Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wyandot Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 981 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 2, 2013

I have gone through two years of Wyandot and I'm about to start 8th grade tomorrow. I have never had any problems about Wyandot and I always come home with a smile because of my friends and my teachers' support. I am mostly fond of the assistant principle Mr. Joe Connolly for having a great sense of humor and always helping kids out and having fun with the kids by putting on dodge ball and basketball games each year for fundraisers. I LOVE Wyandot!!!!!! If are are sending your child to this wonderful school. They will always be supervised by teachers at after school clubs such as the hawk singers, volunteens, drama, ski club, bowling club, etc. The teachers are very helpful and kind and they will do their best to support your child's education. The sports programs are also very fun. I myself did football and had a blast, and will be trying out for the 8th grade basketball team in the winter. Coming from me, a STUDENT and any other kid at the school right now, you should send your kid to Wyandot Middle School. Don't listen to the 1 star reviews because they DON'T know what they're talking about! BUT I DO! So send your child to Wyandot Middle School!!!! - Submitted by a Student


Posted June 5, 2013

This was y daughters first year at Wyandot and she LOVES this school. It has so many things for her to get involved in as a 6th grader and now with next year so much more. So thankful for the wonderful staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2013

I have been at Wyandot since sixth grade and am about to move on to high school. My expierience at Wyandot has NOT always been very great. Although for the most part my teachers have been great but my learning expierience has in most cases been awful. The first thing i'd say if you are moving your child from an Elementary School to Wyandot you SHOULD ttryout for advanced Math. I was in regular Math and found it way to easy and slow-pased. The teachings really did not feel like they should have and do not help you get ready for high school. This goes for many other classes aswell. Next to principals, there are currently two assistant and one main one. The main one seems, from my perspective, to sit at her desk all day and I say that because I have only seen her about eight days after going to the school for three years. The assistant principals seem to be alright, sometimes punishments can be harsh but seems alright. Next you may think this is ridiculous but pack your own lunches. They are now doing a 'Stay Heathy!' program but I think if Pizza and frozen food are served every day it is pretty unhealthy. Finally, Wyandot is a okay choice of a school although there other choices.


Posted July 13, 2012

My child has attended this school for 6-7-8 grades. It is finally over. The child has had nothing but peer pressure from this school. Everyones in a clique, even the vice-prinicpal, MrConnolly. Even though my child had disability issues didn't matter, homeroom teacher was a b...h to both of us, never even met the prinicpal except for "Parent Curriculum Night" even when my child was suspended from school no prinicpal was found to be anywhere. Bullying issues all through the grades, school counselor was useless. Watch your children in the after school programs, no teacher responsibility there. That is where my child got in trouble and it's all my fault. The teacher in charge takes no responsibility for. Now I have to watch my child in after school programs if she wants to attend them......yeah right. I'm certainly not going out of my way for Chippewa Valley schools at all, they don't deserve my respect or parent involvement, they are nothing but egostical people that worry about the stats and money. Loosers if you ask me!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2012

This school has a principal that could care less. There are a group of bullies that continually harass the children and the teachers are so non-communicative. Parents beware if you plan on sending your child to this institution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2010

This is my 3 year at Wyandot.This is such a wonderful school the teachers are amazing and if you have an idea the teachers always think about doing it in class. There are alot of after school activities and events. If you are looking for a middle school go to Wyandot Middle School. Wyandot Middle School Student


Posted April 22, 2010

Wyandot has wonderful caring teachers that put the childrens education above all else. My daughter has truly blossomed in the three years she has been there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2009

This is my second year at Wyandot; I am in seventh grade. With my experience, I believe Wyandot is a great place for learning. The teachers and staff are helpful, for example, Lynn Saieg and Liz Skawski. Wyandot has recently finished construction and has a beautiful new main entrance and office. Extracurricular activities vary, and include Science Olympiad, Volunteens, Student Council, sports teams in both genders, drama, and more. There are plenty of opportunities here. Wyandot can provide a healthy learning environment for kids, as long as they make the right choices. You'll always feel at home when you're at Wyandot Middle School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 20, 2007

I am a student in Wyandot eighth grade. My experiences in this school have been limited, as I transferred, this year, from Seneca MS, but on the whole I have found this school to be of an average quality for public schools. The teachers I have this year have been mostly supportive and helpful, particularly Joy Clapsaddle. The extracurricular activities offered are varied and interesting, from plays to track, relay for life to Volunteens. While the school has an inordinate amount of problems, as far as I can tell and compared with my other middle school experiences, it seems to be a stable learning environment. Parents, make sure your kids do not attach themselves to bad influences, and I'm sure their school experiences will be decent in this school.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

295 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

298 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

311 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
20%

2013

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
28%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

303 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

300 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

301 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

318 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

312 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

336 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
14%

2013

 
 
9%

2011

 
 
11%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 69%
African-American 14% 18%
Hispanic 3% 6%
Multiracial 3% 2%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian 1% 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Darleen Sims
Fax number
  • (586) 723-4201

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

39490 Garfield Rd
Clinton Township, MI 48038
Phone: (586) 723-4200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Algonquin Middle School
Clinton Township, MI



Parkway Christian School
Sterling Heights, MI


Parkway Christian School
Sterling Heights, MI


St Luke Lutheran Church & School
Charter Township of Clinton, MI


St. Thecla Catholic School
Charter Township of Clinton, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT