area, we toured several high schools and felt pretty confident that the ones we picked were all somewhat comparable. When I saw the community feedback for CHS, I immediately crossed it off my list because I was worried that the community was not very accepting of new comers and could potentially be cliquish. However, when it came to finding a house that met all our criteria it just happened to land in the area. I can honestly say I wish I had gone with my instincts. We came from a community where we were respected and felt a sense of belonging; I must say as a family we have never felt so unwelcome. Our student participates in sports and we were at almost all the games. We didn t know until the end of the season that afterwards most of the players/families got together at a local venue. Our student has been bullied, called names by large groups, invited to several group activities, then quickly uninvited because other students didn t want them there and sadly they are not shy as to tell why. Thank goodness for one student who must feel a bit of empathy for ours otherwise lunch time would feel awfully lonely.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2012

My girls went to Caledonia from elementary through graduation and it was an excellent school system. One daughter struggled with her grades, and every single teacher of hers was willing to work with her and help her succeed. As my daughters went to college locally, their professors were able to tell that they graduated from a good school because of their excellent writing and presentation skills. Caledonia schools set kids up to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2011

As a student who's been going through the Caledonia school system since Kindergarten, Caledonia schools are great! The high school is great with a beautiful building that everyone takes care of. Academics are pretty good as well. 95% of the teachers are willing to put in an extra effort to help you if you'll do the work. There's a few teachers and staff throughout the school that aren't the most friendly, but almost everyone is. My peers are decent as well. There's cliques in Caledonia, but most people are friendly. Sports and smarts are big in this school, but if you aren't into that stuff, there's a lot of art options that are great as well!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 3, 2008

My experiences with Caledonia have been nothing short of phenominal. We relocated our kids here from a private Christian school two years ago and have been absolutely elated about how well they have adapted and the relationships they have built with their teachers. Those who call the school 'close- minded' propably mean 'morally strong' which is what we need more of these days. The emphasis on character is refreshing and, unlike some others, I do find that the K-12 website has been an extremely useful tool. We are now in the process of relocating again (out of state) and my kids are extremely sad to have to leave Cal. It has truly been a great place to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2007

My daughter transferred to Caledonia two years ago as a Freshman. My daughter never had a problem with a teacher until starting Caledonia. She was put in a classroom with a teacher that would yell at her, absolutely no willingness to help my daughter if she were struggling and quite frankly the entire year continued that way. There were student teachers in every class. My daughters homework was literally lost and then found two months later after she received no credit for the homework and she received no apology from the teachers or student teachers, this happened too many times to count! Her sophomore year she had two 'temporary' teachers due to an overflow of students. This made it difficult to communicate with either teacher because they literally would leave immediately after their class was taught. Overall we have been less than happy with our experiences!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2007

I am a student at Caledonia High School. I am very pleased with the learning environment there. There are only a few things that I would change. I wish that our school focused some attention on the students who are heavily involved in art, theater, and music. We have some really talented kids here and they are pushed aside so that the athletes are put in front.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2006

Caledonia High School is a great school. This school has many different art programs and music programs. As far as music and art programs go there is many different sports to choose from as well.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 17, 2006

Caledonia is without a doubt the best school academically my kids have gone to and I'm glad they understand that. But it is a very close minded environment and while this may be a small town people have to understand that there's a lot more around them and theres way more to the world than Caledonia. I don't think they give the kids enough independance at school and they are the most immature kids I've ever heard of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2005

I would like to reply to one of the previous statments about the schools computer system. I would like to think that the composer of that comment has to remember that as humans we are not perfect and as machines, they are not perfect either. It is up to the Parents, School staff, and the students to make sure that our children have the best possible education that they diserve. While I have to say that the school has welcomed my kids to the district 100% and being that they are of a minority with less than 2% in the school, I give full suport to the school staff and how they have kept me informed of my kids performance, or lack there of. I would remind some parents that teaching starts at home, and continuing education begains at the school level. Caledonia has my support!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2005

Formally, a Grand Rapids Public School Student and Employee born and raised in this area. As educators would put it... Give us the resources and we will guide your children in the direction that creates a future for them, with continued involvement and great support, from both sides. Administrators, Teachers and Parents alike, The school District of Caledonia should be very proud of it's current development, it most certainly has changed in the past decade. The future holds great things for your childrens, children...in Caledonia. I believe the schools and their employees are most certainly doing the best that they can to educate the children. If they weren't those positions would have never been given to them. There doing the best, they can do. Give it a little time, things will be just fine, take it from me... it's growing to be a beautiful community. Just keep up the good work. Be Proud.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2005

Caledonia school seems to have paid a ton of money for updates. Sold the K-12 website as the 'New best thing' since a pencil, and yet, it is less useful than a pencil. No teacher puts homework on the website. Update of grades don't happen when they website says it will happen. Last they will watch a child fail and make no attemt to get involved with the parent. I cannot believe that their GREAT computer system does not automatically generate an e-mail, phone call or letter to a parent that child is in danger of failure. This makes me sad, and thinking do all our school systems run under so ineffective methods? No wonder there is not enough money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2005

I agree with the August 2004 parent review. We now have a brand new facility, as well, to compliment the wonderful staff and program. The students themselves are very happy with their school, and our wide range of extra-curricular activites from the arts to sports helps keep them that way.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 17, 2004

I don't know who wrote that above but Caledonia is a great place for kids to learn. My kids feel welcome and free do be who they want. They also have a great mentor program where if some one needs a little help adjusting they can have a mentor be there to support and encourage them. There academics are noted by many as one of the best around. I give Caledonia High School a 5 out of five rating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2004

Caledonia is a suffocating environment where every student is expected to be a carbon copy of the others. Caledonia leaves no room for individualism.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

368 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2014.

347 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2014.

347 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 28% in 2014.

348 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
36%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 44% in 2014.

347 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

348 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

All Students48%
Female47%
Male50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White49%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities3%
Students without disabilities52%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Reading

All Students75%
Female77%
Male73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities47%
Students without disabilities78%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Science

All Students41%
Female36%
Male47%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White42%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities7%
Students without disabilities45%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Social Studies

All Students63%
Female58%
Male67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities20%
Students without disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Writing

All Students65%
Female69%
Male60%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities13%
Students without disabilities70%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

97%

Average ACT score

22

Graduation rate

>95%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 69%
Hispanic 4% 6%
African-American 2% 18%
American Indian 1% 1%
Asian 1% 3%
Multiracial 1% 2%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Jim Glazier
Fax number
  • (616) 891-7038

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9050 Kraft Ave Se
Caledonia, MI 49316
Website: Click here
Phone: (616) 891-8129

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Glenmor High School
Caledonia, MI





East Kentwood High School
Grand Rapids, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT