Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Crescent Academy International

Private | PK-8 | 28 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Canton

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $162,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $930.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 9, 2013

Amazing teachers. Great learning environment. Special focus on basic skills like reading.curricula is at/ above grade level & NWEA testing scores prove that. Students learn respect, care and gratitude as a person and values that are important for their survival as a good human being. The one thing i think school can incorporate to become even better is probably introduction of more extra curricular activities and encourage students to participate in them. For new parents: in addition to regular curriculum, school has a special focus on Arabic language and its teaching starts from preschool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2012

Crescent Academy International is an amazing school! The teachers are wonderful and i've seen a lot of growth in both my children not just in their islamic studies but also academically. My children have exceeded beyond my expectations. This institution is a wonderful environment for any child to grow and prosper and i recommend it highly to all parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2012

Low budget school, has no extra activities, education is mediocre. Uniform makes no sense and there are many hidden fees. Teachers are barley know how to speak english.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2010

To begin with,I consider myself honored to be part of the wonderful CAI family.. this is my son's 3rd year at Crescent and he couldn't wait for school to start this year..I'm very content with the academic level at this school..based on my friends' experiences (who have kids in public schools of the same grades)this school's academic level is above average..In addition to that,all the staff I've met in the school are wonderful people who are passionate and caring for their students..Above all ,the reason why I enrolled my child was that it is an islamic school ..CAI has exceeded my expectations in fullfiling the aspect of religious education..the staff works on all the diverse aspects of raising a confident ,educated and involved muslim child in our american society..WAY TO GO CAI !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2009

Very educational for my kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Great education , great learning experience for my child and a plus for my child's personal and religious development
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

I think that Crescent Academy is a GREAT school, that excells and achieves many components that other schools arent even close to reaching! if you are resisting to send you child there, DONT hesitate and DO it NOW!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 8, 2009

My son goes to this school. I must say he is learning a lot in terms of general and islamic education. I am amazed with the amount of knowledge he gains while he is there. I am very fortunate to have him receive education at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2009

An absolutely incredible school. I am sorry there is one review about the MEAP test scores but if you go the state of Michigan website it shows CAI has some of the highest scores in the region. However, the values, compassion and integrity are what I really like about the school. Hands down best school bar none in the area with the exception of physical education. Could work on teacher development for some grades.As a whole a great place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2008

School is Great and good decipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2008

As a parent, I continue to be a fan of Crescent Academy. I will have two enrolled children this school year and I can't wait. I read some reviews about Teacher Pemba, who is managing the middle school, she is a well educated teacher with a degree from University of Michigan. I have no doubt in my mind, that the path of dicipline that all teachers provide is the same at all levels whether you are KG or Gr8. Crescent has been always proactive in getting feedback from parents as well as students and they have delivered on a lot of promises. I command them for striving for continous improvements and hope that students will be more vocal on any concerns they have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2008

I actually been there, and just to say the school is not all that great that the parents say it is. The cirriculum is below average. I went to public school with above average meap scores, then when I went to Crescent my meap scores went dow to an average, which is not good. I even read at least 1 hour on my own, but they need to learn to be more public (Sr.Pembe-A lady who is teaching there uneducatedly, and is really mena and strict) The teachers act all good in front of the parents, and good, but they really are not. Even there way of teaching has no hands on activities.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 16, 2008

I have 3 kids in Crescent ,there education is above I expected ,MEAP test are very high , extra curriculum activities are quite often, need some work on sports activities .Overall 5 star school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2008

Crescent academy has an excellent environment for the academic advancement of my children. It also focuses on their moral and spiritual development into well-balanced, good human beings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2007

Excellent School and it covers all the aspects of learning. The plus side is the imparting of family values and religous values and responsibity at an early stages of a child's life. Crescent Academy International truly is a unique school, I only wish the fees were more reasonable so that people (not related to Engineering or Medical professiona) could afford this excellent education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2007

I think the it is a fairly well school education wise, but it does not give the student body chances like other schools. the new building was way too large, it is also very expensive.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 31, 2007

I have 2 children in Crescent Academy. It is an excellent school. The montessori program is fantastic. The teachers are excellent. They are patient and kind and have a wonderful way of teaching. My 4 year old is reading already, and my 6 year old finished kindergarten and is reading at a 3rd grade level. They are learning Arabic and Islamic values. I am truly impressed at the professionalism of the staff. They do an excellent job of teaching kids how to be good muslims in American society. It is an wonderful school that I am proud to be part of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2007

its an excellent school everything is just like regular schools along with the religious education.which is really good.teachers & the principal is great I am happy to be part of it.its worth my 40 min drive one way!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2004

I go toC and I have to say that it is the best school I have ever enrolled her in. The curriculum is basically what public schools teach but CAI also teches Quran and the arabic language. It is a great communtiy for muslim children and they do not have to be shy or unsecure. They can be proud of being a muslim at CAI.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

34 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

35 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

34 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
26%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

22 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

23 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
100%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

22 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
14%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 99% 69%
African-American 1% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 6%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Kareemah Abbas
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Islamic
Associations
  • ISLA
Fax number
  • (734) 729-1004

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

40440 Palmer Road
Canton, MI 48188
Phone: (734) 729-1000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT