Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Thecla Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 414 students

 
 

Living in Clinton Township

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $70,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 11, 2014

St. Thecla is an excellent school! Not only are the academics strong, but the spiritual life is grounded in the Catholic faith and there is a great sense of community. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a Catholic school that is welcoming, strong academically, and truly Catholic.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 27, 2013

My family has been at St. Thecla for over 15 years. I have a couple years left and now have children in high school and college. School was not always easy for my children, but with the teacher's support they are doing incredibly well. There are so many wonderful, kind people at St. Thecla. I am grateful for the teachers there and how they have prepared my children for their futures.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2011

It is very unfortunate that St. Thecla continues to be run with the same arrogant attitude that "some students and parents are better than others". Rules are applied at the emotional whim of the current administration and favoritism rules supreme. The narrow mold of children St. Thecla caters to has the potential result of its demise. There is a total lack of Catholic Christian compassion on anyone who fit outside the narrow range the school desires to serve. Many have left and the problems that have driven them away are not being dealt with. It is easy to love a school when your children are the top and everything goes your way. However, if your child needs help, you will be bullied out of there by the current administration which finds it a bother to even follow its own handbook and rules. Unfortunately, many of those who are in denial of current problems and need for change are being used themselves to give glowing reviews of a troubled school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2011

I have been a parent of this school for nine years and have loved everything about it. The teachers are top notch and care 100% for the students. Academically my kids have excelled in every subject and have always had extra help available to them. The students are rewarded in conduct as well as acedemics by being placed on a conduct honor roll. The principal always acts in the best interest of all students and insures all of them have a pleasant learning environment. In the past few years there have been problems with parents that can NOT accept that there kids are disipline problems. This is not the school for children or parents that refuse to accept the rules of the school. The students, teachers, and administration of the school are great. St Thecla church and school has been a great choice for my family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2010

The academics are fine. It's the discipline that's horrible. The staff needs to calm down, and give the students some freedom. When we described our school, we described prison. Our school just made no sense. For example, a friend and I got written up for not folding our hands, They were sacrificial lambs. Also, you can't think for your self. As an example, during study hall, when we can usually work on whatever we want, some teachers force us to do what they want, like do THEIR assignments. We're trying to get everything we can done, they need to give us our freedom. If you don't think and act the exact way they want you to, you'll get in trouble. Also, some of the teachers in junior high are horrible teachers. They don't explain anything, and just blow you off. I only see the principal when she's disciplining someone..


Posted April 22, 2010

our school has a small town feeling which allows everyone to get to know one another. parents can be involved in many areas of their children's education...and that promotes accountability and personal responsibility among the children. also, the academics are driven towards higher learning and critical thinking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2010

Academics are fine, but they all need to relax and let the kids have some freedom. They can't think for themselves, or they somehow get in trouble.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 9, 2009

The great group of parents at St. Thecla work very hard both financially and in volunteering without the ability to have recourse in changing problems. Unfortunately administration is woefully inept and very resistant to new suggestions and ideas. The teaching of the children has been inconsistent at best. Educators range from stubborn and inflexible to top-drawer teacher of the year qualities. It is literally a joke among parents that the even grade are smooth running and good and the odd grades are unreasonable and difficult and need to be endured. The principal finds it a bother to try and met the needs of children when they are not helped by their current teachers. Therefore the school struggles to fulfill responsibilities to all its students. Flexible solutions are not found for the more academically challenged learners. Social justice of the Catholic Tradition is ignored and partiality rules, especially in the music program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2008

I just recently graduated from this fine establishment. I find that this school has much to offer and has a great learning environment. The teachers are always there to help and exceed excellence. St.Thecla is basically a fantastic school for chidren and young teens to learn.


Posted August 25, 2007

I, being a student in 8th grade at St. Thecla School, think that it is a great school. The teachers work their hardest to teach the students the material they need to know. I like how the staff cares for each child equally. If some student needs help in a certain area the teachers will work on it with them until the student feels comfortable with the subject. Overall this is an excellent school, and I highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 13, 2007

As a parent of 3 children to go through St Thecla, 2 of which almost there full nine years from Kindergarten through eighth I would highly recommend this school.The staff truly cares for your children and are highly dedicated. With one child in college and 2 in public high school I can say that is was near 1 1/2 years in public high school before they were challenged with new material they had not already been taught. Parent involvement is required. Extracurricular activities are abundant and the music,art and Physical education program are also wonderful. I continue to recommend them to others for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2006

Having 3 (soon to be 4) children in St. Thecla, in my opinion, is the best thing I could have done for them academically. I know they excel, above public school children, in many areas of learning. They're learning things, that I know my husband or myself don't even know. Parent involvement is mandatory, but it's well worth it. It is a very tight-knit community. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2006

I'm an alumni of St. Thecla & currently send my child there. I can't begin to tell you what a wonderful experience it was for me personally. It's a safe environment that allows a child to be able to focus on what is important. The teachers were and are absolutely wonderful. They are VERY dedicated & care about the future of the children they are teaching. Not only do they focus on the academics but on life skills as well. They are constantly looking to the future & how to improve even more. I would HIGHLY recommend this school to anyone of any faith.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 28, 2005

As a mother I stress about whether I am making the right decisions with my children, especially with their education. My oldest child has been in St. Thecla for 5 years now and we have had the best teachers but I have often wondered what going to the public school in our neighborhood would be like. I had the opportunity to spend time in the school he would be attending and now I am so glad I chose St. Thecla. My youngest will be starting Kindergarten at St. Thecla this week and i can honestly say I am 100 percent sure I have made the right decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2005

My children have been attending St. Thecla for close to 7 years now. I can not say enough positive things about most of the teachers. There are some who go above and beyond for their students. My youngest excels tremendously in their school work and I give credit to the half day Kindergarten teacher. She really knew how to prepare her students. As in all schools there is some 'harassment' among students which I feel should really be stressed of it's negative effects and not be tolerated in any way, shape or form. My children appear to be happy and continue to grow. I will continue to send my children to St. Thecla and honestly have no regrets of doing so thus far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2004

Be careful with testing before Kindergarten. Even though the parent manual mentions nothing about testing scores and enrollment, I received a letter stating my child did not score high enough on the Brigance test and therefore was not welcomed to St. Thecla. I find this ironic since this is a Catholic school and should accept all children. They would not return my calls and were very cold when I finally reached them. This school has a lot to learn about what their focus is as a Catholic school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 71%
Asian 2% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% N/A
Multiracial 2% N/A
African-American 0% 20%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hispanic 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:40 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Lynn Fennell
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (586) 791-2356

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Detroit
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • CYO
Girls sports
  • CYO

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$1000 - $11000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
DeLaSalle
Regina
Cardinal Mooney
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

20762 South Nunneley Rd
Clinton Township, MI 48035
Phone: (586) 791-2170

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Luke Lutheran School
Clinton Township, MI


Charles C. McGlinnen School
Clinton Township, MI


Seminole Academy
Mount Clemens, MI


Ottawa Elementary School
Clinton Township, MI



Walt Disney Elementary School
Clinton Township, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT