Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

James R Geisler Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 805 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 4, 2014

I go to this school and I'd like to state that if you want a school that interacts with your child, then come to this school. A big compliment on Mrs. Haver, she does all she can to make sure you understand what you are learning. I had Mrs. McDonald, she is just like Mrs. Haver, she is a great teacher. The principle is nice, nicer than any other one I have had! (that's REALLY nice!) I recommend this school to people who need the teachers to help their child in any way possible.


Posted April 2, 2014

Interactive, considerate, willing to communicate with parents, attentive, supportive, educational. A place i am happy to send my child. Great teachers. I do wish some of the teachers would be more interactive on their websites but i know they are overloaded so i cut them some slack. The school improves with every year my daughter has been there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2012

i was 7th grade and this was my first year at GMS and it was a fun year i played soccer and it was fun the food is great. the teachers make you feel welcome and they help you so much that when you are done with the lesson you well know every thing in the chapter your in. the school is so big that you have to ask teachers where your class is. the school is right next to walled lake western so your kid will look forward to going to high school. your kid can take french or spansh so that is a good thing and you shoud bring your kid to this schoolnand he or her will like it.


Posted December 11, 2009

Wow...I don't even know where to start!! GMS is such a fun school that you'll never want to leave. The teachers really care about you and show everyone that learning can be great fun. The principal and assistant principals are so friendly, and bullying or harrassing at Geisler is never tolerated. Fun assemblies. Pricey but delicious food. Long line of electives to choose from. Oodles of new friends made every day. Diverse students of all races and religions. If you are looking for a good middle school to put your kids into, pick Geisler-I promise you they'll love it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 23, 2009

Very good school which offers a well rounded education to the children. The student population is diverse with a variety of cultures and nationalities. It would benefit the school further to offer ongoing diversity training to staff in relating to this growing diverse student population. All in all its an excellent school!


Posted September 11, 2009

geisler middle school is a cool skool and im a 7th grader... when i was in 6th grade they really welcomed everyone NO BULLYING, NO HARRASSIN, NO FIGHTING! its a really safe and fun skool! GMSROX!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 20, 2009

I have been attending Geisler Middle School ever since '06. The teachers are pretty cool. They always know how to explain things well to the students. The school is great, and has an excellent curriculum. I think every child in the Walled Lake district should attend this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 15, 2008

Al of the teachers at this scool are extrordinary!! I'm only in sixth grade so I dont know 7th and 8th grade teachers, but I do know that mr .spickard is very nice and mrs. booker is also a great teacer she teaches you the basic stratigies to being a succsessful middle scool student, while still teaching english and social studies!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 5, 2008

My child has been attending Geisler since 2006 school year. He said it was really fun to attend. All the teachers are very nice and help students with their problems. He is also on the AAL (laptop) program and it is a pretty good way to help all kids learn. There is always something here at Geisler for everyone. The spring variety show is always a good enjoyment for all, along with athletics, choirs, and a show called Record Mimes. I knew this was a great school just by seeing this for the first time when my child's class went to WLMS (now Geisler) as a field trip. It is really diverse between students and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2008

This is a great school. I was in the laptop program in 6th grade and it was a great success. I am now in 8th grade and we still ue laptops but not as offten the teachers are great and really help. The couslers help out too with any problem their may be and the food expically the choclate chip cookies (3 for a 1$) I would rate this a 8 out of 10 school too.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 14, 2007

I really enjoy coming 2 school at GMS! The techers r very nice and yes they r strick and give alot of homework out well thats there job isnt it ? If u get 2 know the techers and the some students u willl love it, truth me!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 26, 2007

Way too much drama between students. The teachers have favorites. Lots of fighting. I took my child out of that horrible school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2006

My daughter has been attending Walled Lake Middle since October of 2005. The student population is very diverse however the staff is not representational of the student population. I would also like to see more hands on experiences and outside projects. My daughter feels that some of the instructional staff are not approachable and often do not accomodate differnt student needs. I think some attention to these areas would really improve student achievement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2005

Our oldest child started at Walled Lake Middle School in the Fall of 2004. She really loves the overall experience. They had to make a lot of Class Schedule changes at the beginning of the year when they added additional teachers and tried to evenly distributed the kids in the classes. Academically she has found the classes challenging but managable. She in on the Laptop (AAL) program, which was worth it for the first year, but I have heard they need to develop its use for the 7th & 8th Grades. I will update my comment on the Laptop program once the new school year starts. She raves how good the lunch food is, especially the salad bar.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

191 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

194 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

207 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

244 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

242 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

242 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

252 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

247 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

262 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 69%
African-American 18% 18%
Asian 10% 3%
Hispanic 4% 6%
Multiracial 2% 2%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sheryl Kennedy
Fax number
  • (248) 956-2905

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

46720 West Pontiac Trail
Commerce Township, MI 48390
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 956-2900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT