Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Achieve Charter Academy

Charter | K-8 & ungraded | 735 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Canton

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $162,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $930.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 9, 2014

THIS SCHOOL IS ON POINT ! A true 10 out of 10. This is our Son's first year at Achieve and I have to say that I'm very impressed with the correspondence and curriculum . Every other day, we recieve a phone call that plays a recorded message from the Principal, Mrs. Conley. It's very thoroughly expressed helpful information ranging from reminders to concearns in an always warm friendly voice . We get emails almost every day with news letter atrachments , programs, and reminders as well. THIS SCHOOL HAS AN APP !!! How helpful ! I can easily keep track with one touch of a button, awesome. This place is organized and ultra efficient. So glad our Son had an opportunity to gain enrollment in a very well established school. KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK . Students keep thoes great MEAP scores going strong. GO BULLDOGS GO
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2014

This school prepared my soon very well for high school. Loved the fact that all students, not just a few, have the opportunity to move ahead in subjects. Strong points - writing, reading, math, science (STEM programs) Weak points - sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2014

My 3 kids attended this school last yr. I was excited about finally getting them in after 3 years. I was looking forward to my kids being able to participate in sports, foreign languages classes and other great enrichment offerings. I thought this school would offer a rigorous program that would stimulate the minds and motivate. Needless to say there are no foreign language or typing classes they hand the 7th and 8th graders Rosetta Stone CD's to use in the library. My son was not able to participate in the after school sports programs because they don't allow 3rd graders to participate. At parent teachers conferences you basically only see the child's homeroom teacher who does not teach all subjects so if your child isn't performing well in another class you don't see the other teacher at the conference, you'd have to schedule conference another day which makes no sense I should be able to see all teachers at the conference. Finally, my fifth grader was basically failing math and I did not find out until I received her report card at the end of the year. I never received a progress report, email or phone call. There are some good things about ACA but not enough to keep us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2014

This is a great school as per NHA standard. School has advanced placement for bright students. School does enhances it's students. Only thing I wish , their gym or play ground could have been little bigger. Academic wise excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2014

This school suffers terrible teaching and my child has learned nothing! I hate to say this, as i am an influential figure, but I have nothing good to say about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2014

This is indeed a great school. Teachers are compassionate and committed to the growth of their students. My daughter looks forward to going to school every day. I love the Achieve family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2014

My son has attended this school since it opened. He is now on the middle school side which has greatly changed my perceptions. As far as academics the school is great and your child will receive a good quality education. However, it has its disadvantages such as the chaotic parking. The school lot is one way in and out and parents are expected to sit 30 minutes to an hour in a lineup for dismissal. I've even noticed law enforcement many times to help maintain order. Parent teacher conferences are held in 10 minute increments which isn't practical. Some discipline policies are absurd, not all staff communicates effectively or demonstrates professionalism. Their grade book is inconsistent as it isn't updated routinely to reflect current scores. Also, bullying seems to be rampant this year. The current principal is fairly new and isn't running the school as effectively as the previous. She seems too passive which is why I feel she doesn't get the respect and cooperation like the previous principal. Overall the school's academic performance makes them one of the best in the area. However, with the current policies and issues it forces parents to choose whether or not it's worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2014

i really don't like then school one of the teachers in middle school is always complaining about the kids the schools ok


Posted September 19, 2013

I just transferred my two children here, 5th and 6th grade. So far, so good. The kids were not happy about going to a new school initially, but 3 weeks in they come home everyday excited to share their day. This school has high expectations of their students and we were a little worried about their ability to keep up, still are but they are doing great. Lots of work, lots of homework but the school has lots of activities that the kids can be a part of to keep them busy. I think we are going to like it here and I wish I had known about the school earlier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

it is a good school.hard working staff.grate scores.my son loves it more than his past school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2012

Excellent teachers, school secretaries and principal. My daughter got a very good education here. we were part of it for three years, and now unfortunately are moving to another charter school, because of distance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2012

My kid is always happy to go to school at Achieve Academy every morning. She loves her teachers. And the teachers love her. They have a fantastic team of teachers and the management is very professional. The principle was previous at the Canton Charter. She is a wonderful person and gets everything well orchestrated. They expect high and the kids are doing well.We are lucky to win the lottery and have my kid in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2011

This is a great school. I have 3 kids that go to this school and I can not express how happy I am with their academic achievement. My kids were given the opportunity to excel in their Math abilities by being offered advanced classes. Its great to know that 8th graders are actually doing Grade 10th Geometry. All the teachers are so informal, the deans and Principle are so involved. The probably have the best administration staff in the front office. I am so happy we made this choice for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2011

Achieve is a excellent school if you want your child to be challenged on a daily basis. After trying to get my son in Canton Charter Academy for 2 years I was delighted that Achieve Academy opened. The teachers are very informative and keep in constant contact with you throughout the year. My son's study habits are great. Before I can even mention the word homework he says I'm finish with it and I just look it over. The teachers expect a lot and the kids perform admirably. Overall I would rate Achieve one of the best schools in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
37%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
17%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 51% 3%
White 32% 69%
African-American 11% 18%
Multiracial 4% 2%
Hispanic 2% 6%
American Indian 1% 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 113%N/A48%
Female 249%N/A48%
Male 251%N/A52%
Source: 1 MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Jen Conley
Fax number
  • (734) 397-0968

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3250 Denton Rd
Canton, MI 48188
Phone: (734) 397-0960

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT