Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Field Elementary School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 391 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 8, 2014

My son transfer to this school in 2013 and is currently in second grade. Since attending Field Elementary School his reading has greatly improved. My wife and I are very happy with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

Love this school. Amazing teachers, supportive staff. Very concerned for student safety and achievement .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

The school has a very inviting atmosphere. The teachers are interested in the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2010

Field school is an excellent school. All of my two children teacher are/were wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2010

I have three children, my youngest is still at Field in 5th grade. We have had a great experience there. All the teachers I have come in contact with there over the years have been wonderful. Even the office staff, kitchen people, and extended day staff I have dealt with over the years have been helpful and kind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2009

I have to disagree with a lot of the reviews on here. The principal has always gotten back to me in a timley matter and has always treated my kids like they were wanted there and made them feel comfortable. All of the teachers my kids have had have really tuned in to who they are and have taught them a lot. I love Field.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

The principal has no interpersonal skills. He is rude and forgets who the taxpayer base is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2009

So disappointed!!!! Had a child in 3rd grade and 1st. We were rezoned 2 years ago from Erickson to Field Elementary. Some of the teachers were excellent but overall I was disappointed. I have a College degree and have sub taught. Anyway, we are moving due to schooling (and taking a big loss on our house)!! Beware of buying a home with Field as its elementary!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2009

I have been reading the past couple of posts and I absolutlely agree with the both of you. I have been so patient with the school and it has not gotten me anywhere. I am very disappointed with the school. If I could send my child somewhere else I would. My daughter is very quiet and well behaved and it has gotten us no where. The principal puts all concerns off on other people but really he is the one not doing his job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2009

I agree with the last post. The administrator is unproffesional, condescending and lacks leadership. He doesn't hold teachers accountable for their grading criteria or ensure they are even teaching the GLCE'S. Don't plan on getting any issue resolved because the administrator only knows how to give excuses and hind the truth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2009

The school changed princpals in the summer of 2007. The principal brings all new meaning to lacking concern as well as the staff. You want attitude, unprofessionalism and willing to encounter staff that is there to only collect a paycheck? You will find it al Field School. My child's current teacher fab-ulous! Their excuses I can do without, hope it gets better before it brings down the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2008

My daughter will be starting 4th grade at Field this year and we have had nothing but wonderful experiences. All of her teachers have been amazing. They stay on top of everything and genuinely care about the children. My daughter absolutely loves her school and that has showed in her success as a student. Thanks to the entire staff at Field and keep up the great wrok!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2008

My children are at Field Elementary. It is okay. I see room for improvement in their curriculum and guideline/policies for disciplinary action. However, I have still seen improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2008

Field is a great school and has done a great job with all three of my children. They have excelled in all academic areas and it's obvious that the teachers are experienced and care for the kids. Field School does an excellent job acknowledging many different backgrounds and beliefs in an ever growing pluralistic society.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2007

My child has been at Field for two years and we have been extremely happy. Both of his teachers have been exceptional with communication and teaching. The principal has been available and willing to listen when we had a problem with bullying. Parent involvement is very much encouraged and the PTO is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2007

Field is a great school. We have found that the teachers are very good. The Principle is top notch. By all academic criteria, they are also excelling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2006

My children have attended schools in Bloomfield Hills and Farmington in the past 4 years. While those schools were not bad, Field school is by far the best. The Principal and the Teachers are the most caring people I have ever met. We are extremely pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2006

My child hates school now thanks to Field! Principal that did not know how to relate to young children and simply do not have the patience to deal with them! If you want your child to hate school this is the schhol for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2005

Moving to Canton? Move as far away from this school as you can! There are Few teachers that actually care about your child and getting them is unlikely unless you 'request the good ones'. Have a problem with the way your child is being treated? Good luck finding help! Ever hear of Tenure? It applies in a very bad way at this school. This is the absolute worst school in the Plymouth-Canton district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2005

We are somewhat happy with field elementary, we moved to Canton because we are a diverse family and Canton is a diverse community. I am a bit dissappointed that the school barely acknowledges 'black history' month, but goes above and beyond celebrating 'Dr. Suess'. I feel the school could be a bit more well rounded.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

39 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

39 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
6%

2013

 
 
8%

2011

 
 
13%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 69%
African-American 26% 18%
Asian 12% 3%
Multiracial 4% 2%
Hispanic 3% 6%
Native Hawaiian 1% 0%
American Indian 0% 1%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Denise Lilly
Fax number
  • (734) 397-6334

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1000 South Haggerty Rd
Canton, MI 48188
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 397-6330

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT