Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Dearborn Christian School

Private | PK-8 | 6 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Dearborn

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $70,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 2, 2013

I think the closing of this school was justified because there was little to no learning going on. My child did poorly on the MEAP and asked his teacher what was being done to help him improve and she just shrugged her shoulder and said,"Well", No homework ever, even though he was in 5th grade. No worksheets or textbooks either. No makeup work was assigned when school was missed due to illness. Many families left after it was announced that the school was closing. I wished we had too but it was our first year at the school and thought it would be too much change for my child to start all over again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2012

This is our fourth year at Dearborn Christian, and we couldn't be happier. I have two daughters - one in Kindergarten and another in 2nd grade. The Preschool program is what brought us to the school initially, but it was the academic excellence and individualized education mixed with a Christ-centered environment that kept us coming back. My girls are treated like family, and I love knowing they are loved and not just taught.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2012

We currently have two of our three children enrolled at Dearborn Christian School; we have a daughter in Kindergarten and a son in Preschool. We are very impressed with the school's approach to nurturing the whole child: academically, physically, emotionally, and spiritually. All of these elements are essential to raise good and academically sound children in today's challenging social environment. The teachers receive excellent ongoing training and regard each student as a special collection of blessings and challenges rather than a problem or a number. This is a very close knit community of families from all backgrounds. All of us have developed some lifelong friendships at DCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2012

My son attends the school. It is a great place; love the teachers and other parents. My son is doing very well and enjoying it. I would recommend checking it out to anyone that is looking for a great alternative to Public schooling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2011

My three girls all attended DCS for grades K-8. My wife and I were very happy with the caliber of teachers and students. After graduating from DCS, all three girls went on to the local public high school where they were very successful academically, socially, musically and athletically. We appreciate the fine Christian education the girls received at DCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2008

This is a wonderful Christian and family friendly school. It is a parent-run school and has pre-school through eighth grade. The smaller class sizes allow the excellent teachers to give students individualized attention, as needed. It is a place to receive a great education and to become part of close-knit, faith-based community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

Dearborn Christian has a great curriculum and high standards for education. They have small classrooms with a great student to teacher ratio. It is also parent run with a board elected by parents. Parents can be invovled in their childerens education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2004

With both of our children going through DCS - we have been with the school for 11 years now. I can't say enough about what a wonderful experience it has been. Dearborn Christian provides an excellent academic curriculum along with a Christ-centered environment. It offers a sweetly nurturing atmosphere, tempered with Christ's grace. The children know what is socially, morally and biblically right and wrong - through Godly role models, the Word, and daily opportunities to encourage and enlighten them in the ways of the Lord. It provides excellent training and preparation for high school and college prep classes. The students form tight and lasting bonds with one another. And I don't think you will find more dedicated teachers anywhere. Dearborn Christian is truly a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2004

I have 2 sons at DCS. This school is awesome! If you want dedicated christian teachers and an excellant academic program, this is it! Also, this school is parent run. All board members are parents of students elected by the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 69%
African-American 6% 19%
Hispanic 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Calvinist
Associations
  • CSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

21360 Donaldson Street
Dearborn, MI 48124
Phone: (313) 563-1240

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St Sebastian Catholic School
Dearborn Heights, MI


Sacred Heart School
Dearborn, MI


Emmanuel Lutheran
Dearborn, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT