Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Charles A. Lindbergh Elementary School 5

Posted July 20, 2016
- a parent
As we are school shopping for a quickly approaching new school year I'm so grateful that my kids get to go to Lindbergh. We love the teachers and staff there. It's a great feeling to know that they will always look out for the kids. They can often be seen calming down anxious students or comforting students having a bad day. I also love that they try to push even the kids that are "advanced" to keep reaching beyond their potential and allowing them opportunities to pursue their own interests.

Charles A. Lindbergh Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted July 20, 2016
- a parent
Me. Kevin! He does a great job multi-tasking his work duties and spending time with the kids to make them feel safe and happy. He can always be seen smiling and passing out hi-fives to the students and parents for reassurance or a great job.


Charles A. Lindbergh Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 20, 2016
- a parent
I feel they are completely effective based on how much my children love them and want to make them proud. They are always eager to talk to the teachers because they know that the teachers are some of their biggest fans.

Charles A. Lindbergh Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 20, 2016
- a parent
I feel like the school bases its homework on the students learning level. Opportunities are provided during the day for kids to work on their materials if they already understand it so sometimes they get a break at home. As parents I feel like we can always provide our own material at home to continue their growth

Charles A. Lindbergh Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted July 20, 2016
- a parent
The teachers and staff are always there to answer questions from students about how they can do better. They gently "push" kids to keep trying to learn the material even when the kids feel like giving up. They also provide some after school activities for the kids to keep challenging themselves to do better


Charles A. Lindbergh Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted July 20, 2016
- a parent
The school constantly promotes respect of others, personal space and to not bother other children's belongings. The kids are taught a personal responsibility to follow the Lindbergh way.

Charles A. Lindbergh Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 20, 2016
- a parent
The teachers and staff often remind the students to think of others that are sick or injured, or even just nervous. They encourage students to write each other notes or draw cards to try and boost the spirits.

Charles A. Lindbergh Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 20, 2016
- a parent
They offer kids the chance to be involved in decision making, always ancouraging kids to make better choices and to think of others.


Charles A. Lindbergh Elementary School 1

Posted June 16, 2016
- a parent
We moved our family into the Lindburgh school district because we had read such great reviews. We should have looked at the dates the reviews were posted - the newest being 2015 (1 review) followed by 2011 and older. This school needs to bring itself out of the 1950s and into the 21st century. Dearborn, like the rest of the nation, has embraced change with the enthusiasm rampant everywhere else; however Lindburgh stands alone as a painful reminder of Dearborn's rough beginnings under former Mayor Orville Hubbard. Children should be encouraged instead of bullied by fear from the teachers and staff. Not only was my child bullied by the staff (although embraced by the other students) the school bullied us, the parents - who both hold PhDs in Education. As our child was understandably nervous about switching to a new school, instead of welcoming arms and a wholesome, gestalt approach to his introduction, his treatment was closer to hazing - by the teachers and administration, no less. We took him out as soon as they made it clear to us they were not working with each individual student as each being unique and valuable, but only as valuable as the test scores they would bring to their very lagging test ratings. Their solution was to rid the school of children that would potentially drag the scores down by fear and punishment; which every professional educator knows is counterproductive and dangerous to the psyche of a small child, especially in the Elementary years. I hope our child quickly and completely recovers from his time spent at this Machiavellian type of treatment he recieved at this school - but I doubt it; he still has nightmares of the unkindness he was subjected to. Get rid of Ms. DaNeen, and please, do not send your child here.

Charles A. Lindbergh Elementary School 3

Posted December 15, 2015
- a parent
While there are Some really GREAT teachers at Lindbergh their are also some that leave a lot to be desired! Bullying is swept under the carpet as to not ruin the school's reputation. If your child is advanced they get easily bored as some class sizes are large and the teachers get evaluated on how much they bring up those that are behind so, I can not blame the teachers for this!

Nearby schools

Charles A. Lindbergh Elementary School
500 North Waverly Street, Dearborn, MI  48128
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (313) 827-6300
Last modified Charles A. Lindbergh Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top