Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Kenwood Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted July 05, 2016
- a community member
If teachers spent less time crying and yelling at students, maybe more work could get done in class and children wouldn't have to take home unfinished class work AND homework.

Kenwood Elementary School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted July 05, 2016
- a community member
Some students will ONLY succeed in this school with sheer persistence, grit and determination, and I don't mean that in a good way.


Kenwood Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted July 05, 2016
- a community member
I don't think a school can teach or encourage respect when they don't demonstrate and show by example. Staff at this school does not lead by example in this area.

Kenwood Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted July 05, 2016
- a community member
It's heartbreaking to see a teacher demonstrate such blatant dislike for a child to their face, children are young and inexperienced but not stupid. Showing impatience and dislike for a student openly isn't fair to the CHILD. This school does not foster or encourage respect for one another and being friendly to everyone.

Kenwood Elementary School 1

Posted July 05, 2016
- a community member
Nightmare of a school. It's apparent that the teachers at this school are unhappy and several of the teachers have a very difficult time talking to children without showing their impatience and in some cases their dislike of the student they're talking to. The secretaries in the office are exceptionally rude. The principal spends far too much time playing detective with the kids like he's Matlock trying to figure out who did what wrong rather than acting like authority figure and taking charge of situations teachers can't handle (which is a surprising number of situations at this school). The great teachers don't stay, they move on quickly. My favorite part of this school was leaving.


Kenwood Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted June 29, 2016
- a parent
My son's teachers were cited as a major reason he did not receive testing, because they did not feel there was a significant issue.

Kenwood Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted June 29, 2016
- a parent
Just the opposite. Any determination and self assuredness my son felt was killed at this school.

Kenwood Elementary School 1

Posted June 29, 2016
- a parent
My kids went to Kenwood, and as long as you don't require an IEP, it's fine. However, dispute me repeatedly requesting my son be tested the school refused even though they continually complained about his behavior. I finally took him for private testing and he received multiple diagnoses. We have since left this district and we couldn't be happier.


Kenwood Elementary School 4

Posted January 06, 2012
- a parent
My son loves this school! The teachers are great and take their time with each student. I was a little hesitant at first about the 2 grades in each class, but it has worked out very well. I highly recommend!

Kenwood Elementary School 4

Posted January 07, 2011
- a parent
Very impressed with Kenwood. Love the multi-grade learning concept. Seems like the kids gets to dig deeper into subjects, as they have 2 years to complete studies for required grade levels. Don't worry if your child doesn't completely connect with his teacher, it's not absolute that you're stuck with that teacher for 2 years. But I do find that most parents want their child to be with the same teacher for 2 years. The Principal is very approachable and works with students, parents and staff to make the environment and open and positive environment. It's nice to see a school take a different approach to a learning environment. I would highly recommend you taking the time to explore Kenwood and meet their team. It's worth it!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kenwood Elementary School
240 Nahma Avenue, Clawson, MI  48017
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (248) 655-3838
Last modified Kenwood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top