Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bailey Lake Elementary School

Public | K-5 & ungraded | 545 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 9, 2014

Love this school! Amazing staff and families!!!! Everyone is very involved! Excellent place to learn !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

I feel that the school most likely follows policy regarding programs that are set up to help the children with learning disabilities. However, I am very concerned with the schools inability to truly grasp the the children's issues and needs. I have been told that the national average for children with attention deficit is 5 %. I really question that number ?? I am not sure if the problem is lack of resoures based on funding, or if they simply do not grasp the problem. I currently have one child with a reading problem utilizing the add'l resources that we have tested to be able to take part in, and I do not believe that the help is in sync with the daily curriculum. The state does not recognize dyslexia, so that cripples our options. Our other child clearly has ADHD, and it just seems like they those children are pushed through from grade to grade, " No Child left Behind " blaming listening and behavior. Our 3rd child is hyper, so we have behavioral issues. None of our three children are on any meds. As a parent I feel that there is a huge deficit of direction or help other than recommending medication. There must be a better solution. Thank you for a forum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2011

If you want your child to LOVE school - this is THE place to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2011

With five years of experience with teachers and staff I can attest to the out standing quality of the education provided. One of our children is in special ed. The care taken to make sure he is getting the proper help in his classes coupled with a caring main stream teacher is what has kept him progressing. The principal has shown leadership in all areas and especially in keeping quality teachers in the classrooms. Test scores are one measure, however, the quality and care the staff gives shows much more. He is very friendly with the students and calls them by name. He is also a no nonsense disciplinarian who takes the child's personality into account. Several of the teachers do tutoring after school, though not a school program. They coordinate with the regular class teacher. In this way the extra help is better tailored to the particular student's needs. Parent involvement is encorraged. The PTA is very active and always looking for volunteers for the many activities throughout the school year. These activities go from passive (do at home) to active. This is a well rounded school with dedicated staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

this is our first year at bailey lake but my daughter is loving it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

I have a Kindergarten student and a member of the PTA. Excellent teachers and involvement from both the teachers as well as the parents. Programs are challenging as well as rewarding. Support and encouragement abound at the school - from the teachers to the janitorial staff. Truly a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2010

Bailey Lake is a wonderful school where the parents are involved, the teachers go above and beyond, and all parties involved want children to be the very best they can personally be!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 20, 2010

Bailey Lake is filled with caring staff, students, and parents who work together to provide a learning and supportive environment for all. I am proud to teach here!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 11, 2010

Bailey Lake Elementary offers a terrific early elementary program (this is all I am familiar with thus far). I have been very impressed with the encouragement and compassion the Kindergarten through second grade teachers have shown my boys!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2010

Bailey Lake is a great place to work. We have a wonderful staff and a fantastic group of supportive parents... which in turn makes our students ready and willing to learn.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 5, 2010

Bailey Lake Elementary is a wonderful learning environment where kids come first!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2010

Bailey Lake is welcoming and caring! The principal make personal connections with parents, teachers, and students. Both of my children love going to school each and every day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2010

BLE is a shining star in a lonely sky. Great all around!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2010

Bailey Lake has been a fantastic experience for my kindergartener! We took advantage of the full day option and what growth she has made this year! Bailey Lake is a welcoming place with great staff and high standards for students. We couldn't be more thrilled!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

Baily Lake is a great school overall has a great staff and a wonderful principal. However it lacks ambition for testing with children in K-2 who show learning problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
22%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 69%
Asian 2% 3%
Hispanic 2% 6%
African-American 1% 18%
Multiracial 1% 2%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 11%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Glenn Gualtieri
Fax number
  • (248) 623-5305

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8051 Pine Knob Rd
Clarkston, MI 48348
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 623-5300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Everest Academy
Clarkston, MI







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT