Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Sacred Heart School

Private | PK-8 | 206 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Dearborn

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $70,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 12 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 30, 2014

We moved our kids from public school to Sacred Heart in middle school. That was the best thing we could have done. They were finally challenged academically and they thrived. They are so much better prepared for high school and college having learned how to write research papers and having had the chance to compete in academic competitions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

We love Sacred Heart. The teachers here are top notch. My kids have received an amazing education. I would highly recommend Sacred Heart to others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2012

I have two chldren at Sacred Heart and I couldn't be more pleased with the acedemic program and extra-curricular activities. Parents are very involved. The children from 8th to Pre-K get to know each other and the older students set good examples for the younger children. Sacred Heart has a "family" atmosphere. The smaller class sizes are a plus too.. I couldn't be happier. I only wish it went through to high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2011

Sacred Heart provides a challenging curriculum, and a very talented faculty. Our kids are receiving a well-rounded, disciplined education from teachers who really care and are passionate about what they teach. You really can't ask for more in PS-8 education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2011

I have two children that attend Sacred Heart school and we absolutely love it. The reason that we chose Sacred Heart over the other Catholic schools in the area was the community. I had only intended on sending my first child to Sacred Heart for Kindergarten but we fell in love the with the school from the very first day. There is a loving atmosphere at Sacred Heart that you can feel. We have made so many friends with the families at the school, even with families that are not in either of my children's classes. Sacred Heart has the best students, teachers and test scores in the area, hands down. I would highly recommend Sacred Heart for any family that is looking for a superior educational experience and a loving and supportive environment for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2011

This school beats all schools academically, bottom line. MEAP scores are 97%, and private schools are not required to take this test. IOWA scores, which private schools take is 82% in the nation. This school ALSO works to have all children have a positive social experience, and parents too. I have been a parent at this school for eight years. My children span from kindergarten through junior high. Bullying is not tolerated, and classes are held to ensure this doesn't occur. This school really does try to make everyone happy. The Band, Sports and Scout groups are all outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2011

My second Grade boy and his friends discuss the books they read while playing at recess. Come on--that only happens because of the great reading foundation at Sacred Heart School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2011

Sacred Heart School rating for the MEAP's is 97 percentile!!! The BEST in DEARBORN for preK to 8th grade! Remember private schools aren't required to take the MEAP's and do NOT teach for the MEAP's! So if your child is not in this school, RUN don't walk to enroll!!! The IOWA test scores which is what Catholic schools and some public schools take, Sacred Heart Dearborn ranked in the 82 percentile Nationally!!! Meaning SH did 82% better that the others schools taking the IOWA's in the COUNRTY! In closing, with a new principle to lead the school spaces will be limited so don't be left out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2011

Bigger is not always better. Sacred Heart is a great community of caring teachers, good kids, and involved parents. Might not be the biggest, but it has so much going for it. Take a look at MEAP and Iowa test scores ... and note this school is no. 2 in the archdiocese in Catholic identity. Great CYO program, scouts, band, art ... It's time to take another look at Sacred Heart when choosing where you send your kids for a quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2011

Both of our kids go to to Sacred Heart and we LOVE it! We LOVE the scale of the classrooms, the quality of the education, and the awesome community of families that attend! There's no question that we selected the right school for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2011

There is light at the end of the tunnel!!! I have been at Sacred Heart a very long time and have seen the ups and downs. I can honestly say that I've never felt more confident in the direction of the school now that the necessary changes have started to take place. This school is building on the highest MEAP scores in Dearborn along with being in the 82nd IOWA percentile nationally! The Scout program is A-1. Band. The CYO Athletics program is second to none. There is strong parental support with a friendship bond that goes beyond school activities. As an aside: I'm still amazed and impressed by the accommodations made for, and the receptive attitude of people from other faiths (including Muslims) that attend the school. Seems to be all upside from here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2011

We have two children at Sacred Heart and we love the school. It is a great school with great teachers and great families. The teachers are very easily accessible and always open to communication. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2011

You couldn't ask for a better school to send your children too. The community of Sacred Heart is like no other and will welcome you and your children with open arms. Our teachers go above and beyond in helping making our children successful. From the Scouts to band and CYO to the PTO, the Sacred Heart Shamrocks are that pot of gold at the end of the rainbow!! Come and check us out....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2011

My daughter started Pre-school at Sacred Heart last fall. I could'nt be happier. She is 4 years old and has learned all of her prayers along with spelling and writing her name. All of the pre-schoool teachers are loving and nuturing to all of the children, which is why my daughter is excited to go to school everyday. Looking forward to kindergarten at Sacred Heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2011

I am A STUDENT, a 13 year old girl, at this school. It absolutely KILLS me to see that so many people hate this school. I can't imagine being at any other school. Its much better than being at a public school and getting bullied all the time. At Sacred Heart, you aren't labeled as "Popular", or "Ugly", or anything really, other than a student of this amazing school. My parents drive me 45 minutes so I can go to this amazing school. My mom even volunteers at the school and helps other parents. I am sorry if your child got bullied, or teased. But it is a school and each scenario is handled with care. Every single person in my class has attended a bullying session. Their are students in the school who need special attention. The do receive counseling and special attention with specialists. We do have a counselor at this school for anyone who needs it. You can go here: http://www.dearbornsacredheart.org/ to see the rest of MY school.


Posted October 27, 2010

I am glad someone has finally come out and called this school for what it is, miserable. I agree with the previous parent, do your homework here. Talk to parents who have children already enrolled. You will be amazed at how many families are not happy with this school. It is such a disappointment as we had such high hopes for our children here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

Think long and hard before enrolling your children here. Especially if they are unable to just sit still and not speak! There are many children in my childs class that are currently medicated and more families are being approached. The principal and staff have come out and directly said they do not have the resources or time to work with the children that don't fit inside of the box. I wish I'd have read a review such as this before all the heartbreak and suffering this school has caused my family. The declining enrollment should be another factor to consider. There is a reason!!! Please, give careful consideration before deciding to send your children here, they are only children once and this school can ruin them and your family! Please read all of the recent reviews as they are all parents trying to save your children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2010

I would really recommend you research other options before putting your child(ren) into this school. just a thought. that if your leader is a bully the school will follow suit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

For a private school where tha Parish and most of all the parents and teachers of the students, do all they can to keep the school open.


Posted September 2, 2009

my daughter has been at sacred heart for 3 years. some staff awful uncaring and downright mean. principle only will listen to her staff and not take the parent into consideration when there is a problem. very frustrating and sad as there are a few wonderful teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
27%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 69%
Multiracial 15% 2%
Hispanic 7% 6%
African-American 2% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Melissa Lambrecht
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Detroit
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

22513 Garrison Street
Dearborn, MI 48124
Website: Click here
Phone: (313) 561-9192

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Emmanuel Lutheran
Dearborn, MI







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT