Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Clarkston Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 365 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 2, 2011

My daughter is in 5th grade and has been attending this school since Kindergarten. We are really lucky to have such a great school so close to our home. I have been involved with projects working with nearly all staff, all grade levels, and numerous parents. This year began with a former teacher being promoted to principal. He is really dedicated and has a great attitude. I don't agree with other parents about the former principal but that's the past. I have always been welcomed to visit anytime. I can see checking in with the office as the students have a very busy schedule and may be testing, at gym class, etc. These students do amazing things. I tutor students from private schools who are not performing at the level of these public school students. I believe that you have to take action and everyone needs to contribute whatever they can towards their school's success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2010

The connection the staff have with the children and the children with one another is one of warmth, acceptance and respect. There is definitely a commitment to academic excellence combined with an enjoyment of childhood at Clarkston Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

Great teachers, great programs. A commitment to academic service learning. We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2009

Quite honestly, Clarkston Elementary is a good school. The principal is (as a previous post mentioned) very prone to talking to parents like they are kids and that is very much not appreciated. She is young and thinks she knows it all and refuses to really and truly listens to a parents request and the reasons behind it as well as the concerns about thier children. There are a few teachers there that really in my oppinion should definitely NOT be teaching but 95% of the teachers there are fantastic! One thing I REALLY oppose is that you have to have prior approval to be able to visit your childs classroom...kinda makes me wonder what goes on behind closed doors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2007

I love the family connections at Clarkston Elementary. I believe that this family spirit comes from the parents of the students who attend. Clarkston Elementary has some phenominal teachers as well as some terrible teachers. We have some extremely devoted teachers which is such a blessing! We have been fortunate to get a couple of them but we have also gotten a couple that weren't motivated to help the students or just burnt out in their position so those years have been deemed wasted years for my children. The principal is a wonderful person but she is extremely political. She speaks to the parents as though we are students and don't have the smarts to understand, but she is a wonderful individual. The school pretends to appreciate the parent involvement but most parents feel that they see the parent involvement as competition and lose sight of what's most important, which is the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

Clarkston Elementary is a wonderful school. The teachers work with the children their current level(s) and rejoice in the children's accomplishments. The teachers will not hesitate to tell the parents where they need to work with their children to help them excel. The level of parent involvement is overall very high, with it seems about half of the parents signed up to be room parents. The only somewhat negative that I can see is that there are several very young new teachers and a young new principal. The children love them and they seem very capable, but I sometimes feel that maybe the teachers don't always understand the point of view of the parents and the difficulties of following through at home with everything the teachers want, such as homework for the reluctant Kindergartener, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
20%

2013

 
 
12%

2011

 
 
23%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 69%
Hispanic 6% 6%
Multiracial 2% 2%
African-American 1% 18%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Brian Adams
Fax number
  • (248) 623-5144

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6589 Waldon Rd
Clarkston, MI 48346
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 623-5100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Everest Academy
Clarkston, MI





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT