Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Duvall Elementary School 5

Posted June 12, 2014
- a parent
Wonderful school! Many parents are heavily involved. There is a strong PTA, strong traditions, and a plethora of extracurriculars- chess club, art club, Lego club, etc. The principal, Mr. Hartley is wonderful- kids, teachers, and parents alike all really like him. My daughter has learned a lot this year and was encouraged to learn at her own pace through individualized learning plans. Parents congregate around the playground before and after school, which encourages everyone to get to know each other and promotes a village atmosphere. Adore this school!

Duvall Elementary School 5

Posted February 02, 2012
- a parent
As a parent who is very concerned about education, DuVall should be applauded on a continual basis. I have been involved at the school for 3 years and could find very few areas of concern, even using the most critical eye. As other reviews have stated, the parental involvement is strong and nearly all of the teachers are bright and completely dedicated. You would think these children are their own. It's inspiring to belong to a community with a fantastic public education; an education which studies theoretical concepts, above and beyond what the state requires, and then provides non-stop opportunities for practical application. The extra-curriculurs are plentiful, the students are diverse and the guiding principles of respect, accountabillity and "doing the right thing" will keep DuVall at its best for years to come. Any child with a desire to learn will succeed at DuVall.


Duvall Elementary School 5

Posted February 26, 2009
- a parent
we love Duvall. The principal has made a huge difference in the last two ears since he started. The teachers are very good and the PTA is uber involved.

Duvall Elementary School 5

Posted November 14, 2008
- a parent
We love DuVall. Mr. Awada the principal and all the teachers do a great job with the kids. There is a friendly family atmosphere. The PTA and the parents in general seem to be very involved. I feel like my kids are getting a fantastic education. Go penguins!!!

Duvall Elementary School 5

Posted September 18, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Duvall Elementary School 4

Posted August 22, 2008
- a parent
Principal and teachers are very dedicated. There are many extracurricular activities, field trips and outside the classroom learning experiences. The only thing I do not like is that the playground area has no grass.

Duvall Elementary School 1

Posted March 27, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Duvall Elementary School 3

Posted April 24, 2007
- a parent
My oldest daughter went to Duvall from preschool all the way through 5th grade. When she started kindergarten there were 14 kids in her class. It was a wonderful school. I did have some problems with the school allowing her to be bullied for 2 years. My second child has been attending Duvall for a few years now, the school class sizes are unfortunitely much larger. I am unhappy with the principle and there few good teachers left!


Duvall Elementary School 3

Posted April 13, 2007
- a parent
My children have been in attendance at DuVall for the past three years (04-07). I have watched the gradual decline of the school due to disciplinary problems with the children. The lack of leadership in the school and the ongoing feuds between the teachers and the principal has been detrimental to the education of the children. This school has sooo many wonderful programs to offer children, yet there are parents pulling their children out of the school because of the lack of discipline and respect for the teachers. This school has so much to offer, it's a shame that it has become what it is today.

Duvall Elementary School 5

Posted September 09, 2005
- a parent
My 2 children attended Duvall during the 2003-04 and 2004-05 school year. I must say that we all enjoyed Duvall during the time they were there. Mrs. Makki is a wonderful principal. Mrs. Grahl is a excellent teacher very understanding. I would also like to say thanks to Mrs. Wozniak and Mrs. Majetic. I also enjoyed the after school basketball program, and the plays, the art program thanks to Mrs. Doman, and the girl scout program. Overall I would give this school an A+ and my children will be back soon well at least one of them the other one is in middle school now. Last but not least hello to Ms. Gina Sikora. Felicia,Coach Wilson, D'Arrian D'asia and D'Amonte'

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Duvall Elementary School
22561 Beech Street, Dearborn, MI  48124
(313) 827-2750
Last modified Duvall Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Duvall Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top