Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cherokee Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 622 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 19, 2011

I feel this is a good school. The principle has no direct contact with the parents. the teacher's are great expecially the kindergarten teachers. homework assignments are given weekly for the k class.the teacher interacts well with me as a parent. I have been very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2011

I love the principal at this school. Mrs. Jones is so kind and fair to all the students and helped my son a lot when he really needed it. She always looks out for the needs of the students and tries to make this school the best it can be. I wouldn't take my son anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2011

Principal is phony and runs the school without uniformity. She has her staff all under her spell as she does not truly do things that are best for students. 1. Shuts down library a month before school is over. That promotes reading? 2. Closes the school doors to Park and Rec. That promotes community? 3. Clueless in what is best for students with needs. 4. Negative, negative school newsletters. Give me a break. Is life so dismal? 5. She will make something difficult for you if you let her. If she can make some red tape appear "just because" look out. It's all about her showing her power. Guess she gets off on that. Sad. Chippewa Schools are great but choose a different elementary if you can. Right next door at Erie is run by a fabulous Principal who is very involved and gets what it means to be a parent. The principal at Cherokee has got to be an awful mother in regards to caring and support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

This school is fantastic! I have attended this school for 7 years including preschool. The staff is amazing and there way of teaching and connecting with their students are very unique. They use alot of great technology that allows the kids to interact with the lesson. On the other hand i do agree the principal is a little phony and trys to make situations better by 'smiling.' Overall this is a terrific school to put your kids in.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 23, 2010

I don't believe the school treats all students the same. Some get away with the same things that other students are punished for. Lack of uniformity and concrete consequences for 'all' students. Principal seems phony and more interested in smiling than getting to the root of problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2009

Great school and teachers. As a teacher as well as a parent I want to add that schools do not pick and choose what curriculum to offer. Michigan has specific Grade Level Content Expectations to follow and the district adheres to it. It is often difficult to fit in ALL of the expectations in a school year. If parents want to enhance their child's education with outside language, dance, drama, or other classes ~ fabulous.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

My child has been a student at Cherokee for the past two years. She transitioned from a private school which was very academically oriented. She makes all A's and I'm afraid she is not being challenged. I wish Cherokee has some type of accelerated program as well as foreign language classes and some type of 'Arts' class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2009

My daughther enjoyed her time at this school, she loved her teacher and friends!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2009

A great school with an incredibly hard working staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2009

I have had two boys attend Cherokee through the years. Cherokee is an amazing school. I have one child with a learning disibility and the other with ADD. Both struggle and the staff was amazing at helping develop strategies for learning. I would recommend Cherokee to ANYONE. Like anywhere, if you want it to be better then you have to do your part as a parent. Anyone can complain. Get involved and pull your weight. Above all, have a good attitude. It is contageous.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

I am extremely happy with Cherokee Elementary school. My child was at another elementary School and I specifialy requested him to be school of choice student there. I cannot believe hoe concerned the staff in in making sure my child gets the most out of his education. The principal comes up with so many great ideas to help them succeed like the after school tutoring progtam and the K+ program. Hreat school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2008

Very cold school,many negative complaints by both children and parents. No communication between staff. Poor examples set by principal with children.


Posted May 8, 2006

For Kindergarten-I highly recommend the Kindergarten Plus Program. This has truly enhanced and enforced all that my daughter has learned in Kindergarten. She is reading books by herself already with the help of the K-Plus teachers. Get involved in the volunteer part of the program, it gives you a great idea of whay your child is doing in class and the teachers welcome you. You can be very involved and it truly makes a difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2006

I like cherokee! The staff is wonderful! I only wish more parents would take interest in the pto mettings. Allowing 6 or 10 people make all the choices for the childrens fundraisers is crazy! Parents need to stop complaining and pointing fingers and get to the school and take some action and work together and help run these funtions instead of leaving it up to a few people! Just remeber a 10.00 Ticket for a field trip with out the pto could cost you 20 or 25.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2004

It is only through parents' efforts thar our school will achieve academic excellence. One example is the recent demand by parents of the PACE organization to add honors and accelerated math in the middle and high schools. I don't think many parents even knew that this was not offered. Through a group of a very small amount of parents, these courses will now be offfered beginning in Fall 2004. Through the efforts of few, many will reap!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2004

We've had three daughters attend Cherokee. The school seems to have overcome recent scandle very well. I am disappointed in the amount of fund raisers and the amount of pressure put on the kids to sell.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
9%

2011

 
 
11%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 69%
African-American 11% 18%
Hispanic 6% 6%
Multiracial 6% 2%
Asian 4% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Pam Jones
Fax number
  • (586) 723-4801

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

42900 Rivergate Dr
Clinton Township, MI 48038
Phone: (586) 723-4800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Erie Elementary School
Clinton Township, MI


Montessori Childrens Academy
Clinton Township, MI


Prevail Academy
Mount Clemens, MI





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT