Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
300 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

An authentic Montessori school like Dearborn Heights Montessori not only prepares a child for the real world, the curriculum offers many opportunities to experience the real world. A quality Montessori program provides a rigorous curriculum that satisfies the needs of all children no matter what level of ability they may have. Also, one of the primary components of a Montessori curriculum is to move the child to independence. This requires that the student must be self-motivated and learn how to manage his or her time. As a student moves into the upper elementary and middle school grades in our program, these skills become invaluable. Regarding homework, the volume does increase at the upper and middle school grades but does not replace the work required in the classroom. Homework typically includes subject areas that require repetition and practice, i.e. math and reading, and is never simply busy work . If, however, a student is not able to complete required work during the school day, he or she has the choice to take the work home so that a deadline isn t missed. Other at home projects may include finalizing reports, creating presentation boards, etc. The real world of high school and college requires not only homework but also time management and self-motivation. Regarding music and art, we are thrilled to be able to continue to provide these programs when many schools are forced to eliminate them. At Dearborn Heights Montessori Center, music and art are offered in addition to physical education, world languages, technology and a variety of other opportunities both during and after the school day. Our music program, executed by an educated and talented music teacher with many years of experience, provides exposure to many things including learning about famous composers; learning how to use a variety of rhythm instruments; learning to read music through playing the recorder; dance and movement; singing and performance; and much more. Our art program offers students at the elementary level a 75 minute class, once per week, led by an educated and experienced art teacher. The elementary curriculum is presented using the elements of art line, shape, color, and texture with the express purpose of building skills at all levels. Students have the opportunity to learn about famous artists and their styles and the chance to expand their artistic ability, using symmetry drawing, sculpting, still life drawing, performance art, and much more. In addition, art materials are available in the classrooms for use by students in creating presentations and illustrating their work. At the middle school level, art is offered as an elective in which the student creates work in a medium of choice. Art at the preschool and kindergarten level is embedded in the classrooms, with a variety of art materials available at all times. In addition, a weekly art appreciation lesson presents stories about artists and their work in an entertainng way. Visit our website or schedule a tour to see for yourself how a quality Montessori school like Dearborn Heights Montessori Center can benefit your child.
January 17, 2014

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
70 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 77 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Dearborn Heights Montessori Center
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted May 10, 2016
- a community member
As a parent of a delayed child, I feel that normal developing children should be taught acceptance of people who are different. The administration at this school made it very clear to me that my child was not welcome there.

Dearborn Heights Montessori Center 1

Posted May 10, 2016
- a community member
Here is a piece of advice to parents who are thinking about applying to this school. If your child is delayed, has special needs, special ed., functioning below grade level or qualifies for Early On and speech therapy as in my case......AVOID and save yourself the grief. This school DOES NOT WANT your child on their property. They see themselves as a school for the gifted and advanced and do not want students that are not at the very least performing at grade level or meeting all milestones appropriately. Since they won't say it directly to your face, they skirt around the issues by saying "check out other schools before applying to ours," "sometimes a place isn't a good fit for a child and they need more than what we can provide." This is a place where my suspicion is that the majority of the parents believe that their kid is gifted and special. The parent and the director I toured with did nothing but brag about their gifted infants(good for them). It was nauseating. If your child isn't the type that will perform well anywhere, than my suggestion would be to cross this school off your list. There are similar reviews like mine from years past. Since there were no recent reviews, I figured I would check out the school for my 23 month old. The attitude is still the same. Anyway, I was discouraged from applying because my child has a severe language delay. The toddler program sounded wonderful and I just wanted him to be around some other little kids his age in a consistent setting. I was told to look elsewhere before applying for enrollment while the mother of the advanced 18 month old child (speaking in complete sentences) was encouraged to apply. If you kid is fine, or ahead, by all means go apply here(they will love it), if they are not....look elsewhere. These are toddlers, not rocket scientists. Children with delays are seen to bring down the normal and ahead of the "dreaded" milestones kids. Not all kids develop at the same rate. Just because your child is an early talker/walker/has a high IQ etc. does not mean anything with regards to what they will achieve in life at this stage. Research it if you don't believe me. There is just a extremely snooty vibe here. Save yourself from losing a years worth of tuition if your child doesn't fit in and just skip this one.


Dearborn Heights Montessori Center 5

Posted July 22, 2014
- a parent
This school is truly a gift to both my child and our whole family. You will not find another school with teachers and administration so committed and supportive of their families and children. They always place the child's best interest first in decisions they make. My child has grown tremendously due to this amazing learning environment. As a multicultural family, the diversity of the student and staff body was attractive to us. The diverse student and staff body allows for rich cultural lessons in the classroom and beautiful multicultural school events like the Cultural Festival. An outstanding school!

Dearborn Heights Montessori Center 5

Posted March 07, 2014
- a teacher
Our mission is to provide a safe, nurturing environment, unifying academic challenge with quality opportunities for social, emotional, and intellectual growth. This includes a multicultural emphasis that values individuality and attainment of each child s fullest potential. With the Montessori philosophy as our foundation, we guide development of responsibility and respect by cultivating independent thinking, self-awareness, cooperation and inner discipline.

Dearborn Heights Montessori Center 1

Posted March 05, 2014
- a parent
Dearborn Heights Montessori teachers gave my children very little personalized attention. The school body was divided, with a large population of children of Middle Eastern descent, and a smaller population of white children. The two groups of children did not interact with each other. It has been a few years, so I'm not sure if that is still the case. One of my children did suffer daily ridicule from a few children, and we were repeatedly brushed off by administration. My child was even forced to share a locker with the other student who was constantly teasing him. After enduring months of this we finally pulled all three out of DHMC, and we are so happy that we made the right choice. The staff at this school is overly concerned with how the public views them. They tend to brush matters (of importance) off to avoid dealing with the negative feedback that the school might receive.


Dearborn Heights Montessori Center 1

Posted February 05, 2014
- a parent
Toddler program was great. Preschool was a disaster. We had to pull out our son after two months. We don't know if the Montessori system was just a bad fit for him or if this specific classroom was the issue. Unfortunately, we will never know since we were not allowed to try him in a different classroom. Thankfully, he loves his new preschool and is doing great! None of the problems we had at Montessori. Be advised that you have to commit to the full year's (substantial) tuition which will not be reimbursed if your child has to leave the school for whatever reason. Even with a tuition reimbursement insurance (that we paid for) we were only able to recover 50% of the tuition and lost more than $2000!

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
An authentic Montessori school like Dearborn Heights Montessori not only prepares a child for the real world, the curriculum offers many opportunities to experience the real world. A quality Montessori program provides a rigorous curriculum that satisfies the needs of all children no matter what level of ability they may have. Also, one of the primary components of a Montessori curriculum is to move the child to independence. This requires that the student must be self-motivated and learn how to manage his or her time. As a student moves into the upper elementary and middle school grades in our program, these skills become invaluable. Regarding homework, the volume does increase at the upper and middle school grades but does not replace the work required in the classroom. Homework typically includes subject areas that require repetition and practice, i.e. math and reading, and is never simply busy work . If, however, a student is not able to complete required work during the school day, he or she has the choice to take the work home so that a deadline isn t missed. Other at home projects may include finalizing reports, creating presentation boards, etc. The real world of high school and college requires not only homework but also time management and self-motivation. Regarding music and art, we are thrilled to be able to continue to provide these programs when many schools are forced to eliminate them. At Dearborn Heights Montessori Center, music and art are offered in addition to physical education, world languages, technology and a variety of other opportunities both during and after the school day. Our music program, executed by an educated and talented music teacher with many years of experience, provides exposure to many things including learning about famous composers; learning how to use a variety of rhythm instruments; learning to read music through playing the recorder; dance and movement; singing and performance; and much more. Our art program offers students at the elementary level a 75 minute class, once per week, led by an educated and experienced art teacher. The elementary curriculum is presented using the elements of art line, shape, color, and texture with the express purpose of building skills at all levels. Students have the opportunity to learn about famous artists and their styles and the chance to expand their artistic ability, using symmetry drawing, sculpting, still life drawing, performance art, and much more. In addition, art materials are available in the classrooms for use by students in creating presentations and illustrating their work. At the middle school level, art is offered as an elective in which the student creates work in a medium of choice. Art at the preschool and kindergarten level is embedded in the classrooms, with a variety of art materials available at all times. In addition, a weekly art appreciation lesson presents stories about artists and their work in an entertainng way. Visit our website or schedule a tour to see for yourself how a quality Montessori school like Dearborn Heights Montessori Center can benefit your child.
Posted January 17, 2014

Dearborn Heights Montessori Center 1

Posted January 07, 2014
- a community member
this school doesn't prepare you for the real world. The staff are nice but they really only focus on the ones who are thriving in a classroom setting, for example i was struggling and the teachers did little to help me other than to finish all my work, as i fell farther and farther behind. Also we did a lot of homework, but not very much of it actually mattered, it was mostly busy work. Also we had to go to a music class 2 times a week were we sang the same songs over and over again, then in the end of the year we had to stand on bleachers in the 100 degree gym and sing songs for the audience for three hours. Also if you have an artistic child this is not a good school because you have very little art opportunity, and very bad art assignments to improve your skills. If your considering this school, save your child and your money and send them to a different school.


Dearborn Heights Montessori Center 5

Posted November 04, 2012
- a parent
My child has been at DHMC for several years now and has had a wonderful experience. The teachers have been concerned, caring, and very supportive of my child's development mentally and emotionally. My child was bullied for a short time by another student who was asked to leave the school. The teachers and staff were very careful about their approach with both children. Educationally this school prepares children with how to learn, not just learning rotely.

Dearborn Heights Montessori Center 1

Posted October 27, 2012
- a parent
In this school, its all talk, not do. If I had a dollar for every time they said no to my child for asking for help, I would be a millionaire. They are extremely concerned about how the public perceives them. When you go to apply to put your child into this school, they have people that can speak in a way that will make you believe your child will be taken care of. WRONG. The only time they were actually concerned about my child is when we said we were leaving. They tried to talk their talk to me, but I realized how manipulative they can be with their words. If you are considering putting your child in this year.. think long and hard. The only parents that are happy with school is the ones who donate and help out a lot to get treated special from the teachers. The staff was afraid of the principal.. too much discluding.. so much drama.. never come here. Take your child to a real school before they graduate and go off to high school and be confused about everything.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dearborn Heights Montessori Center
466 N John Daly Rd, Dearborn Heights, MI  48127
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 77 reviews. (313) 359-3000
Last modified Dearborn Heights Montessori Center is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top