Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Public charter
Dearborn, MI
Students enrolled: 1,485

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Advanced Technology Academy 5

Posted September 30, 2014
- a parent
I like this school. They have after-school programs the children are allowed to go to if they are struggling with assignments or specific lessons/subjects and the teachers are happy to help. Also, if the child didn't understand their homework the night before, then sometimes the teacher allows them to come the classroom for help during lunchtime. If there is communication between the parents, children & teachers, then your child will get the help they need. PROS: Ipads in the library, Computer labs for class assignments & hw, Certain teachers willing to help, hands on assignments, competitive sports with other schools, if you leave a voicemail for the principal he calls back the same dayregarding any concerns you may need addressed, Students availability to earn college credits, Science technology engineering mathematics program, after school dance team

Advanced Technology Academy 2

Posted December 18, 2013
- a community member
ATA is an overall alright school. High school students are not allowed much freedom like any other high school. They are really strict, and anything that students suggest is pretty much shot down by the principal. The structure of the classes are also weird. Though there are several different business tracks, the classes for the tracks are not fitting. I don't like ATA.

Advanced Technology Academy 2

Posted December 18, 2013
- a teacher
This is a great school but I would not recommend this school for a high school student. Advanced Tech Academy does give the students a normal high school experience. Its all academics school and does not allow the students any individuality at all. The disciplinary consequences in this school are totally unreasonable. Also the students are not allowed to embrace themselves and new ideas for the school. Most of the students attending do not know who any of the administrators are. ATA is in their own school district but does not allow privileges to their students. The classrooms and very bland and students are not allowed to celebrate any holiday of any kind. I would not recommend this school to any students who want the actually school experience, whether its high school, middle school, or elementary.

Advanced Technology Academy 1

Posted October 27, 2013
- a community member
Help me to understand how the State of Michigan can allow this leadership to open up another location with test scores like the ones shown!!!

Advanced Technology Academy 3

Posted June 20, 2013
- a parent
I was impressed with the school's curriculum and all they had to offer my children, but was not to pleased with the school's policy for teachers and staff members fraternizing with parents of the students. It is unprofessional, uncouth and a conflict of interest to the well being of the students. Shame on You Advanced Technology Academy!!!!!!!!!!

Advanced Technology Academy 5

Posted May 15, 2013
- a parent
Great school, lots of fun and educational activities, and great teachers. My kids attended Pre K, KG, 1st and 2nd grade. I have to admit, you need to do your homework looking for a good teacher. As any school, there are great teachers and not so good. Overall, I am happy with this school. It is conservative and promotes tolerance and diversity.

Advanced Technology Academy 1

Posted January 21, 2013
- a parent
I had 4 children go to ATA. My son graduated from there in '09 ONLY because he didn't want to have to start all over at a new school. My daughter who graduated in '11 left after 9th grade simply because of the lack of extra curricular activities. I took my 2 younger ones out in the 5th & 3rd grades. The teachers straight out MEAN! You can be disciplined & not have children crying in fear. My daughter got to the point where she had NIGHTMARES about Ms. Skop (4th grade teacher). My daughter ended up having a nervous breakdown because of her. Don't send your children to ATA. They'll be better off in DPS or EAA.
1 person found this helpful

Advanced Technology Academy 5

Posted March 01, 2012
- a community member
This school is a great school. Better Education, More Strict, But Yet Mostly 90% Of the students graduate.

Advanced Technology Academy 5

Posted August 20, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Advanced Technology Academy 4

Posted May 12, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Advanced Technology Academy
4801 Oakman Boulevard, Dearborn, MI  48126
(313) 625-4700
Last modified Advanced Technology Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Advanced Technology Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top