Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Guardian Angels School

Private | PK-8 | 28 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Clawson

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $90,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 10, 2014

A safe and caring environment. The staff teaches students to respect for themselves and others. Academic instruction is good. We have been very pleased with the academic progress of our child. Good parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

The school is old and could use much upgrading, such as paint and a reliable heating system. Teachers have portable heaters in the classroom and sometimes children need to wear their coats in the classroom. There are some good teachers and some teachers who need to move on. This school needs to follow a structure curriculum. Father Gerry is visible and active in the school and cares about the children.


Posted February 16, 2014

I went to Guardian Angels for 7 years before moving to Shrine Academy in Royal Oak. While I was there, I did experience quite a bit of bullying and ostracism. However, now that I look back, I actually had a pretty good grade school experience. Some of the teachers were strange and not very good, the curriculum was too slow, the Spanish class was too slow, but compared to Shrine, it was so much better. I actually had some teachers that I loved, there were tons of fun activities to try, and people were generally very accepting compared to Shrine. The parents were not cliquey (as they are at Shrine) and the teachers were generally respectful. I had some really bad experiences, but overall I would say that this school can be really good if your child has a very dominant alpha personality.


Posted November 7, 2011

My daughter has been at GA since the 3-year old preschool and is now in the 5th grade. She has become a confident 10 year old and says that GA is like a "big family." There are so many wonderful diverse extracurricular activities for her including band, choir, art club, chess club, science club, sports...and she isn't even in the Academy yet! The curriculum surpasses that of other area schools most importantly, everything is based upon our Catholic roots. The staff is lovely and it's obvious that the teachers are passionate about working with our students. I recommend GA to every parent who wants a loving environment with strong academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2010

I graduated from GA a couple years ago now. I had gone there for school from kindergarten all the way to eighth grade, and I loved every minute of it! The curriculum is challenging and the teachers and staff are so supportive and kind to each student. Kids in our class were far ahead academically of the same grade at the local public schools! I would definitely recommend this school to any parent looking for a good Catholic education. Guardian Angels has a great atmosphere and is filled with wonderful people!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 27, 2010

My children love school and are challenged and supported in a great way by the teachers and staff at Guardian angels School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2008

I currently have 2 children here and they are ahead of the public school I teach in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2004

Have two children at this school and both are doing remarkably well and very happy. I love the school and am thrilled with the environment of high academic standards, commitment of the teaching staff, as well as the exceptional quality of the curriculum offered. My kids will excel here.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 69%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 3%
Multiracial 3% 2%
Hispanic 2% 6%
African-American 1% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Christen Mcmillan
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (248) 589-7356

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Detroit
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

521 East 14 Mile Road
Clawson, MI 48017
Phone: (248) 588-5545

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Japhet School
Madison Heights, MI



Lessenger Elementary School
Madison Heights, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT