Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-12
Public district
Centreville, MI
Students enrolled: 406
 

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

10 reviews of this school


Centreville High School 5

Posted January 31, 2015
- a parent
My son is a choice of school Student he lives in Sturgis , we moved from Three rivers in August. 2015 due to health conditions rare blood and kidney tumors. His school has been amazing. Hes not treated any different and hes actually excelling in his classes and he has had more friends just in the short time then he has had in the three years of middle school of 3 years. His teachers all know him by name not just one of their students. and they also recognize us and know our names and us also as carls parents. more then i can say about his previous school . When our son carl is struggling they are more then happy to work with him to catch him up to speed and give him tutoring and make sure he understands anything that he doesnt. He even has a girl friend now .. He is in the marching band which has been one of his goals.. when in his last school , the band teacher said he was no good and wouldnt be allowed to be apart of his marching band and critized him constantly carl was depressed and just down on himself now my son smiles laughs and has fun... I cant say enough about the students the teachers and the school

Centreville High School 5

Posted February 22, 2014
- a parent
Speaking for the high school, academics have been above par. While all schools have been affected by budget cuts, Centreville isn't the exception; yet, they have been able to maintain core classes and a variety of elective courses. Also, the majority of juniors and seniors take career-specific CTE courses or dual-enrollment classes through GOCC. The proximity of the college best situates CHS to offer such courses. Through academic achievement, CHS has ranked 1st or 2nd in all core classes on the ACT/MME assessments for several years running. Teachers care completely about the individual student and his/her success, and go above and beyond to provide what they can for the student. The student body is positive and a great presence to see at sporting events. My students are school-of-choice, and I wouldn't consider another setting for them.


Centreville High School 4

Posted December 19, 2013
- a parent
Centreville Schools is a smart school of choice option in St. Joseph County. Classroom sizes that allow personal attention, teachers that go above and beyond to care for students, and an administration that cares about the life and success of their students and families, are just a few reasons to consider Centreville Schools. Centreville was also named a Rewards School in Michigan in 2012 and 2013. Strenuous budget cuts across the state have it made it difficult for ALL schools to continue to offer the smorgasboard of courses that were prevalent in the late 90's and early 2000. Centreville has done a fiscally responsible job of using their diminished state funding in a way that still provides state of the art learning in updated and well-maintained facilities. For higher learning, above and beyond high school academics, Centreville has the unique opportunity to offer and pay for students to attend the local Community College. Students can earn college credits while in high school, and the school will pay for their classes. I have three children who have been in Centreville Schools Kindergarten thru 12th grade, and wouldn't hesitate to make this my school of choice.

Centreville High School 3

Posted October 30, 2009
- a student
As a former student of Centreville Public Schools, I can say that there are things to consider before bringing your child to this place. For under-par and par-level students, this school is quite acceptable for its academic level - however, there simply aren't enough higher-level challenges available to the above-average student. Their college prep is definitely under-par and do not sufficiently prepare a student for the transition to college. The arts are very poorly funded, while the athletic department is highly emphasized and overfunded. Though there are some academically-based challenges such as Science Olympiad and Quiz Bowl, the preparation of students to compete in these events is often poorly-funded and poorly-done. I have, in the past, had to deal with vindictive teachers who dislike being corrected if they are mistaken - a very bad attitude to emulate, especially if the goal is to send students to college.

Centreville High School 1

Posted August 11, 2009
- a student
As a student of Centreville Highschool, also having attended all three levels of Centreville Public Schools, I can officially say that Centreville is a terrible school. Satisfactory is slim and students don't really get a full on education, but all in all the learning environment isn't that bad. The school itself and everyone else are more focused on it's football team and athletics. I can tell you first hand that education comes second to the athletic system at Centreville Public Schools. The school barly has any money to pay for anything, including heat in the winter. Students sit and freeze to death, literally. Yet, they have the money to buy new athletic equipment every year, or anything that the 'coach' asks for. Do not send your children to this school.


Centreville High School 5

Posted January 10, 2009
- a parent
As a parent with two already graduated and in college and one more in high school now, I consider Centreville High School an excellent school. Teachers were personally interested in the students well being. For a smaller school there were plenty of opportunities for more challenging classes through CTE and dual enrollment with classes at Glen Oaks community College, paid by Centreville HS. A good blend of athletics and more importantly the academic emphasis. And, also, a supportive environment for students with a Christian worldview

Centreville High School 2

Posted April 24, 2007
- a student
If people are considering centreville for schools of choice, i would not recommend they send their child there. The 'learning environment' is narrow-minded and fails to fully challenge student potential. The emphasis is on athletics in this school--not academics. Centreville seems to provide adequate schooling for those students who have fallen behind, but fails to provide opportunities for those ahead of the status quo. If you are looking to give your child a worthwhile four years of education and equip them with the tools they need to succeed after his or her high school graduation, I would urge you to reconsider any decision to send them to centreville public schools.

Centreville High School 5

Posted May 03, 2006
- a student
well i attended this school until i got into high school then my parents moved me away but i can tell you right now that i believe this is the best school in Michigan. i learned more in this school than i could anywhere else. no matter where i go, i will always concider this my school. i love you centreville!


Centreville High School 4

Posted May 19, 2004
- a parent
I have a child in each of the different levels at Centreville Schools. The smaller class setting and district seems to work well for my kids. The teaching, administrative and support staff are very helpful, encouraging and supportive. I have no doubt that my children will be well prepared for their future. In Michigan we have school of choice, being in Centreville Schools is the best choice for my family.

Centreville High School 5

Posted February 04, 2004
- a parent
One couldn't ask for a better learning environment. All three of my children were well prepared for college. Teachers and coaches are fantastic.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Centreville High School
190 Hogan Street, Centreville, MI  49032
(269) 467-5210
Last modified Centreville High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Centreville High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top