Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

West Village Academy

Charter | K-8 & ungraded | 413 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Dearborn

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $70,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

51 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 23, 2014

I've been here for years! Seen lots of good kids graduate and become successful! It's small and staff works well... I heart WVA!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 10, 2013

My oldest son attended this school from K-8. The entire staff is wonderful! The afterschool program/staff is awesome! Parents should get more involved in their child or children's education within the school ie: volunteering at the school, attending parent teacher conferences, PIC meetings, etc.. As a parent, it is one of my top priorities to be involved in both of my sons' schools & the relationships I've developed with the staff & other parents is great. I have a 4th grader attending WVA & look forward to sending my youngest son here next year for Kindergarten. Keep up the good work staff & parents! TOGETHER, we can make WVA an even better school! ~ Mrs. Robinson, VP, PIC Committee 2013-2014 #GottaLoveThoseWildcats!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

My son has attended WVA since 2ng grade and at first the school and the staff were all wonderful. I dont know what happened between 2nd and 5th, but somewhere in between this school lost its compassion, great teachers left leaving my son with 2 subs and finally a teacher. Now dont get me wrong there are some faculty that has been there for a long time who still care but as for the new teachers and staff they are horrible. My son is not perfect but it seems as if the kids who they did not want to put up with got expelled for silly reasons etc. Also the after school program for tutoring is NOT helpful at all. They rarely work on things that help them and its more of a babysitter program. I fell in Love with this school from the beginning and now I feel as though its going down hill. My son is going to the 6th and he will not be returning to WVA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2013

West Village Academy. I feel the school caters to the exceptionally quick learning,and the rest will be lost in the dust. I agree that some staff are unprofessional my son had some caring teachers. Kg was Mrs. Welch,1st Mrs.King 2nd is where it went bad having a teacher then 2subs. 3rd Mr. Siik went above and beyond for his students for that I say Thank you job well done Mr.Siik. I am praying that God will bless my son with a school he is going to love to wake up and attend everyday rather than make excuses to stay home. Signed a concered parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2013

This school is terrible. It use to be a really nice, I been there since kindergarten, but now the students are out of control. There are so many fights everyday in the middle school. The teachers are really good but the students are terrible. I would not recommend your kid to go to this school.


Posted September 18, 2012

This school is over bearing ! Do not send any child under 3 rd grade their .Ive had the worst experience , The staff does not like you to check on your child you almost wonder what are they hiding?This school is for older kids that can take care of themselves! Do not send any little people there! Save yourself the stress parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2012

This is my son's 2nd year at WVA, & I love it! The teachers are wonderful, caring and educated in their fields. The administration is great! Any problems, concerns or issues are addressed and everyone is like Family!!! My son comes home happy everyday and hardly has anything bad to say. Congratulations on all the improvements & I look forward to another great year at WVA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2012

my daughter went to school here for two years and I have to say that she fell behind during her time here. When ever she turned in projects i would'nt know her grade on them. Once she turned in a research paper and it was returned to her without a grade. I took it up to the school and asked what the grade was and the principle had to call the teacher. His response was if there was no grade on it then it was a 100%. I know for a fact that there were some grammer errors and missing punctuation marks. There was no feed back on the paper. When I spoke to her teachers in regards to her grades and missing assignments, I was told that she wasn't missing anything or failing any classes, but when I got her report card days later. She was failing a class and missing assignments. I'm not sure what is going on at this school, but I do know that there needs to be a major improvement at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2012

The sentence was incorrect. Mrs Willus not only taught my son,but she taught him how to be responsible for his own education. To not depend on his parents but himself. She made him accountable with no excuses. Thanks Mrs.Tarver
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2011

This school prepare your children for nothing. I am so glad my mother took me out in 7th grade and enrolled me in a public school. Now that I have graduated high school & off to college, I'm happy I have the chance to rate this school from a couple years back. I have witnessed myself a teacher choking a child in the classroom. The students are undisciplined. I remember a couple of students in the morning class started throwing shoes at each other. I suspect nothing has changed due to some comments i have already read. Oh and by the way, when my mom moved me to a public school i was very much behind the other kids and had to work extra. WORST SCHOOL EVER.


Posted October 20, 2010

I Love my student's 4th & 5th Grade Teacher's....They ROCK! Always supporting me in my ups and downs and cares for my kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

This was my daughters first year at this school and I would say she learned a whole lot in one year here. She has excelled in reading, math, writing, and other subjects. The teachers here are very friendly and helpful. The parent involvement is better than a lot of schools. Her teacher Mrs. Adler was great and I would love if she could be my daughters first grade teacher. This school was a wonderful experience even the teacher assistant Mrs. Smith was great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

This a wonderful school and since Mrs. White has been leading our Wildcats I have seen a significant differences with my student and the teachers!!! Hopefully she stays around because she is awesome and she is well respected because she gives respect in return. You can go and talk to her about anything and she will help you solve the matter. The teachers talk highly of her and thats great when you get good feedback from staff so that means she is genuine and its not just a front.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2008

The new admin and school board are good they care a lot for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2008

Since there has been an administartion change, once again, maybe things will get better. The old administration and people in charge of discipline management were bullies and unprofessional. Administrators do not have to have state teaching credentials or even administrative education to be They used suspension and expulsion as a remedy instead of providing assistance and management.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2008

First of all, I find it hard for a child to be educated without resources like books. For some of the curriculum it seems as thoughit was pulled out of a hat. I took my child out for that reason.WHen my child entered Detroit Public Schools they were at least a year behind, compared to what they had previously been taught at W.V.A South. The school is not preparing the students academically. They are failing them at a rapid pace. Charter schools need to properly use the money given to them on behalf of the students from the state. I frequently pick my nephew up from W.V.A. South and it still boggles my mind that with an increasing number of African American students enrolled, there is less than 1 percent of African American teachers. The couple that I have seen seems to 'our 'children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2007

I understand there are specialists helping teachers give good instruction for students. I just wish there was a music class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2007

As a teacher at West Viallge Academy, I would like for prospective parents to know that we do not have a high teacher turnover, we have a great caring staff that have been with the school for years. We have rules and expectations like any other school and the students that get suspended have major behavior problems that take away from teaching and learning. Parents are always welcome and teachers do ask for volunteers to come and help with field trips, parties and special classroom activities.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 10, 2007

This school focuses on Suspension of Students more than anything else. The Principle is not seen by parents and though the administration asks for parental involvement, it is a lie... There is a high teacher turnover here and high student turnover, I am taking my children out of this school. This is a horrible school and I do not recommend anyone sending their children here.!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2007

Quite frankly, the current administration is leaps and bounds ahead of the previous administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
21%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
18%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

49 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
22%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
2%

2013

 
 
8%

2011

 
 
0%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

38 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
13%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

38 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
60%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

38 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
16%

2013

 
 
11%

2011

 
 
28%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
10%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
49%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
7%

2012

 
 
8%

2011

 
 
8%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
5%

2013

 
 
3%

2011

 
 
2%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
African-American 84% 18%
White 9% 69%
Hispanic 6% 6%
Multiracial 1% 2%
American Indian N/A 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 188%N/A48%
Female 250%N/A48%
Male 250%N/A52%
Source: 1 MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Donita White
Fax number
  • (313) 274-0062

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3530 Westwood St
Dearborn, MI 48124
Phone: (313) 274-9200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Thorne Elementary School
Dearborn Heights, MI




Daly School
Inkster, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT