Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Clarkston High School

Public | 10-12 & ungraded | 1854 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 22, 2014

Been going to clarkston since kindergarten. So I'm user to it. But people are really snobby a lot of people like you if you're rich and pretty. Thats it. No one cares if your nice you have to be an athlete or something popular. The education is outstanding ahs best teachers but done teachers are just rude and I feel clarkston all about money. I would recommend this school but its over crowded you cant move in the hall at all.


Posted November 5, 2012

Clarkston High School is full of bullies, snobs & down right MEAN kids. I guess the parents of Clarkston are to worried about making that money to teach their children respect. Believe me when I say it is full of teenagers who drink and use drugs and have unprotected sex and brag about it to everyone in the school. Your child won't get a proper education at this High School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2012

I attended Clarkston High School at the beginning of my junior year after moving from Ohio. I had never before encountered such mean kids in my life. I was ridiculed by several classmates every day, my grades fell, I became very self-conscious and introverted, and I hated going to school. The administrators told my parents it was something that I needed to "resolve on my own " without adult interference. How do you handle it on your own when it is allowed to continue every day? I was extremely grateful to finally transfer to Our Lady of the Lakes at the start of the second semester. It was the best thing my parents could have done for me! The students and teachers were very welcoming and nice and they do not allow bullying or mean behavior. There are also other good schools to consider, as well. Just make sure you choose what is best for your child. It really makes a big difference!


Posted March 13, 2011

I like the layout and and I enjoy the Csmtech program that is so challenging. They have plenty of electives and the sports are great as well.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 11, 2010

if you are not an athlete or at the top of the class no one gives a flying flip about you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2009

I have a child at Clarkston High School and I can't believe how over-crowded the building is. Also, the only sport the A.D. cares about is football and basketball, .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2009

I have found many faculty to be less then average on their subject knowledge and very poor in communicating with parents. the building leadership is very weak
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2009

School has great teachers and pushes its students to achieve the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2009

I went to Clarkston. I think that this school is awsome. I had some of the best teachers in the world.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 9, 2008

The teachers, the cafeteria, performing arts center, library, and sports facilities are great! I loved my four years at Clarkston High School
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 30, 2007

Terrible. It may be a newer building, but it has the same old low Clarkston standards. Good sports, but that is all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2006

There are many academic and extracurricular activites at CHS, but the way the school district works has become highly political in the last few years. CHS has become a totally different environment than it was 8 or so years ago, an not necessarily in a good way.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 5, 2006

My children came from a private school environment into CHS. Academicaly the challenges are equal to any of the best private schools. Athletics are second to none in every sport. Every child is given every opportunity to excell in their interests. We definetly made the RIGHT choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2006

I have attended this school for four years. I absolutely love it. Just like any school, your time here is what you make of it. The school gives you many opportunities to be involved with many after school clubs, sports teams and music programs. There are a lot of kids, and at times it does feel like you are just another student, adn the counselors were not very helpful in the stages of planning for college. However because there are so many kids it teaches you how to make it in the real world, and find a way to get the attention you need because there won't be someone there to hold you're hand in the workplace. I think CHS has a great level of professionalism and has given me the tools I need to make it in the next part of my life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 28, 2006

My children are graduates of 2002 and 2004, the oldest is graduating college this year with a 3.8GPA at a top notch private university and my youngest is maintaining a 3.0 at a Michigan Public University. In High School those are the grade points they graduated with, so I believe that Clarkston High prepares the child for college at the level they work at while in high school. However on the couseling end neither child received any guidance in regards to which university or career to persue, which is a shame. It did not matter whether you were a top notch student or an average student, you did not get guidance unless you asked special for it. Other than the guidance we were very satisfied with the school's ability to prepare my children for the next level of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2005

After several parent-teacher conferences, we feel that our children are merely a number and not an actual face. The college counseling is nearly non-existent for a high school of this size. They instead encourage you to attend other college fairs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2005

Outstanding selection of extracurricular activites. Solid involvement of parents. Moderate mix of academic programs. For as much money and resources as the district has in its power, it has relatively low test scores and college placement as compared to surrounding school districts. The administrative focus is on growth and they have not had to focus on the quality or strength of their academic programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2005

This school has very top notch education. They have all sports and music available and parents can choose to be involved in the way they see fit.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 31, 2005

I am very disappointed in clarkston high. The kids are totally forgotten about unless your parents are rich. The classes and over crowded and no one truly cares about our children. It is a rat races and education is not important its all about the money and who the parents are. Children that come from middle income families are passed a side for the rich kids. What a shame!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2004

Technology and utilities are kept up to date.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2014.

587 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2014.

589 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 28% in 2014.

594 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
41%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 44% in 2014.

595 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

596 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

All Students41%
Female37%
Male44%
African American0%
Asian55%
Hispanic19%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White42%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disabilities5%
Students without disabilities43%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Reading

All Students73%
Female79%
Male67%
African American40%
Asian91%
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities25%
Students without disabilities76%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Science

All Students44%
Female38%
Male49%
African American7%
Asian67%
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White45%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilities5%
Students without disabilities47%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Social Studies

All Students59%
Female55%
Male62%
African American13%
Asian55%
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities5%
Students without disabilities63%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Writing

All Students65%
Female71%
Male61%
African American13%
Asian75%
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities12%
Students without disabilities69%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

96%

Average ACT score

21

Graduation rate

93%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 69%
Hispanic 4% 6%
African-American 3% 18%
Asian 2% 3%
Multiracial 1% 2%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Elizabeth Walker
Fax number
  • (248) 623-3535

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6093 Flemings Lake Rd
Clarkston, MI 48346
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 623-3600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Everest Academy
Clarkston, MI







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT