Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Davisburg Elementary School

Public | K-6 & ungraded | 377 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 13, 2014

Honestly, I cannot for the life of me understand the negative comments about Davisburg Elementary School. We moved from the district and I continued my children s enrollment because it is such a wonderful learning environment. I think the negative comments are from a bunch whiner s. The comments about inadequate security are ludicrous. Davisburg is a tiny town. Most of the community is on a first name basis with all the teachers and staff. We don t need international airport style security imposed on parents- the sign in is enforced and adequate. I m sorry to the lady whose kid got his feelings hurt and to the lady whose kid encountered a bully, but that s part of life. We all don t get to be number one and sometimes we encounter mean humans. It s part of life when you are eight and when you are eighty. Davisburg El. has a strong anti-bullying campaign; I think the poster was being dramatic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2014

This school is a mess. There is no organization whatsoever. The principe offers minimal communication with parents. There are not many emails sent out, not enough opportunities for parents to get involved which this school appears to need badly. Also something that really bothers me about this school is the absolute lack of monitoring of who comes in and out of the building. They do have to buzz you into the building but once in they don't care who you are or what you're doing. They have a daycare in the building and I see people walking in and put without singing in all the time. The receptionists don't seem to care and actually I picked my child up from school crying recently, he was physically and verbally being attacked by two other students and the receptionist I spoke to treated me like I was the issue not the bullying. No one ever bothered to find the child who physically hit my child. Needless to say we are switching schools next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2014

Davisburg Elementary is known for being one of the best elementary schools in Holly Area School District. All of my children have attended here. We are very pleased with the staff, the curriculum and the atmosphere. Below I read I few reviews that actually made me chuckle. The one that says she took her kids out of here because she doesn't want them in college with an elementary school education made me laugh! This IS an elementary school. THEY WILL be getting an "elementary" education. And in middle school, they get a MIDDLE SCHOOL education. In high school they receive a HIGH SCHOOL education. All jokes aside, this is a very good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2014

My boys attend the young 5's program. I have no issues w the teachers they are great. My issue is communication w the principle not having time to meet w us as concerned parents or not even following up w a phone call..do to this reason I have enrolled my son's in a different school district and it's sad to say we are now looking for a new house and are searching in other districts..so to summarize I feel the teachers are great the principle not so much!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2013

Disappointed there was no Halloween parade in the school because of the rain, in previous years we would have it in the gym. Disappointed that they took the microwave ovens, so kids could not warm up pizza. I am disappointed that there is no explanation of reason for the changes. I am disappointed my son was in the hospital and was out of school for a week and his homework sat on the secretary's desk with no one caring enough to call me and telling me it was there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2009

Davisburg Elementary provides a wonderful, positive learning environment! Both of my children are developing intellectually, with high regard to responsibility and respect. The best part... they love school!!! I believe this is due to the staff's upbeat professionalism. The principal and teachers are delightful role models! I'm very thankful for the involvement of esteem building within the curriculum. I receive many compliments on how pleasant and well mannered my children are. This behavior is encouraged and supported by the staff at Davisburg Elementary. As for parent involvement... the Davisburg Parent-Teacher Connection (PTC) is second to none in regards to providing opportunities for parents and students alike. The PTC really supports the concept of how important the family and community is to a child's development. We are thrilled with the education and community involvement that Davisburg Elementary provides!! *Just a note: The Student of the Month program has been eliminated.* Excellent School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2009

The only thing that upsets me greatly about this school is the unfairness they have when they choose a student of the month. I had to watch my son cry every month because he is never OR has never been picked for a studen of the month and he has no idea why - I think its unfair to point out and say 1 child is better than the other. -


Posted January 30, 2009

I can't begin to explain the difference between Davisburg and the last school my children attended. I feel welcome here, my children feel welcome here, and I feel like both of their teachers are happy to answer any questions I have. Davisburg has something you feel when you walk in the door. It is smiles, excitement, and caring. My children are challenged and happy and learning so much more than they did in the past three years (two years for my younger child). It's worth my drive from out of the district every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2008

Once again, my children have started the year at Davisburg Elementary with smiles on their faces. Both of them couldn't wait for school to start (which hurt my feelings a little, but that's OK)! We choose to transport them to Davisburg although we live out of district, and can't begin to explain the quality of education in comparison to our home school in a neighboring district. In the two years they have been there, they have gone from average work to above grade level work, scoring in the highest category of standardized tests. In addition, the art, music and gym programs are great, and I am welcomed into the school at any time, rather than feeling like an outsider. Great job, Davisburg!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2008

Very substandard levels at Davisburg, sure, your child might have fun and like the friendly teachers- but education isn't number one there- you would be surprised what your children are not learning by attending this school. I don't want my kids to start college and have elementary grade levels- which is where Davisburg leaves you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2008

Davisburg Elementary is a great school. There are many other options for schooling in the area including private and charter but we choose to stay at Davisburg because of the overall picture. The teachers, parents and staff are all wonderful. Every child is made to feel special. Lots of activities for the kids. My kids are above average in reading, writing and math and I owe this all to Davisburg Elementary and their great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2008

My son came to this school after attending private school. Its true, the staff are wonderful and make everything fun - and that hides that there is not much going on. No homework, no academic standards other than teaching what will be on the MEAP. They try to teach everthing with fun and games. My son loved this school. and in 6 months, had not learned one new thing. I had to pull him out or he would have ended up happy but academically behind his peers in other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2007

We love Davisburg Elementary. The academic programs are excellent and are 'tailored' to your childs specific needs....something not available in many schools. Extracurricular activities are great, especially the art and physical education programs. Parent involvement has always been outstanding. The 'Parent Teacher Connection' produces the following annual events: Art/Music Fair, Science Fair, Author readings, Fun Fair, Fall Festival, Talent Show, Davisburg Dance Night, Santa's Secret Shop (where kids meet to make presents for their parents), 5th Grade Farewell and much more. A Wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2007

I believe Davisburg Elementary is the best school in our area. I feel so strongly about this that I drive my daughter there every morning, even though we are out of district. The teachers truly love what they are doing, smiles, run rampant throughout the school. This school is a school where everyone knows your name and cares about you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2006

Great School! Your child will not only be educated, but will also have good character. This school actually teaches Character Education about being responsible, caring, respectful, self-directed individuals. This school not only welcomes parent involvement, it encourages it. Student have well rounded education including gym, music, art, technology & library 1-2 times every week. Teaching staff is highly qualified and nurturing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2005

I am glad to see good 'ol Davisburg El has not changed since I was a student in the late 70's. my 3 son's do (& did) attend this school. The teachers are great as well as the entire staff. Lots of activity along with educational games, lots of reading & learning one on one time too! My children love this school, me too. Davisburg is the right mixure of fun inside learning. Their pick up / drop off service is great.. I wish they had that 5 years ago with my first son!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2004

I fondly remember my days at Davisburg. The teachers and staff are wonderful people with caring hearts. Great programs like 4th grade michigan musical, 5th grade camp, and reading recovery. I am so glad that my sister is gfoing to have a great start at Davisburg!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 24, 2004

My daughter attended Davisburg from kindergarten through 5th grade and we have been extremely pleased with the overall quality of the school. The teachers are wonderful and truly care about the students. There are many extracurricular activities (such as lego leagues, chess club, Destination Imagination) I highly recommend the school- we love it here.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

43 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

43 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

43 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

53 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 69%
Hispanic 5% 6%
African-American 1% 18%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 28%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Kimberly Hempton
Fax number
  • (248) 328-3504

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12003 Davisburg Rd
Davisburg, MI 48350
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 328-3500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Cedar Crest Academy
Clarkston, MI






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT