Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Dearborn Academy 1

Posted June 08, 2016
- a parent
They focus on minor things, and forget the main goal of schools. Their teachers are below average but their office staff and administration are terrible. I won't recommend it,

The Dearborn Academy 5

Posted August 14, 2015
- a student
I'm a student at TDA and I love it the kids are very nice and smart 2 in particular are extraordinary. The teachers are great they even stay after school to help those who are struggling, I am very happy with the decisions they make like fireing a unhelpful teacher which many students didn't like. Overall the school is great and the teachers are awesome consider yourself lucky to have found this school in 2015 or even later because I'm sure it will improve later in the future.


The Dearborn Academy 5

Posted March 18, 2014
- a parent
The schools has new changes introduced to its functional activities and this makes it look good to the community. More programs, like sports, have been introduced and the students enjoy attending. Go Dolphins!

The Dearborn Academy 3

Posted January 07, 2014
- a community member
I dislike one of the middle school teacher , I'm not a fan of her because she has her favorites, its not fair to the students.

The Dearborn Academy 2

Posted November 21, 2013
- a parent
My 3 kids go here, I love the ethnicity factor. A+ on that. Most teachers are great however there are bad apples that do not belong! My son was doing great until middle school, he is special needs and had issues with bullying and was even called a lost dog by a teacher! Unbelievable. I want to pull my kids out but worry they won't do will in a larger school.... I don't blame the principle and office workers for the mishap with the bullying teacher, I'm one to focus in weeding out the bad apples (teachers) so a Huge turn over doesn't bother me as long as they keep working to get it right!


The Dearborn Academy 5

Posted September 01, 2013
- a parent
I love this school, family based, small and friendly- staff is great hardworking and care! I have 3 kids that go here and do exceptional! Just wish we didn't have to but their uniform shirts :-(

The Dearborn Academy 4

Posted August 31, 2013
- a community member
I am a student who attended TDA for 3 years 6-8. Even though its a small school there are many talented students. The teachers are like the students best friends they are very caring and push you to the fullest. Teachers also stay after school for those who need help which is very helpful. The staff is very organized. I seen some reviews and was disappointed, BUT notice the years those reviews were written today is August 31st 2013. TDA has improved alot over the years. I would gladly recommend this school to anyone a friend relative the neighbors. The teachers and staff work very hard to see these students improve and go all the way out just to see them succeed. Not one year I have had in TDA that I don't regret. One Wish I do have is that they make a high school.

The Dearborn Academy 1

Posted June 05, 2013
- a community member
they discriminate against kids with special needs the teachers are extremely rude when speaking with the students


The Dearborn Academy 5

Posted January 28, 2009
- a community member
Fabulous Staff, Teachers, Administration and children. They are always working on improvements, and I feel they really care.

The Dearborn Academy 1

Posted January 26, 2009
- a parent
The schools has new changes introduced to its functional activities and this makes it look good to the community. More programs, like sports, have been introduced and the students enjoy attending. Go Dolphins!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Dearborn Academy
19310 Ford Road, Dearborn, MI  48128
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (313) 982-1300
Last modified The Dearborn Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top