Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Eriksson Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
My kid, consistently, was happy to go to school everyday. This was not the case with her preschool program at a private school. When I volunteered at my kid's class, I saw her engaged and active, which was also not the case earlier. She has started reading very well. One more thing I observed was that the comments in her report cards made me feel like the teachers are spending time with her: the comments reflect my personal understanding of my kid. Her test scores on the "state" level tests could probably be bettered, and I am not sure how the staff go about that. But when I sit down with my kids with some online samples of how the tests look, my kid did much better than her "recorded scores" indicate. Since she is still in kindergarten, I would choose better "teaching" over "scores", and I think I see that in her current class - I am very happy with the "team" of teachers in Mrs. Laycock's class.

Eriksson Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
My kids reading is at very good levels. She is constantly trying to write her thoughts down too, and is curious about reading more


Eriksson Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
My kid says her teachers tell them "to be kind". I can see my kid getting along with others, and feel the same about other kids wr.t their behavior to my kid

Eriksson Elementary School 4

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
My kid is reading very well. She started this school year, and is consistently happy to go to school. That is important for me, and was not the case in her pre-school. The comments in my kid's report cards reflect my understanding of my kid, and thus indicate to me that the teachers are spending time with her, and actively listening too.

Eriksson Elementary School 3

Posted July 21, 2015
- a parent
My experience with Eriksson squarely balanced to average. There is nothing extraordinary, but neither was it abyssmal. My child's very high test scores did decline during the school year. Discipline and structure are placed above innovation and attendance to individual needs, but I don't single this school out for that. It's common. There is strong school spirit. The focus on the 7 habits of highly effective people (leader in me) is typical of preparation for a highly average life... which for the vast majority of people is a-okay.


Eriksson Elementary School 5

Posted February 08, 2013
- a parent
Absolutely awesome school. Both of my children attended this school. I loved the warm environment and professional staff. The environment listed in the previous post did not exist. The children are challenged and the school promotes and great learning environment. I would recommend it to anyone.

Eriksson Elementary School 1

Posted July 20, 2011
- a community member
I absolutely despised this school. My daughter attended for 3 years, K-2 and transferred to Miller for 3-5 for the TAG program. At Eriksson, she was taught at a below average level and was neglected by her teachers and students because of her race and intelligence level. Jealously and racism is spotted easily here.

Eriksson Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 11, 2009
- a parent
My son is in first grade here and we could not be happier with the school. The entire staff is great and always willing to help. Mr. Learned is an amazing principal who truly cares about every student. We have a new PTO board this year and so far so good. They are very plesant and really strive to make Eriksson a great place for students. It is sad to see that we were only ranked a 7, In my opinion this school should be a 10.


Eriksson Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
This is the school my nephew attends

Eriksson Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2009
- a parent
So far our experience with this school is terrific! The kids have been there for three years, and all of their teachers have been extremely involved and keep the parents involved with the day to day progress of the kids. Mr. Learned is the new principal (as of this year), and he is a great asset to the school, as well. The PTO is great, there are many fundraising opportunities, but without being pushy :) The speech and language, as well as reading programs offered have worked wonders for the kids, and all of the office staff has always been nothing but courteous and extremely helpful.

Nearby schools

Eriksson Elementary School
1275 North Haggerty Road, Canton, MI  48187
(734) 981-5322
Last modified Eriksson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top