Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Walled Lake Central High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1800 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 16, 2013

My older daughter graduated in 2012, I have a younger daughter who is a Junior, and I graduated from Walled Lake Centeral. I would rate this school top notch. My older daughter is a well-rounded, ready to take on challenges, confident, prepared young adult. I liked the schools focus on AP classes, which set my daughter up to be ahead of the game, and on the road to success. Not only to meet expectations that college, but to exceed them. My younger daughter has received guidance from her teachers and from staff to help her succeed. She went through a personal issue that would have buried anyone else in the same situation. Her counselor was amazing, working to create a network of all of her teachers, to help her get through the toughest time in her life. It could have gone one of two ways. With the help of everyone at the school, they created an environment that she could continue to thrive, without letting this situation define her as a person. Her counselor kept focus on her success, and being "on-call" when needed. Excellent job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2012

This school is an good school to go to but there are ALOT of racial issues. They even had the police up here this very because the blacks and Chaldeans were about to fight. This school provides a good education but the racial problem is ridiculous. the blacks tend to only hang with black, the chaldeans with their own and white with there own. People mix with each other a little but everyone has there own group. The education though is great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 14, 2011

As a student I think this school is amazing and really big and it has a lot to offer for the students... I am Chaldean person and Chaldeans are minority where I live , but however I got along and everyone was very helpful and nice with me... and the best thing in the school is the ESL classes and programs which helped me a lot in learning the language (I'm an immigrant). so I think the school is perfect and I'm doing very well and having fun there everyday.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 4, 2009

It's spacious, has great teachers, and provides a very satisfactory education!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 16, 2009

I love attending central! There really is a fantastic line up of classes and some great teachers. Yes there have been a few issues but overall it's a positive atmosphere.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 7, 2009

Central was a horrible school to go to i went till the middle of 10th and dropped out and home schooled. There are too many racial issues and two many cliques and groups. They say its diverse yea but none gets along.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 30, 2009

My daughter graduated from Central this year (2009). She has had great opportunities here. They have an amazing offering of classes; including Forensic Science, Jewelry design, Environmental Science, and many different art, language, and other special classes. Nearly all of her teachers have been wonderful, caring and helpful whenever she had trouble. Central houses the districts autistic program, my daughter has learned alot about special needs kids by getting the chance to help with them for an elective class. She loved going to Central and I'm sure she will miss the teachers, administrators and the school in general. As a side note 10% of the graduating class this year had a 4.0 GPA or higher. It s a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2009

I loved this High School. Class of '06. Great atmoshpere and this is where my kids will go to school.


Posted February 19, 2009

I absolutely loved this high school. I graduated in 2007 and am currently in college. I had a great education here which prepared me exceptionally for college. Various opportunities are given, a support system when you need one, and a professional atmosphere all added to the success of my high school career. I would recommend this high school and send my own as well!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 22, 2008

Compared to other high schools I have visited and had friends attend, central is an excellent school. Very diverse student body and teaching staff. Excellently run student council and community service programs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 5, 2008

I graduated from WLC. Excellent teachers who care about the students. Very clean and professional looking. I received an excellent education and was prepared for life after High School as well as could be. When I have kids THIS is where they will go to school hands down. I attended another High School for 9th grade. After my family moved I spent the following 3 years at Central. I know how big of an upgrade this school was. My old school teachers did not care at all... so I didn't care either and was actually failing. After the move to Central I was literally blown away at the difference and as a result of a better environment I ended up having a B average at this school. I can't say enough about what Central meant to me and how different my life is compared to how it would have been.


Posted May 13, 2008

i go to central high school i think it is alot of racial problems in this school and alot of different races dont get along with each other . i do not recommend this school
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 6, 2005

This is a great school. The Staff is great. The teachers are really involved with the students. The students all seem to get along.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2004

I have had two exchange students at Central and the school has been most Welcoming. They show great care with their students. My students take home a full year of memories and views of the American education system all formed at Central. I am proud my community has such a school to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

458 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2014.

408 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2014.

408 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 28% in 2014.

409 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
33%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 44% in 2014.

408 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

409 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

All Students39%
Female35%
Male42%
African American15%
Asian60%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White41%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Students with disabilities17%
Students without disabilities41%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Reading

All Students67%
Female70%
Male64%
African American48%
Asian67%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities32%
Students without disabilities71%
English language learners19%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Science

All Students34%
Female28%
Male40%
African American7%
Asian53%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White38%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Students with disabilities17%
Students without disabilities36%
English language learners3%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Social Studies

All Students55%
Female54%
Male55%
African American39%
Asian67%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities22%
Students without disabilities58%
English language learners8%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Writing

All Students66%
Female73%
Male60%
African American39%
Asian75%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities24%
Students without disabilities71%
English language learners8%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

93%

Average ACT score

21

Graduation rate

90%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 69%
African-American 11% 18%
Asian 4% 3%
Hispanic 1% 6%
American Indian 0% 1%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 26%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Walnut Creek Middle
Geisler Middle School
Sarah Banks Middle School
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Michigan Blue Ribbon Exemplary School (2003)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:15 am
School end time
  • 2:19 pm
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Charles Morgan
Fax number
  • (248) 956-4718

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Ice Hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Water polo
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • ice Hockey

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • We have a strong and focused ptsa organization. our parents are extremely visible and always welcomed here at central.
More from this school
  • Our Michigan Merit Exam scores exceed the average scores across Oakland County and the State of Michigan. Our ACT scores exceed the averages for the state, county, and nation. Walled Lake Central is an extremely caring and welcoming educational environment. All teachers welcome parental involvement and consistent communication between home and school. We are a team in ensuring the future success of your child(ren).
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Walnut Creek Middle
Geisler Middle School
Sarah Banks Middle School

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Michigan State University
The University of Michigan Ann Arbor
Western Michigan University
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1600 East Oakley Park Rd
Commerce Township, MI 48390
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 956-4700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Walled Lake Northern High School
Commerce Township, MI


W-A-Y Oakland
Wixom, MI



Walled Lake Western High School
Commerce Township, MI


Frankel Jewish Academy
West Bloomfield, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT