Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
K-5
Public
Charter Township of Clinton, MI
Students enrolled: 622

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cherokee Elementary School 3

Posted April 19, 2011
- a parent
I feel this is a good school. The principle has no direct contact with the parents. the teacher's are great expecially the kindergarten teachers. homework assignments are given weekly for the k class.the teacher interacts well with me as a parent. I have been very pleased.

Cherokee Elementary School 5

Posted March 11, 2011
- a parent
I love the principal at this school. Mrs. Jones is so kind and fair to all the students and helped my son a lot when he really needed it. She always looks out for the needs of the students and tries to make this school the best it can be. I wouldn't take my son anywhere else.


Cherokee Elementary School 1

Posted January 21, 2011
- a parent
Principal is phony and runs the school without uniformity. She has her staff all under her spell as she does not truly do things that are best for students. 1. Shuts down library a month before school is over. That promotes reading? 2. Closes the school doors to Park and Rec. That promotes community? 3. Clueless in what is best for students with needs. 4. Negative, negative school newsletters. Give me a break. Is life so dismal? 5. She will make something difficult for you if you let her. If she can make some red tape appear "just because" look out. It's all about her showing her power. Guess she gets off on that. Sad. Chippewa Schools are great but choose a different elementary if you can. Right next door at Erie is run by a fabulous Principal who is very involved and gets what it means to be a parent. The principal at Cherokee has got to be an awful mother in regards to caring and support.

Cherokee Elementary School 5

Posted May 14, 2010
- a student
This school is fantastic! I have attended this school for 7 years including preschool. The staff is amazing and there way of teaching and connecting with their students are very unique. They use alot of great technology that allows the kids to interact with the lesson. On the other hand i do agree the principal is a little phony and trys to make situations better by 'smiling.' Overall this is a terrific school to put your kids in.

Cherokee Elementary School 2

Posted January 23, 2010
- a parent
I don't believe the school treats all students the same. Some get away with the same things that other students are punished for. Lack of uniformity and concrete consequences for 'all' students. Principal seems phony and more interested in smiling than getting to the root of problems.


Cherokee Elementary School 4

Posted July 15, 2009
- a parent
Great school and teachers. As a teacher as well as a parent I want to add that schools do not pick and choose what curriculum to offer. Michigan has specific Grade Level Content Expectations to follow and the district adheres to it. It is often difficult to fit in ALL of the expectations in a school year. If parents want to enhance their child's education with outside language, dance, drama, or other classes ~ fabulous.

Cherokee Elementary School 2

Posted April 29, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Cherokee Elementary School 3

Posted March 31, 2009
- a parent
My child has been a student at Cherokee for the past two years. She transitioned from a private school which was very academically oriented. She makes all A's and I'm afraid she is not being challenged. I wish Cherokee has some type of accelerated program as well as foreign language classes and some type of 'Arts' class.


Cherokee Elementary School 4

Posted February 19, 2009
- a parent
My daughther enjoyed her time at this school, she loved her teacher and friends!

Cherokee Elementary School 5

Posted February 02, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cherokee Elementary School
42900 Rivergate Drive, Charter Township of Clinton, MI  48038
(586) 723-4800
Last modified Cherokee Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cherokee Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top