Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Clawson Middle School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
The teachers are awesome. They really care about the students. There are many opportunities for students to excel in each class, sports and even music!! Very impressive! Keep up the great work Clawson Middle School!!!!

Clawson Middle School 5

Posted August 05, 2009
- a parent
Clawson Middle School is a great school! I love sending my child here! I live in Pontiac, and I found out that the Clawson School District is in The Oakland County School Of Choice Program. After visiting the Middle School there was no doubt that The Clawson District would provide my child with a high quality education. My child has been in The Clawson District for several years, and really enjoys it. The Clawson District is a great example of what every district in Michigan should look like. Also, if you compare the Clawson Districts testing scores, with other Districts within Oakland County, you will find that their scores are some of the best in Oakland County.


Clawson Middle School 4

Posted August 04, 2009
- a parent
There are a few things that any parent sending their child to CMS should know: 1) the math program here is based on the 'Chicago math' or 'Everyday math' method. Math is not presented in the traditional format, 'learn a concept and do lots of problems every night based on those concepts'. 'Chicago' or 'Everyday' math combines many concepts into story problems to solve relateable, everyday kinds of problems. Many students have a difficult time with this type of math program. I personally think it is very good and requires the children to use critical thinking as well as formulas to solve problems. 2) the CMS school year is based on 6 terms, not 4 semesters. Therefore your child will get 6 report cards and 6 elective choices. I actually think 6 semesters is too disruptive and short to really be effective. The teachers also assign VERY LITTLE homework.

Clawson Middle School 5

Posted January 20, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Clawson Middle School 5

Posted October 12, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Clawson Middle School 5

Posted August 11, 2008
- a student
I love this school it's the best school I've ever been to!!!

Clawson Middle School 5

Posted February 11, 2008
- a student
This is the best school in the world!

Clawson Middle School 0
no rating

Posted January 30, 2008
- a parent
Clawson is a wonderful place to send your child. The teachers are teaching our children how to do things in a college manner not completely on college level thereby affording them the early experience of the way things are done in college. While Clawson is a small city the values of smalltown are still there, the enviornment is positive creating a learning enviornment that your children can appreciate-after all that's what we as parents want- the best for our children and Clawson offers that in its academic as well as extra curricular programs-come see for yourself!


Clawson Middle School 4

Posted June 25, 2007
- a parent
Parental involvement is relatively high at CMS. Clawson is a small town community which lends itself well to the small town feel and personalization that our children recieve at school. Teachers are creative in the styles in which they teach the subject matter. Overall, my two children are very pleased with their Middle School experience.

Clawson Middle School 1

Posted August 01, 2006
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Clawson Middle School
150 John M Avenue, Clawson, MI  48017
(248) 655-4252
Last modified Clawson Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Clawson Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top