Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hulsing Elementary School 1

Posted May 13, 2016
- a parent
My son, a kindergartner, was lost in the shuffle. The teacher left him with an attendant. The attendant left him with the secretary. The secretary put him on a school bus (unaware that he should have been in the aftercare program.) When I arrived the teacher was gone. Another teacher said he was picked up. The secretary solved the mystery but was completely apathetic. I scheduled a meeting with the principal; and he was defensive. Ultimately a plan was put in place to avoid this from happening again but unfortunately he was left in the school during recess along with another student a few weeks later. Each time he was safe but regardless of the rhetoric and promises I could no longer risk leaving my child in Hulsing's care.

Hulsing Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted May 13, 2016
- a parent
I received great reports from the start about my child's ability to grasp concepts and his citizenship. I was concerned though that he was not being challenged or prepared for the next grade-level when it came to reading. However, once I talked to his teacher about this, in the beginning of the 2nd semester, things changed and his reading ability improved significantly.


Hulsing Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted May 13, 2016
- a parent
I do not believe this is a practice of the school. Some of the office staff seemed bothered by the students and in general pretty apathetic.

Hulsing Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted May 13, 2016
- a parent
There was an incident where 3 students kicked and pushed another student. The principal stated it was not bullying because the 3 students were good kids. The principal's view of bullying did not align with the districts definition; and it is not fair to allow bullying to take place simply because you favor the aggressors. I can't imagine a principal can teach/develop fairness within the school without practicing it

Hulsing Elementary School 5

Posted October 10, 2013
- a parent
Very happy with this school. The teachers that my daughter has had in the three years attending have done very well with her. She is advanced for her age and each teacher approached that with care, making sure she was challenged, motivated and recognized for her achievements. Taking time to educate an advanced student and take the time to make sure that their learning environment is challenging and interesting is just as important as tending to students who are struggling. I recommend this school for this reason, as well as safety, kind and involved principal, and the location is wonderful. It's nestled into the subdivision, away from the main roads. Great place to learn!!!!


Hulsing Elementary School 5

Posted December 27, 2012
- a parent
My son attends this school, and I am pleased with his experience there so far. His teacher, Ms. Jenkins is wonderful, along with the principal, Mr. Johnson. The curriculum seems to be advanced, and the extra activities are great for the students.

Hulsing Elementary School 5

Posted February 23, 2012
- a parent
My child in currently enrolled at Hulsing in the 2nd grade. We have never seen such a caring and family atmosphere as we have seen at Husling. Teacher is calls are e-mails quickly with answers to any of my concerns. She has a structured classroom yet is like a mom, compassiontate and understandig. Sheis able to reach all types of learners. The rest of the staff seems to have a "family atmosphere. Thank you Plymouth Canton for the staff at Hulsing

Hulsing Elementary School 5

Posted August 08, 2011
- a parent
My son attended Hulsing and had a great start for his school experience. He loved his teachers and the extra after school activities. I found his teachers to be very dedicated and caring. The parents for the most part are involved in the school and after school activities. The PTG is very active and welcomes parent support and involvement. This is one of the smaller schools and has a close knit community feel which we really liked. There is support for students who need extra help in academics, speech, learning english, and special education. The MEAP scores are higher than the state and usually the district, too. Great school!


Hulsing Elementary School 4

Posted November 15, 2010
- a parent
I'm confused about the October 27, 2010 review. Both my son and daughter went to preschool there and they DID learn about the different holidays, including Hannukah and Kwanza. They both went to the Plus program, the one you pay for. I wonder if things have changed in the past two years for the preschool? They now both go to the school (1st and 4th grade) and I know they definitely learn about different cultures' holiday celebrations. I like the school. I know a lot of the teachers and they really seem to care about the students. My daughter has a new teacher, Ms. Medley, and she is GREAT! Very structured, disciplined and NICE. I've liked every teacher the kids' have had and the principal is great, too. Very hands on and in touch with what's going on at the school. I've talked to her on numerous occasions and she is approachable and involved.

Hulsing Elementary School 1

Posted October 27, 2010
- a parent
My son goes to the preschool here and I am very saddened by the lack of diversity and culture education. The preschool program does not believe in celebrating or educating children on any holidays at all. Students can not read a book about Kwanza or send valentines to one another or experience any other tradition based on a holiday. This lack of attention to helping children learn about different cultures and beliefs does not help build acceptance or empathy in others. When asking the director or principal they are very set that it does not belong in school and will not even discuss it. Teachers are also blaming lack of a contract on reasons why they do not attend after school functions or hold parties in their classrooms. It is not a fun place to go to preschool- pick another school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hulsing Elementary School
8055 Fleet Street, Canton, MI  48187
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (734) 416-7532
Last modified Hulsing Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top