Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Canton, MI
Students enrolled: 487

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Miller Elementary School 5

Posted November 17, 2013
- a parent
Miller Elementary is an excellent school. We have had experience at five schools now (three private and two public) and Miller leads the pack. The administration and staff are top notch. They truly care for the children and it shows in all they do.

Miller Elementary School 5

Posted June 21, 2013
- a parent
An end of the year field trip to a movie theater is so upsetting that it needs to be written about? Wow. How about kids and teachers just having a bit of fun at the end of a busy year? Miller teaches the common core standards, AS DOES EVERY SCHOOL IN P-CCS and in Michigan. The previous reviewer seems to think that schools have a say in what curriculum they teach. Comments about socio-economic differences in teaching practices are insulting. Miller's staff is dedicated and compassionate. Schools in North Canton do not teach in any different way, and other schools have end of the year trips to parks, bowling alleys, ice cream places, and other community spots, too.


Miller Elementary School 1

Posted May 25, 2013
- a parent
Wow is all that we can say about this school. There is very little communiation sent home from the teachers and when there is it is very high level. Our children are getting conflicting messages in the school where in one subject they need to complete the assignment and in the other subject it is fine if they do something else and don't finish. I beleive the breaking point is the school wide end of year field trip to the movie theater during the school day. What exactly is this teaching the students? In our opinion they watch way too many movies and aren't challenged thoroughout the school year. The school is hiding the behind the federal core currilculum as a reason why they don't challenge those that should be challenged more. Also, we have recently found out that other public elementary schools within Canton are doing well more than what Miller is. Why should socio economic status matter? Not sure but if you are looking for a school to educate and challenge your students try the west side of Canton.

Miller Elementary School 5

Posted February 08, 2013
- a parent
I have to laugh at the previous review. It seems to be submitted by someone promoting charters. This is an outstanding school. It has high performing students and a stable and professional staff. My friend sent her child to a local charter and it was completely disorganized-kids eat prepackaged meals, the staff turnover was unbeleivable, and the curriculum was a joke. Miller is an outstanding school in an outstanding district.

Miller Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Miller Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 21, 2010
- a community member
Miller is a great neighborhood school that serves community.

Miller Elementary School 3

Posted February 21, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Miller Elementary School 5

Posted March 28, 2007
- a parent
We are all awaiting our schools re-construction. Miller has been a wonderful elementary school. Teachers and staff are caring and structured. This is a school that I am proud of and will continue to enjoy having in my neighborhood.


Miller Elementary School 5

Posted November 02, 2005
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Miller Elementary School
43721 Hanford Road, Canton, MI  48187
(734) 416-4800
Last modified Miller Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Miller Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top