Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Star International Academy

Charter | PK-12 & ungraded | 1530 students

A Nationally Recognized Silver School with a focus on Culture & Arabic Language

 
 

Living in Dearborn Heights

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $67,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $900.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 16 ratings
2012:
Based on 11 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

73 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 12, 2010

I have been to this school before and I put my child in it. The only thing I don't like about it is that it is too big and you could easily get lost. I think it deserves a 4 of 5
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

Star International Academy s staff members are real team players! We share the same goal, which is to meet the instructional needs of all students No excuses!


Posted October 30, 2009

Star International Academy is a school for global learning and cultural diversity!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 13, 2009

The school is all about continuous improvement and change; the theme for 2009-10 is to *dream*imagine*re-imagine*change as presented by the superintendent, founder & ceo - Mrs. Nawal Hamadeh who advised staff to 'transform & discover the wonders of your wisdom, strength & powers' and to 'get out of your comfort zone & keep on going - do not quit'!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

Star International Academy focuses on global awareness. We promote cultural sensitivity. We are devoted to academics. We are an IB school and promote hands-on learning where the student takes the lead to be successful. We promote safety and kindness and we are a respectful to each other. We strive to have 100% success rate with our students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

Our School is focused on our childrens present and future as we gear to the 21st century era!


Posted October 13, 2009

Because it cares about the individual and welcomes you as part of a family and not just a faceless object in the crowd.


Posted October 11, 2009

So far so good. This is the 6th school i've put my four beautiful children in. So i know of what i speak. I'm happy with the organization we are finding at the school. Its only oct. 11 2009 So i'm keeping my fingers crossed. But the vibe is that they are very serious about academics and discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

i was a student at star and i loved it and would do anything just to go back it really isnt like other schools everyone knew each other and we all acted as an family whether we were black white lebanese iraqi people who i still have close relationships with now. And the teachers were great too i loved Mrs. Boussi nd Mrs. Carni Mrs. Hassan Mr. Morueh Ms. Chehab Mr.Abdullah and many many more all wonderful people........D'Marco Willingham wrote this
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 2, 2009

as a parent, i believe star is the only good choice in dearborn heights. your children will be in great hands. dispite having all grades in one school, star acts as a family. everyone knows each other, and not much of that high school drama is found. now, it has created awosme programs that will absolutley help your child enter the collidge of their choice. of the many programs are the MYP and IBO program. it may seem to be left out of the american type schools, but believe me, it is one of the greatest schools around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

I taught at the school for 2 years and did not have a good experience. My classes were out of control and there was no support from the administration. I would send kids out of the room and they would be sent back ten minutes later without so much as an apology. The high school students kick down doors and fight each other on a regular basis. There are some really good teachers, but they are not allowed to reach their full potential because of the restrictions placed on them and the lack of support. The classrooms were overcrowded, there is no outside play time for the elementary children, and the curriculum is not comparable to public and private schools.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 22, 2009

I have a second grader at Star International Academy who is in Ms. Bazzi's class. I need to express my deep appreciation for Ms. Bazzi. She is an amazing teacher who cares so much for her students to meet their potentials and excel. She is truly passionate about her job, as I have observed her when volunteering in her class, from her notes to me and from the activities she puts together to keep her students motivated and loving school. Her style is free spirited, but serious. Her students know just how much she expects of them, and just how much she cares for them. As a parent of 3 other school children, I can really say that this teacher stands out. I think I can speak for other parents when I say thank you for everything you do... we are lucky to have you - and so is Star.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

I previously taught at Star and it was one of the worse schools I have ever worked at. The principal has no idea of what is appropriate behavior or expectations of elementary aged children. The students are not held responsible for their actions either academically or behavioral. The teachers are held at fault when a child is failing because they refuse to do any work even if letters have been sent home and conferences have been arranged with parents. The students are not held accountable for any of their actions. Bullies are not punished for their actions. Students will be suspended time and time again, allowed to make up their missing work, and no further action will be taken. If a child does not turn in their work they are allowed to make it up at anytime with no penalty. There is no accountability for students at all.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 21, 2008

As a parent who is also an educator, I recognize the great accomplishments and rewards Star International has to offer it's students. This year I'm particularly greatful for the A.C.E program that is offered to those students who need additional support. The staff, curriculum and over all environment is encouraging and challenging. Keep up the excellent job!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2008

Great school with great principal. Mydaughter loves going to school in the morning and is even happy to stay late for the free tutoring program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2008

i just wanna say i am a student who graduated in 2004 from that school (98-04), and i thought they dis an excellent job teaching me, and i didnt realize it until i went to tke the placement test in college, and placed in calculus, which was amazing. i passed it with an a on my first semester, and now i have bachelor in bio, and i'm heading to pharmacy school, thnakyou star, and specail thanks to Paul Davidson (math teach), couldnt have done it without him. overall great school that really pushes hard for u to getur education, keep up the good job man.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 13, 2008

Teachers have very little experience. Some of them have any at all experience. Not enough programs for the students.Students have no respect for the teachers.More support..... needed
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

my children are in the school . over all school is good. Some teachers are really very nice in every field but my daughter's teacher is not good I am very disappointed with the teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2008

my children went to start international academy. after review and examined the school policy and all the academic. as far as my concern and opinion. i think the school is to strict being too strict. both the teacher and and staff do
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2007

my children have been at star for three years now I'am so happy with every thing it has to offer the staff are awesome and just having the kids in an enviorment where they all dress the same well that in it self is rewarding, i have been and will always voleenter as a proud parent there,the work they do is evertless, and as for the rest well star speaks for itself. i wouldnt have my kids in any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

142 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

142 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
51%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

142 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

142 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

142 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
3%

2013

 
 
3%

2011

 
 
6%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

127 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

127 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
57%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

127 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
15%

2013

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
28%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
12%

2013

 
 
11%

2011

 
 
20%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
11%

2013

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
31%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
24%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
35%
Science

The state average for Science was 28% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
8%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
19%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 44% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
32%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

All Students17%
Female10%
Male23%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White16%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities17%
English language learners16%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Reading

All Students52%
Female61%
Male45%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities52%
English language learners48%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Science

All Students17%
Female17%
Male17%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White16%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities17%
English language learners17%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Social Studies

All Students33%
Female24%
Male40%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White34%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities34%
English language learners33%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Writing

All Students58%
Female56%
Male60%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities59%
English language learners58%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

98%

Average ACT score

20

Graduation rate

89%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 69%
African-American 4% 18%
Asian 3% 3%
Hispanic 1% 6%
American Indian N/A 1%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 187%N/A48%
Female 251%N/A48%
Male 249%N/A52%
Source: 1 MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Arabic languages
French
Russian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
  • Poetry

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Arabic languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
  • French
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Arabic languages
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • Russian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:55 am
School end time
  • 3:25 am
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Nawal Hamadeh
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (313) 724-8994

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Special education
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arabic languages
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
  • French
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Arabic languages

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
SAT/ACT prep classes
Community college courses
College presentations or information sessions
College prep programs/courses during the year
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

24425 Hass St
Dearborn Heights, MI 48127
Website: Click here
Phone: (313) 724-8990

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Highview Elementary School
Dearborn Heights, MI


St. Linus School
Dearborn Heights, MI


Hillcrest Elementary School
Dearborn Heights, MI


Crestwood Accelerated Program
Dearborn Heights, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT