Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Colon High School

Public | 7-12 | 250 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 8, 2013

I am a student here and I have to say that I haven't been completely happy with what I have had to go through with this school. The office faculty and leadership isn't very professional. I have had numerous problems with communication with the office workers. I also seem to have problems with my schedule every year. Some of the workers are condescending. The school work isn't very hard and I have heard a lot of people say they go to college unprepared. On the brighter side, the school has just been renovated, so the building is very nice and also, the teachers are really nice. However, I would not recommend going to this school.


Posted August 26, 2011

I am a student and I LOVE it there! Amazing teachers, they care about us like we are their own children.


Posted July 30, 2010

I am a student at Colon High School. I believe that Colon is the best school I could have ever went to. I am in the eleventh grade for the 2010-2011 school year, and the teachers are AMAZING! They love us. And we create strong bonds amongst each other. The principal is alittle iffy right now, in my opinion, due to her calling the class of 2010s graduation, "her graduation." My fellow peers are pretty much what you would find at every school, except we know everything about everyone here. Im in an advanced placement math class, College Algebra, so I would say that they are challenging academic programs :) Please dont hate on Colon. Its an amazing school. I love it here.


Posted April 20, 2010

The teachers care about the kids like no other school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2010

Great teachers who care about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2009

This school has potential because of a couple of amazing teachers. However, the curriculum of this school is way below avreage. When the kids go to college, they will automatically be behind. It is way too easy, to be frank. Also, some of the people in the administration, should not be there. But keep it up! ;)
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 27, 2009

I believe the teachers and administration are trying to do their best at Colon Schools. The facilites are in great need of updates however the community consists of many retired people and, unfortunately, many with lackadaisical attitudes towards education. A bond issue needs to be supported by the community as a whole and there needs to be that recognition that improving your schools improves your entire community. With tightening budgets from the State it is difficult to spend money on bandaiding problems that really require quite a lot of money to fix. Our school could qualify for some technology grants so that, for instance, all students could have laptops for use but when the rooms have only one or two working outlets (the norm when the buildings were built) this just won't work. It's time for the residents of Colon to step up and support the kids of Colon Schools!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2008

As a graduate of Colon, I got to see the ups and down of living in a small town. Sure coming from a small school that offers no AP classes makes it hard in college, but hard work and working through adversity defines who we are. There are some pretty terrible teachers. But they are out weighed with some of the best teachers that have ever existed. A severe lack of funding plagues this school as the building falls apart and the great teachers leave to find a contract. I believe that this school is ok though. I was able to enter a large University's prestigious honors college and I am doing well. Success from Colon is possible.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 22, 2008

I love this school! The teachers are great,I love everything about it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 28, 2007

This school is a joke. If you have a child attending Colon schools, get them out asap. The younger the child the less damage they have inflicted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2007

Colon High is not a very good school. They lack the funding and love of learning. Children are treated like children even when they are Seniors. They show favoritism and don't do well with new students. I pulled my child out of there after she came home saying a certain teacher looked down on her because of her 'circumstances'. A teacher is suppose to be a mentor not a bully.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2007

I would have to say certain things are correct about this school system and certain things are incorrect. But the grass is always greener on the other side... In my opinion, certain teachers are amazing here and cannot be found anywhere else. These individuals care immensely about student welfare, and strive to make learning interesting. On the other hand, some teachers are not held to any visible standards at all, and their curriculum visibly lacks. The building has ups and downs, the wires are there, and certain things should definitely be updated, a millage could be passed and a new building built, but they could just as easily fix what is there. There are no advanced placement classes available, and 'testing out' is minimal at best, and going ahead is very limited. Off campus learning is available in the form of BACC.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 11, 2007

I have 3 kids in this school. Some teachers are great teachers, others are only there because they can't be fired, and need to be. If you have a child who learns easy, then it's a great school. If you have a child (like one of mine) who has learning problems, then good luck getting help. They don't have the funding or resources to properly spend the time on those kids that need extra help. The technology in this school is at least 10 yrs behind other schools. I have compared what my kids are learning in elementary compared to other schools, and we are way behind them. Our children are falling behind! My 12 yr old just told me the other day that they wouldn't ever get a new school, because people in Colon just don't care about the kids. That's how most the kids feel. How sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2005

Our school has nothing wrong with it's building. Who cares if it's a little old. I feel comfortable during which ever season and there are NOT cords poking out of the walls. I feel find with stop, drop, and roll. We don't need sprinklers. All my teachers are real cool and help me when I need it. I would not want to go anywhere other than CHS.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 20, 2005

Colon High School is a faulous learning center. I have two daughters who go to school there and they are both doing very well. The teachers are very helpful and care about the student themselves, as well as succeeding in school. I agree the school could use some fixing up but as far as I am concerned the school is handling its problems one at a time and things seem to be getting better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2005

Like other reviews have said, the school does has some great teachers, as well as some great students... But being a 'great' school it should be more then just good teachers, it should be the subjects taught, the building, the funding and all. This school does put way too much into the athletic department... There are leaks in the hallways, leaks in certain rooms, a mighty old heater... the building itself is just crazy. There are wires poking out of the ceilings, orange chords running along the ceilings down the hall, and no sort of sprinkler system incase of a fire. They got all new computers for there cad class, new uniforms for there track team... and who knows what else, and still know fixes to the school. The building is falling apart, the teachers are good, the funding is a joke, and theres hardly any money into there arts.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 20, 2005

I disagree that CHS is not a good school. I believe that Colon has MANY good teachers. The building does need upgrading. There are many very talented students coming from Colon High School. I do feel however that TOO MUCH emphasis is put into the athletic department, and not enough support is going to the art and music departments. I believe this is a common problem in small communities. Parents that want more emphasis on the arts won't say so,for fear of ruffling someones feathers. Parents need to speak out more, and I don't mean nit-pick or whine. We should all speak honestly and teach that to our children as well! Colon is a good small town school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2005

The school building is in disrepair and the community will not pass a millage for a new building. There are some very good teachers, for the most part though it is nota good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
11%

2011

 
 
11%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
12%

2011

 
 
0%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
19%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2014.

28 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
9%

2011

 
 
12%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2014.

28 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 28% in 2014.

28 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
11%

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
11%

2011

 
 
21%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 44% in 2014.

29 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
49%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

28 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

All Students21%
Female0%
Male40%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White21%
Economically disadvantaged9%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Reading

All Students43%
Female39%
Male47%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Science

All Students11%
Female0%
Male20%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White11%
Economically disadvantaged0%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities14%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Social Studies

All Students52%
Female31%
Male69%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities65%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Writing

All Students39%
Female23%
Male53%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White39%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

98%

Average ACT score

18

Graduation rate

94%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 69%
Hispanic 3% 6%
Multiracial 2% 2%
African-American 0% 18%
American Indian N/A 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Debra Swartz
Fax number
  • (269) 432-9851

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

400 Dallas Street
Colon, MI 49040
Website: Click here
Phone: (269) 432-3231

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Leonidas School
Leonidas, MI






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT