Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
216 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Guardian Lutheran School 1

Posted June 08, 2016
- a student
I attended this school from preschool until 8th grade, for preschool to 3rd grade, it was awesome, once you hit 4th or 5th grade, it sucks. One of my teachers called our entire class idiots and another told us that public school teachers don't care about their students. Also, my parents are upset because I have ADHD and the teachers (except for the elementary school teachers) never bothered to point out that I needed help. The principal bribes us to be leaders, which is kind of stupid since our class got into trouble a lot. The math teacher (not mentioning names) made videos that no one watched, and we couldn't really learn math without looking in the back of the book. Overall, this school sucks and I never recommend this school to anyone.

Guardian Lutheran School 1

Posted March 11, 2015
- a parent
i agree with the many other reviewers. The school is very cliquey. They will do special needs for some students and not others and find excuses on why that is or just out and out lie about it. The school is good in the younger grades but it gets worse. It seems year over year it has gotten more and more unaccommodating.


Guardian Lutheran School 1

Posted February 27, 2015
- a parent
Very Very cliquey. If you are not a member of the clique you are nothing. The Principal and staff are not up to the most recent education trend and standards. They are well behind. If your child doesn't fit into the preconceived are they think they should be in they are labeled as such and offered no additional help. Very poor.

Guardian Lutheran School 2

Posted February 18, 2015
- a parent
I attended Guardian myself in the 80's and had chose to send mg kids there as well. I really liked in in the younger grades, but once they hit 5th grade its all downhill. The school is very cliquish and hyper focused on sports. If your child isn't involved in sports you are looking on the outside in. Also, if your child as ADD/ADHD this is not the school for you. They do not understand the disability nor do they want to understand. They are not very accommodating. Don't get me wrong, there are a few teachers there that are, but as a whole they don't want to bend.

Guardian Lutheran School 1

Posted October 25, 2014
- a community member
I attended this school in the 70's and it was very cliquish even back then as another poster mentioned. The teachers at that time did seem to care however, the church was another story. Back then my parents gave as much as they could to the church but the church (like many churches are) sent my parents a letter stating that they were not giving enought money to them. That's what they cared about most, getting your money. Snobs were also a problem. Many families that attend(ed) this school and church (one very well known family I won't mention by name) looked down on others and acted as if they were better then everyone else. Bullying was also a BIG problem in the classroom but at that time bullying was just something kids had to deal with themselves. Today the bully would get in big trouble. Few good memories I had attending, I would not recommend it but that's just my hones opinion.


Guardian Lutheran School 5

Posted September 07, 2014
- a parent
My daughter attended this school from preschool through 8th grade. The school is phenomenal. The teachers are welcoming and caring. My daughter is now attending a parochial high school in the area and tested into honors math and biology. I believe Guardian Lutheran School has prepared her well for high school and beyond!

Guardian Lutheran School 1

Posted August 18, 2014
- a parent
The fact that I took the time to actually sign-up just to write this review should tell you something. Our child went there for one year and halfway through the school year we were already looking for somewhere else to enroll her. Our 2nd grader was coming from a different private school and the curriculum throughout the year at Guardian was basically a review of things she had already learned. She was not academically challenged at all. As a new family, hoping to come into a warm, welcoming, Christian environment, I have to tell you-Ive been in more inviting DMV lines. Frosty, cliquish, rude people. Our daughter even said that chapel was always more like a funeral service. Granted; we come from a pretty charismatic church. Bottom line:nothing outstanding or impressive about this school and for the money-there are a lot of other better options out there. Attendance will start to be affected and only then will they take a step back and review what they can do to make their school a viable option for those of us who want more for our kids: It should be evident to all that a school bares the fruit of a Christ centered education.

Guardian Lutheran School 1

Posted August 12, 2014
- a parent
We chose Guardian, as we wanted our children to be in a environment where they could not just get an education, but grow in Christ. Let me say that from the beginning I have never felt welcomed, nor would I say did it feel like a body of believers :( We will NOT re enroll our children, and have after much prayer and research found that thankfully we live in a very good public school district :) Was greatly disappointed by the way not all are treated the same, as believers this should NEVER be the case. I would not, and do not recommend this school!


Guardian Lutheran School 5

Posted November 07, 2013
- a parent
Guardian Lutheran School is a really amazing school! I have three children attending this school and find that they are challenged in all their subjects. Being a Christian school, the teachers and staff believe that all children are gifts from God and treat all with love and respect. I would suggest that you call Guardian and meet with the principal (Matthew Dummann) to find out more about the school (he's available all the time, even during the summer months). Then, if you're interested, have your child shadow at the school to see if it is the right fit.

Guardian Lutheran School 1

Posted September 13, 2013
- a community member
Horrible the teachers can't teach, and the curriculum Is behind a couple years. The environment is not at all friendly. 0 Stars If I could

Nearby schools

Guardian Lutheran School
24544 Cherry Hill Street, Dearborn, MI  48124
(313) 274-3665
Last modified Guardian Lutheran School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top