Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Chippewa Valley High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 2447 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 11, 2014

Chippewa is like all schools, where you can't keep all bad out, like pot. But the majority are great kids and they have great education. Both my girls went there and are now Doctors. They are a BLUE RIBBON school, meaning great programs. They have a great medical and IT program, great college prep and advanced courses. Wonderful teachers, and great security (cameras and great police and fire response close.) I find it hard to believe this high school is not rated 8 or higher too...you were wrong to rate lower! This school is also located around a growing community with new homes, no slums, and middle class life style. It should be rated at least a 8.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2014

Before I begin, I would like to point out that parents who think they know what they are talking about because they are adults are wrong(I'm referring,to the ones with bad things to say). To say that this school has a HUGE drug problem is completely false. However, there are people who smoke, but it doesn't affect my education or anyone else's, which I would hope is the main concern. The second problem parents addressed was about the staff. This kind of stuff bothers me. I guarentee the kids that go home and complain to their so easily deceived parents about how they don't understand any of the homework were on their phones the entire class period. The teachers that I have do an excellent job of teaching, however I have more excellerated classes which require more independent work, especially my AP college course class. Students that are convinced their teachers hate them and aren't good at teaching usually approach their education as if it were a punishment and put forth little to no effort. The whole expensive sports thing, that might be true, I dont know, but that can be easily looked up. I recommend taking challenging classes to achieve the best education at Chippewa.


Posted November 30, 2013

Eminem's daughter goes here. That is soooo coool !! Saw him at parent-teacher conferences and nearly sh*t my pants.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 12, 2013

I go there and I absolutely love it. For patents say that teachers don't teach or care, then don't take the stupid classes. If your child wants to be there you'll realize that most teachers care. Take difficult classes and get involved. As for students starting the 9th grade center it's great because I would have been so lost without it. I love it there's lots of activities and things to be involved in.


Posted August 7, 2013

I was surprised to see this was rated 7 out of 10. My daughter has gone to CV for one year and we are really happy. It is a big school so your child can feel quite lost if they don't get involved. I think they could work a bit harder to make the school more welcoming because it is so big. I was also surprised how few parents are directly involved considering its size.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2012

My child has not even gone to this school yet, the child will start at the 9th grade center in the fall of 2012 and I already cringe at the thought of her going there. I've tried to talk my child into going to a different school but the child doesn't want to because of friends. Had contact with counselor and social worker already, boy did they definitely rub me the wrong way on first meeting. I want to stay away from them as far as possible. I read the reviews below and can tell the teachers don't teach just like at Wyandot MS, no communication, all responsibility on child and parent. If something goes wrong, OH WELL, not their fault. Gut feeling tells me to just run away from this district...................As for sports, yeah well if you can afford the high fees and everything that goes with it, good for you, you must be in one of those "cliques" then because that seems to be the only thing that helps a student get along well with the staff, the pets, otherwise you're a looser and not worth the staffs time, priorities are definitely in place all over Chippewa Valley.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2012

Chippewa is a very good school for athletics and sports. You will receive about 4-5 hours of homework a night including studying for tests. I currently have a 3.0 gpa
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2011

CVHS is Actually not anywhere close to being one of the best schools in the state, it is actually ranked at 168 in the state, just so the facts are known, and are correct.


Posted August 4, 2011

Terrible school with a huge drug problem and principal could care less about student safety!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2010

Chippewa (9th grade center) is terrible! Straight-up. Most of the teachers DO NOT teach you. They give you an assignment and expect YOU to figure out everything for yourself. Finals and mid-terms count for too much of your overall grade. There is an OVERWHELMING amount of homework in every class (every day!). I have personally stayed up until 3am many-a-night, and I know other students who have done the same. This is an UNWELCOMING, unfriendly school. The students are overly preoccupied with sex. I was a victim of CONSTANT sexual harassment, and the administration did NOTHING about it. The male students definitely objectify certain females. If this sounds good to you, then CVHS/Chippewa Valley is your school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 29, 2009

I'm a former CVHS student and I'm happy with the education I received. I never realized how ahead of the game Chippewa put us until I got to college, and I was so grateful for that. I always excelled at CVHS, but it can be a hard school for students who are doing poorly because they are always dismissed because all that matters at CVHS is being the best. However, some of the teachers at CVHS are great to all students and truly make the experience worthwhile. I am now in college with people from other schools in the area and they talk about CVHS and how they were constantly told how amazing it was by the teachers in their home schools. This place is just doing a lot of things right.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 17, 2009

I'm a former student. I had some fantastic teachers that I still keep up with, but also some terrible ones. Overall though, it was a decent place.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 5, 2009

Nothing spectacular here, I felt lost in the crowd. I was a former honor role student who dropped off the radar when attending CVHS. I did have a few teachers who made a difference, but the rest were just there to collect paychecks.


Posted May 15, 2008

As others have said, the school is pretty 'clicky'. But, however, it is easy to make friends because the students are very nice. As with every school, we have our share of bad teachers but about 95% of our teachers are very helpful and will also help if you are having troubles. Its unfair to say that the school is too 'clicky' because personally, I have found that if you at least TRY to make friends, you are almost guaranteed to. Our sports and outside activities are great, and about everybody can find some activity that they are interested in
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 5, 2008

Students at CVHS are just like any other high-school kids- they're clicky, they're abusive, and many of them are just not good people. It is safer, and less fights have broken out, than in Sakota, but it is stuill just a high school. I'd like to also invite all CVHS students to participate in the Day of Silence. Please visit studentorginazation.org to learn more.but
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2007

I think Chippewa is an excellent school, the teachers are amazing and the students are awesome. No other high school will welcome you like Chippewa.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2007

I, too, found CVHS 'clicky'. This interferred with my daughter's appropriate learning. Since changing schools she is back on the honor roll.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2005

As a college-bound graduate of CVHS, I have found that the programs that CVHS had to offer did not allow myself or many others to have the appropriate tools to succeed at college. The school is extremely 'clicky,' and only those who are rich or have power within the community are treated properly.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2004

I think this school is wonderful learning environment for kids, has a well known reputation for being one of the best schools in the state. The teaching skills used here are very well developed. I have known a major change in my three childrens learning capabilities since moving to this district. They are more able to flow freely with their work with no hassles and frustration.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

589 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
23%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2014.

570 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
22%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2014.

570 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 28% in 2014.

570 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
22%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 44% in 2014.

570 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
40%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

570 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

All Students29%
Female22%
Male35%
African American5%
Asian35%
Hispanic9%
Multiracial23%
Native Americann/a
White33%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Students with disabilities2%
Students without disabilities32%
English language learners11%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Reading

All Students61%
Female66%
Male56%
African American37%
Asian59%
Hispanic55%
Multiracial59%
Native Americann/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities13%
Students without disabilities67%
English language learners26%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Science

All Students25%
Female19%
Male31%
African American7%
Asian35%
Hispanic27%
Multiracial14%
Native Americann/a
White28%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Students with disabilities3%
Students without disabilities27%
English language learners7%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Social Studies

All Students48%
Female40%
Male56%
African American27%
Asian59%
Hispanic55%
Multiracial46%
Native Americann/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities8%
Students without disabilities53%
English language learners19%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Writing

All Students52%
Female56%
Male48%
African American26%
Asian53%
Hispanic27%
Multiracial32%
Native Americann/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities5%
Students without disabilities58%
English language learners26%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

96%

Average ACT score

19

Graduation rate

89%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 69%
African-American 13% 18%
Multiracial 4% 2%
Hispanic 3% 6%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 30%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Jerry Davisson
Fax number
  • (586) 723-2301

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18300 19 Mile Rd
Clinton Township, MI 48038
Phone: (586) 723-2300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

International Academy Of Macomb
Clinton Township, MI


Macomb Academy
Clinton Township, MI




Mount Clemens High School
Mount Clemens, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT