Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Dearborn, MI
Students enrolled: 461

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Haigh Elementary School 2

Posted July 26, 2012
- a parent
I don't understand how someone can say the teachers are so great. Do you know all the teachers in the school? I doubt it. While there are some great teachers at Haigh there are also some not so great. Why arn't all the teachers at Haigh held to the same standard? One thing all teachers should be required to do is that teachers should read the test at least once so they would know what's on the test before the day of the test. It should not take a parent to tell a teacher that parts of the test were not covered in class. And one more thing. It seems like some teachers need to be reminded that school ends in june. I can't beleive how much stuff gets put off till the last couple of months then the race starts and in most cases we don't make it to the finish line. Don't forget there are some fantastic teachers at haigh I just wish they would rub off on the rest.

Haigh Elementary School 5

Posted May 01, 2011
- a parent
I think Haigh is a great school. The teachers and Principal are both very dedicated.


Haigh Elementary School 3

Posted June 29, 2010
- a parent
A personal issue kept the Principal out for the school year but I thought the replacements did a fine job filling in. The teachers do a fine job but have their hands tied by many of the restraints placed upon them. The class sizes are large due to Haigh being a school of choice . This has also led to teachers needing to spend exhorbitant amounts of time with students who don't have a good enough grasp of the English language. One final issue is there are numerous days given off (that other school districts don't require). I see all these issues as a detriment to the students - which diminish their chances of being competitive as they progress in their education. Due to this, we have had no choice but to remove our children from the Dearborn public schools.

Haigh Elementary School 5

Posted October 01, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Haigh Elementary School 5

Posted April 07, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Haigh Elementary School 5

Posted January 22, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Haigh Elementary School 2

Posted October 10, 2008
- a community member
My review doesn't regard the teachers bu the administrative support and the principal. Always too busy to return phone calls from parents.

Haigh Elementary School 5

Posted March 21, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Haigh Elementary School 5

Posted August 13, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Haigh Elementary School 4

Posted August 11, 2007
- a parent
My son has been at Haigh Elementary for two years now and so far so good. His first grade teacher was excellent. However, Haigh teachers need to be more technology savy. Also, introduction to a second language will be beneficial. Haigh Principal is very approachable and strives to make it a model school. Parent participation is low! Overall, Haigh may be the best elementary school in the district.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Haigh Elementary School
601 North Silvery Lane, Dearborn, MI  48128
(313) 827-6200
Last modified Haigh Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Haigh Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top