Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hill Elementary School

Public | K-4 | 276 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 6, 2010

As I read through the reviews posted by other parents and staff I'm afraid I will have to beg to differ. I am a parent who chose to remove my children from Hill . All the reasons listed on the other reviews were all the reasons we chose Hill for our children, the family atmosphere and the excelled education. But what happens when your child is struggling? It took a FULL SCHOOL YEAR to have our child finally tested for LD and had to switch schools to receive the help needed. This was just due to ADD, she just needed help in math. So please parents keep in mind, this school is not your family, you are your child's family and true advocate. HILL is great, if your child is perfect. And also watch your child for depression , Hill is a little clicky.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2010

I am a very proud parent of a student at Hill Elementary, a year round school. I am so excited my daughter was accepted at this school and is excelling in all areas of her education. Thanks to a wonderful teacher and school staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2008

My son attended Hill from Kindergarten thru 5th grade. We have since moved to Florida. He received since a wonderful education at Hill and they were able to keep up with his advanced placement. My 13 year old is now in 10th grade instead of 8th and it is because of the wonderful beginning he recieved from Hill staff. P.S. Mr. Harper the principal is really the best you will ever find....God should make every principal like him. (Colt's mom)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2008

I just love this school, it kids all seem very happy here! I am a parent, who would recommend this school of choice, because it prevents the children from getting burned-out! I have both of my children here, and it has been a very rewarding experience for both of my children and myself. I just with that all the schools were like Hill, but you can't get everything! The staff is so caring and family like, it just makes you feel warm & cozy at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2006

I would highly recommend this school. Both of my sons have attended this school and it has been a positive experience for both. The entire staff is easy to work with and genuinely care about the children. My oldest son attended a traditional elementary school at first, but flourished with the year-round schedule. He had much less burnout than in his previous school. They have many activities that the children can choose to participate in after school as well. Tracy Yencer
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2005

Hill School is by far the best! My son has attended since Kindergarten and unfortunatley this is his last year at Hill. This is sad because Hill's Principal, teachers and staff are the most caring and wonderful there is. They are great role models, educators and friends to all the children. This school is a family and has a family atmosphere that we will greatly miss! We just wish they would have added 5-12th grade onto the Hill Year Round School building so that we dont have to leave. This is the best school you can enroll your child in and the best opportunity for a positive and strong educational experience. -Ms. Sapien(Colt's mom)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2004

Hill Elementary school is a wonderful choice of school. It is a Year Round school which means that the required school days are spread over the months of August-June. I have found that this prevents burn-out in students and staff. Parents have the option of sending their children to school during the intersession-break for additional enrichment activities centered around a theme or their children may stay home. The staff at Hill work very hard to help every child succeed in social and academic areas. I am a teacher at this school and I have not found a more dedicated staff (principal, secretaries, custodians, teachers, para-professionals, cooks, & playground supervisors) than the cohesive network found at Hill Elementary. I strongly encourage you to become a member of the Hill School family. I know that you will be glad you did! Sincerely, Mrs. J. Berhe
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 9, 2004

Hill school is awesome. My daughter goes there and she loves it. The teacher's are great and the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

61 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

61 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

61 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

61 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

61 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 69%
Hispanic 4% 6%
Multiracial 4% 2%
African-American 1% 18%
Native Hawaiian 1% 0%
American Indian N/A 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 28%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jennifer Torok
Fax number
  • (810) 591-9490

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

404 Aloha Street
Davison, MI 48423
Website: Click here
Phone: (810) 591-0839

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT