Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Centreville High School

Public | 9-12 | 406 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 22, 2014

Speaking for the high school, academics have been above par. While all schools have been affected by budget cuts, Centreville isn't the exception; yet, they have been able to maintain core classes and a variety of elective courses. Also, the majority of juniors and seniors take career-specific CTE courses or dual-enrollment classes through GOCC. The proximity of the college best situates CHS to offer such courses. Through academic achievement, CHS has ranked 1st or 2nd in all core classes on the ACT/MME assessments for several years running. Teachers care completely about the individual student and his/her success, and go above and beyond to provide what they can for the student. The student body is positive and a great presence to see at sporting events. My students are school-of-choice, and I wouldn't consider another setting for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2013

Centreville Schools is a smart school of choice option in St. Joseph County. Classroom sizes that allow personal attention, teachers that go above and beyond to care for students, and an administration that cares about the life and success of their students and families, are just a few reasons to consider Centreville Schools. Centreville was also named a Rewards School in Michigan in 2012 and 2013. Strenuous budget cuts across the state have it made it difficult for ALL schools to continue to offer the smorgasboard of courses that were prevalent in the late 90's and early 2000. Centreville has done a fiscally responsible job of using their diminished state funding in a way that still provides state of the art learning in updated and well-maintained facilities. For higher learning, above and beyond high school academics, Centreville has the unique opportunity to offer and pay for students to attend the local Community College. Students can earn college credits while in high school, and the school will pay for their classes. I have three children who have been in Centreville Schools Kindergarten thru 12th grade, and wouldn't hesitate to make this my school of choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

As a former student of Centreville Public Schools, I can say that there are things to consider before bringing your child to this place. For under-par and par-level students, this school is quite acceptable for its academic level - however, there simply aren't enough higher-level challenges available to the above-average student. Their college prep is definitely under-par and do not sufficiently prepare a student for the transition to college. The arts are very poorly funded, while the athletic department is highly emphasized and overfunded. Though there are some academically-based challenges such as Science Olympiad and Quiz Bowl, the preparation of students to compete in these events is often poorly-funded and poorly-done. I have, in the past, had to deal with vindictive teachers who dislike being corrected if they are mistaken - a very bad attitude to emulate, especially if the goal is to send students to college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 11, 2009

As a student of Centreville Highschool, also having attended all three levels of Centreville Public Schools, I can officially say that Centreville is a terrible school. Satisfactory is slim and students don't really get a full on education, but all in all the learning environment isn't that bad. The school itself and everyone else are more focused on it's football team and athletics. I can tell you first hand that education comes second to the athletic system at Centreville Public Schools. The school barly has any money to pay for anything, including heat in the winter. Students sit and freeze to death, literally. Yet, they have the money to buy new athletic equipment every year, or anything that the 'coach' asks for. Do not send your children to this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2009

As a parent with two already graduated and in college and one more in high school now, I consider Centreville High School an excellent school. Teachers were personally interested in the students well being. For a smaller school there were plenty of opportunities for more challenging classes through CTE and dual enrollment with classes at Glen Oaks community College, paid by Centreville HS. A good blend of athletics and more importantly the academic emphasis. And, also, a supportive environment for students with a Christian worldview
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2007

If people are considering centreville for schools of choice, i would not recommend they send their child there. The 'learning environment' is narrow-minded and fails to fully challenge student potential. The emphasis is on athletics in this school--not academics. Centreville seems to provide adequate schooling for those students who have fallen behind, but fails to provide opportunities for those ahead of the status quo. If you are looking to give your child a worthwhile four years of education and equip them with the tools they need to succeed after his or her high school graduation, I would urge you to reconsider any decision to send them to centreville public schools.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 3, 2006

well i attended this school until i got into high school then my parents moved me away but i can tell you right now that i believe this is the best school in Michigan. i learned more in this school than i could anywhere else. no matter where i go, i will always concider this my school. i love you centreville!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 19, 2004

I have a child in each of the different levels at Centreville Schools. The smaller class setting and district seems to work well for my kids. The teaching, administrative and support staff are very helpful, encouraging and supportive. I have no doubt that my children will be well prepared for their future. In Michigan we have school of choice, being in Centreville Schools is the best choice for my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2004

One couldn't ask for a better learning environment. All three of my children were well prepared for college. Teachers and coaches are fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
18%

2010

 
 
22%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 26% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
22%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 38% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
49%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 50% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

95%

Average ACT score

20

Graduation rate

>95%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 69%
African-American 2% 18%
Hispanic 1% 6%
Multiracial 1% 2%
American Indian 0% 1%
Asian N/A 3%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

190 Hogan St
Centreville, MI 49032
Website: Click here
Phone: (269) 467-5210

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Covered Bridge School
Centreville, MI


Pathfinder Center
Centreville, MI






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT