Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bryant Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 794 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 12, 2014

Our son Bryant this past year, We have always thought that private education was best till HS, but he really wanted one year of of public before HS. I have to say we were so impressed by all the school offers, teachers are excellent, the schools principal is on key!!! Academics are great, overall a wonderful school! couldn't have been more pleased had he gone anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2011

I DISLIKE THIS SCHOOL. The teachers are strict, sometimes they overwork you, and this school is very biased on sports. In gym, they expect you to play sports you never did before and be good at it the first time. The school is filthy, bullies are everywhere. Ever since PBIS started in this school, it's all gone downhill, too. I've never received so much stress before.


Posted December 14, 2010

z bryant ziddle zool zery zamr zey zeach ze zow zo zpell tay teach zmany zudents ao band mzz. walters teach me zow zo type


Posted December 14, 2010

byant is a grate plase to get edumacated it is cleen and leeds evry skool in speling. i luv it so much and i recomend it to any bad speler because wen they finesh speling they teech u to uze advancd wurds


Posted December 14, 2010

i go 2 bryant zittle skoal my teatzer is mizter.cialon. he iz a very mean teather. if u b baed u geat a hamer et your face.


Posted April 21, 2010

Since Mrs.Peterson became principle of bryant this school is great.Bullies are put up with.Bryant has great programs like band, strings, art, technical education(wood shop), sewing, and have a pool! Code of cunduct is great. Teachers are really helpful. I love this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 21, 2009

Bryant staff, students and parents have joined efforts to make our school an outstanding place to come to for the best learning experience in the state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2009

Bryant is a great school! the teachers are very nice! bullies are put up with immediately. The whole school owns!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 11, 2009

Not a very good school, the teachers have poor attitudes, the administration is power hungry, the students do not care about learning a bit (most of them at least), and now that all the funding is leaving, and the arts programs are being canceled, the school is just a complete waste of space.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 8, 2008

What a difference a few years makes with a new principal and asst. principal. The school has definately taken a turnaround for the better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2008

Bryant is an awesome. School. My mom went there, I went there, and now my daughter is going there. Bryant rocks.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 12, 2008

I can't wait until the year is over and she moves onto DHS. Too many poor attitudes in one building. And forget about your kids enjoying any socialization.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2007

I cannot begin to say enough about the administration at Bryant. It was out with the old and in with the new. I find both the adminstrators to be fair and unbiased. There is such a great change going on at Bryant.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 31, 2007

Bryant has really gone down hill since the new assistant principal has come in. The school and the the school system is very low.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 20, 2007

It is a horrible school. I regret ever sending my child to bryant.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2007

The new principal and assistant, what a change in this school. Most of the teachers are fantastic and they care about students. Lots of positive things going on at this school thanks to the new administration.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 6, 2005

After reading the article in our March 23, 2005 Dearborn Press and Guide I can understand the frustration from the parents as well as the teachers of Bryant. I am glad my children are not in Bryant anymore. I cannot believe it took this long for an investigation to begin. I just hope that the children that are there now aren't put in the middle of all of that chaos. It's a shame everyone there has to walk on eggshells until the investigation is complete.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2005

I agree bullies do prevail in this school. When the person in charge is a bully, bullying will occur in the student population. School discipline is lacking and the students take full advantage of this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2005

I have two children at Bryant, and they are having great experiences at Bryant. Both are gifted children and have benefited from being at Bryant. Sport teams do well, but so does the music program, the Acadmeic Games team, the Chess Club, Math Counts, etc. Fellow parents tell me that teachers, counselors, and adminstrators are all very responsive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2004

I am a former student of Bryant Middle and so is my mom. We both had horrible experiences here. There were no opportunities for me, even though you could see from my scores that I was above average. I knew more than most of the teachers there. Everything I learned there in 7th grade I had already learned in 6th grade. Nothing was done about my achievements, and even though I had a 125 precent in math, I was forced to stay in the regular class. Also, this school is completely dedicated to sports, which is very unfair to me. I was forced to do sports in gym that I had never played before and expected to excel at them. I would not recommend this school to anyone who asked. The only thing I liked was that we got to do competitions in band. Don't send your kids here!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

260 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

261 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

262 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

266 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

266 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

266 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

267 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

267 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

267 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
24%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 69%
African-American 5% 18%
Hispanic 3% 6%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Shannon Peterson
Fax number
  • (313) 827-2905

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

460 North Vernon St
Dearborn, MI 48128
Website: Click here
Phone: (313) 827-2904

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




St Anselm Elementary School
Dearborn Heights, MI



Star International Academy
Dearborn Heights, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT